We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the perfect place to know the authentic Medellín!!!”
Review of Hostal Antiguo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Antiguo
Ranked #56 of 264 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Reviewed 12 December 2011

when I first arrived to Medellín I had a reservation in a hostel in el Poblado and what I found there was very different to what I was expecting, a place crowded with noisy backpackers willing to party and lots of bars, casinos and clubs, So I asked myself, did I travel half the world for doing this? I want to see the actual culture and customes, I want to live the Latin-American experience, I want to come back home talking about the new and fascinating things I saw in my trip, I want to know the actual Medellín. So I told a local woman I met there what I just wanted and then she highly recommended me Hostal Antiguo in the city center. I decided to go there and what I found exceeded my expectancies, what I noticed first was the location, it’s just in the city center very close to the Botero’s museum and the marketplace. Then, after leaving the metro station a new world was just in front of my eyes, the city center is a place full of colors and surprises, everybody is busy and everywhere you look is full of things you don’t normally see like a mini fruit market on wheels or an ambulant washing machine, I think people there are very creative in the way they make their living and everybody seemed to be happy…
After a short walking from the metro station I’ve finally arrived to Hostal Antiguo, what I found there was simply spectacular, large and wide spaces with a classic old style environment were waiting for me, the perfect combination for relaxation in the middle of the bubbling city life.
All the staff members are locals, they’re very, very kind and always willing to talk and explain everything about Medellín. I spent a lot of time talking with Juan about the things I saw during my visit, I was astonished because some things I saw in the streets were not what I thought, everything was a pleasant surprise. Another very nice thing was the size of the beds because are larger than normal, like 2.5 meter long, 1.5 m wide and high enough not to hit you in the head like in that submarine bunk bed cabin I stayed in el Poblado one day before, you can also charge your computer in your bed, the Wi-Fi is free and you have your own light so you don’t disturb the people who is also there, coffee is always available in the kitchen and in the city center is easy to find nice and cheap food ( I recomend empanadas). One of the best things was when I asked for the fare and they only charged me 60.000 pesos (30 US$) for 3 nights, much less than what I've paid in not so good places before, unfortunately I couldn't stay for longer because my travel schedule.
I highly recommend Hostal Antiguo as the best option if you want to know, feel, and be part of the Colombian culture for some days.
Thanks to Felipe, Juan and the rest of the staff for making me feel like in home away home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dereck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lupi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_tama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
Thank keline64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.6 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#6 of 112 in Medellin
315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caminante Hostel
Caminante Hostel
#18 of 264 in Medellin
63 reviews
3.1 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 264 in Medellin
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#9 of 264 in Medellin
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#55 of 112 in Medellin
210 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 112 in Medellin
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Antiguo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Antiguo

Address: Calle 52 A # 55-45 | Placita de Zea, San Benito, Centro, Medellin 05001000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 264 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: £7 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Antiguo is unique. It is set in an old neighborhood once glamorous but now, far from its past. It is surrounded by prostitution spots, homeless people and adventurous and sketchy nightlife activities. But don’t feel harassed by this Latin-American reality, Medellin's real atmosphere is here downtown, away from the western and sterile version of the city. Moving around is easy. Parque Berrio Metro Station, which is 3 blocks from the Hostel, connects you with the whole valley and its abrupt hills, and many bus routes can be taken nearby to go almost anywhere. We will show you how to move around the neighborhood and the city to avoid unnecessary risks. Indoors, Hostal Antiguo is an old house from the 30’s refurbished not long ago. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing, giving you an opposite sensation from the one in the busy city center. We have a great staff that will make sure you get to know downtown safe and at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Antiguo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing