We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Antiguo
Nearby Hotels
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lincoln(Medellin)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Poblado Plaza(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premium Real Hotel(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mediterraneo Hotel(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
31
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
11
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsairport buslatinhostelsinkspobladocitylounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This hostel is unique: it's great, well equipped, clean and the staff is helpful and very kind. But...the location is horrible! It's nearby the Metro Station Parque Berrio, you have to walk 5 blocks through many brothels and sleazy, dodgy houses of prostitutes and drugusers.
I just can't understand what made somebody think this could work.
If you'll not go out on a Sunday or at night: stay there. But if you want to do shoppings, go out in the night or for a walk: don't go. In the park just in front of the hostel are too many huge rats, lot's of drug-addicts poohing and urinating or using crack and too many prostitutes in front of the door.
Such a pity, 'cause inside it's beautiful but on the whole I can't give it more than a "Poor".

Room Tip: the dorm is noisy and far from the toilets.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariano_Slutzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The worldwide renaissance of budget hosteling has produced a crop of outstanding hostels in some countries, but this one may be in a league of its own - and it is in a most unlikely place.

Spacious, refined in taste and designed almost regardless of cost, Hostal Antiguo features comfy lounges, precolombian as well as modern art, a terrace, a reading room, a bar, a well equiped kitchen with dining room. The beds are comfortable, the pillows soft, the bathrooms have proper hot showers and plumbing to Western standards, meaning you can throw the toilet paper in the loo - almost unheard of in Colombian hostales. The hardwood floors gleam, everything is spotless, the staff are sweet.

The downside: the hostel is located in a rough part of downtown Medellin, yet it is only steps away from Plaza Botero and the Parque Berrio metro stop. During the day, there is no problem, after dark most residents of Hostal Antiguo happily stay inside, enjoying the comforts and the tranquility of this oasis.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dvertongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

You can say a lot about this hostel, because the quality it serves is unbelievable. I've stayed in probably hundred of places last year, and none of them could honestly compete with Antiguo. It's just so beautifuly designed, with such a good taste. The kitchen is spacious, the rooftop place is just perfect to hang out in the evenings, have a cold beer and relax. I hope it will soon become a must-sleep-here place by LP or something, because it deserves it even if placed in rather neglected area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TommyGunn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A lovely old house, renovated to a superb hostel. Everything is constructed to the highest quality.standard that I have come across in a hostel in quite a long travel through North, Central and South America. The kitchen (new and shiny), the bathrooms (clean and with powerful showers), the beds (very comfortable mattress with great duvets).
The owner and staff were friendly and professional.
The location is central to downtown, which may or may not be ideal, depending on where one is aiming to spend one's time.
Nice common areas, but not a party hostel, at least at the time of visit, since not many other guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I was in a very nice backpacker but the streets around were up and down and I do not walk well so the staff of the Casa Kiwi (that shows how gentle they are ) agrees to pack me off where I wanted to go : downtown . They told me they reserved a room at Hostal Antiguo . So let's go . The owner Filipe was at the front door welcoming me and my heavy bags and honestly I had this strange feeling I had known him for ages , just as if I was coming back home and that is just what happened . The house he offers ,he and his attentive and gentle staff , they make it yours . You just feel so so at home there . Big spacious high celling rooms, great kitchen , reading corner , TV sitting room, Internet room , patio, hamac , plants, paintings and even a bar with pretty wine glass where you can help yourself . Nothing is missing elf why and how someone can take such pain to renovate an old house as for himself and then to convert it into an hostel ? And the only answer I have is love, generosity, good will.
well go and see for yourself .It is not only the fabulous setting and design and confort that you will like there but the super human vibes . You feel you are a better person when you leave that gentle team .and beautiful place And that is not the least of their gifts .


Je recommande vivement cet hostel à qui passe par Medellin
Un havre de paix, de confort, de tranquillité . Une super location et une literie d'excellente qualité
Si vous ajoutez l'eau chaude, la wifi, la télé et le café ...vous ne sauriez passer devant cette maison joliment restaurée et archi propre sans y entrer et y rester.
Le propriétaire Filippe Errazuriz parle anglais à la perfection et vous donne l'impression que vous êtes arrivé chez un ami de longue date . Le staff qui prend a coeur l'aventure est là pour répondre à toutes vos questions .
Je ne les ai certes pas assez remerciés tous de leur extrême gentillesse surtout avec moi qui ne parle pratiquement pas espagnol. Ils m'ont accompagnée comme je l'ai rarement été en 6 ans sur la route .

Room Tip: every room in this house is great and even the dormitory is spacious and looks tidy .
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annebercot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews