We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
Review of Hostel Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Casa Blanca
Ranked #86 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Room was small but clean. Bed was ok (double room).
Staff was friendly and the structure is cute and clean. There were not a lot of people when we stayed there so it was quiet. Kitchen is big, wifi works, ping pong table... well i would recommand it.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lauriiiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    16
    7
    6
    14
See reviews for
7
23
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It's a great stay for a great price in a very great location, I would recommend it its pretty chill !! Management is very helpful and friendly, to the negative reviews, people must understand to get along and that its hostel not a private hotel and we go there to have fun get away from it all and for the experience of a hostel itself !! This place is very chill and again can't beat the prices and the friendliness of the staff!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooooMoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

In our four months travelling through Central and South America, this is the most dreadful hostel me and my boyfriend have stayed in. It actually has nearly ruined our visit to Medellin.

I write this in our tiny box room with paper thin walls, while the management, owners and seemingly permanent lodgers, who have captured the main common area directly outside our room, bang percussion instruments and bongos and song out of tune at the top of their voices.

It is now 7pm and this will go on until the early hours if they repeat other nights' efforts. Last night at 11, after hours of racket, I asked the owner when the music would go off (our room is directly next to the music area). He said "we turn it down at 11". I replied "it is 11." His response: "Er no, it's 10.58". Bare in mind this is the owner. I asked him to have some respect for his paying guests. He turned it down briefly only to turn it back up.

We are now leaving for the evening as we have been forced out and there is nowhere in the hostel where you can escape it. There are many paying guests, yet none can be seen while the racket is playing and when they are seen they look weary.

On top of this, the kitchen is severely lacking in utensils and other necessary items. The fridge is broken and there is one filthy ragged cloth to wash up with. There is a sign in the kitchen stating guests that do not wash up will be charged $10,000. If this is how they wish to enforce it then they must provide clean and plentiful washing up products.

I have never felt strongly enough to leave a negative review before, but this hostel really takes the biscuit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
This people stay in one of the rooms closed to the bar and even though they did alot of noise with ther skype calls in the morning afecting other clients, she made a big deal for the evening music.
The funy thing is that mayority of the hostel was having a BBQ that night next the bar, but they wanted every body to be quiet. The music at the bar was until 11 pm after that the custumers can used there celulars to hear music in a normal volumen but this wasent enough for them....sory next time book in a hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medellin hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I came because it was rated high.

It is a very nice house in a very calm place and it gives you a grate price for the El poblado. Service was nice also.

Unfortunatly it was not clean enough and the bed was not confort so I hade to change the next day,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Yoav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
120 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

A dirty, dark, miniscule rooms, dreadlocked animals who play godawful guitar songs until 4 am every morning and dont stop if you ask them, filthy bathrooms, rock hard beds, almost perpetually out of toilet paper, ramshackle hell hole. The local staff are nice, the three foreigners are smug and pay no heed at all to their guests need to sleep. A living hell. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostkamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
This guy was upsed because other clients where playing reege music and since they did not like it they with there friends wrote this bads rewiews. one more time this is a hostel not a HOTEL..funny the do not complain about the price they paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed in a not-so-great private room. The small room only has a window (can't be opened) to the passage, and is located right opposite reception. There is a mini-ventilation shaft which is meant for some fresh air circulation to the room, but the mini-ventilator was more noisy than effective. On a positive note, temperature for sleeping was relatively moderate, as the room is "inside" the building. Can't recommend this/these rooms. The cleanliness of the bathrooms could have been better, although it should be said that this was during the very busy Feria de Cali time, and the hostel was at max. capacity.
There is a nice small patio to sit outside, and meet fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Private Room upstairs is (probably) the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

This place compare to others is cheaper, cleaner and nicer, definitely!
Staff is wonderful and you feel there like at home.
The kitchen is small but clean and with all the things you need.
Rooms clean and comfortable.

We'll go again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.8 mi away
Waypoint Hostel
Waypoint Hostel
#5 of 210 in Medellin
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panela Hostel
Panela Hostel
#106 of 210 in Medellin
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Poblado Park
Hostal Poblado Park
#13 of 210 in Medellin
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hostel
Grand Hostel
#27 of 210 in Medellin
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lleras Park Hostal
Lleras Park Hostal
#36 of 138 in Medellin
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bambu Glamping City House
Bambu Glamping City House
#31 of 210 in Medellin
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Blanca

Property: Hostel Casa Blanca
Address: Transversal 5a #45 256, Medellin, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Blanca is one of the better and bigest hostels in Medellin, ideal for executives, couples, family groups, solo back packers, athetics and people looking for a nice and quiet place to relax. Located in the best area of el poblado Patio Bonito, offers our visitors a quiet ambiance in a safe and beautiful neigborhood. the hostel has a big private parking area and lot of extras: Pro Billar Table, Ping pong table, Dards, Basket ball court, Spanish classes, lockers, Garage, a full equipped kitchen, microwave, big patio with fruit trees and tanning deck and Bar-BQ, Plasma TV with 300 international channels, DVD, onward booking for all hostels in Colombia and much more..... Come and enjoy your time in Medellin, we are located close to the Zona Rosa of Medellin where the best night clubs, casinos and restaurants are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing