We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I don’t think this is a great hotel, but if are looking for decent hotel in a great place in Medellin, then Belfort might be your choice. It is located in a nice neighborhood, shopping malls are very close, and main business centers are near too.

The check in process was real quick (my wife and I) made our reservations online 4 days before we got to Medellin and had no problem at all when we arrived at the hotel. The service was good and everybody were very kind

I think this hotel needs some remodeling, it looks a bit old (except the front desk :)). The room was clean, it had one king size bed, one big desk, a small living room, TV (mostly local channels), A/C, etc. The room was kind of dark because had just one window and the sunlight did not go through it. The bathroom was clean and spacious, well maintained.

We only ate breakfasts at the restaurant (so I can’t rate the food), but the breakfast buffet was the same every day but at least it was really good.

Overall I should recommend this hotel, is not expensive, good service, decent rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

Just would like to congratulate the excellent staff whose offering their best of themselves as well as many smiles.. from the receptionist to the General Manager , service belongs to their gems. I have been traveling to Medellin in several hotels and I will always prefer to stay in the Belfort as the location is very central, the standards of the restaurant very good, and the bedroom offers the comfort that you can expect from an International brand name.
You can try and come back again, you will see how the hotel staff takes care of you...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopheRosiejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

I called teh hotel directly to reserve my room. I asked for an English speaking person. I aksed for a regular room with a king size bed. I confirrmed the rate with was 498,000 pesos for 4 nights.

When I arrived they said I reserved a suite, which I didn't. They they said the rate was 498,000 pesos per night ! I showed teh the reservation reference # to look up the record, wiht no help. I was tired and decided I woudl find another hotel the next morning. I was told that they will adjust the rate the following day.
I was sleeping at 10:30 PM when I woke up feeling like something was walking on me. I turned on the light and the bed had many ants on the bed pillow, on me, in my hair...etc. I called the front desk and told them I needed another room. the next morning I talked to the front desk about the room troubel an d the rate, but no one that spoke clear English was available.

That evening I finally got someone to tlak to me abotu the rate. which was goingot be 189,000 pesos per night. I agreed so I woudl not have to change hotels.

Upon check out they charged me 259,000 pesos per night plus , room service that I did not use.

I am now forced to file a dispute with the credit card company to get some adjustments made...if lucky.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank markinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

I'm not sure this place is the best value for the money. It looks to be a four star hotel from about ten years ago. The rooms are starting to show some serious wear and could really use a remodel.

That being said, the place was nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, the pool is great except it isnt deep enough and I felt very comfortable there. The breakfast buffet was pretty generous. There may be better values in Medellin, but this hotel is a fine place to stay and you probably will not be disappointed with the quality of it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Belfort (owned by Dann Carlton) from August 4-7, 2006. Last time we went to Medellin we stayed at the Dann Carlton just up the road and I guess our experience was close to the same at both locations, though the service was better at the Belfort and there was less odor of cigarette smoke in the lobb (which I am very sensitive to). They hotel is centrally located (close to restaurants and in a great neighborhood.)

The Belfort has all the services it needs to have to label itself a "5 star" hotel but none of what it needs to actually be enjoyable like a true 5 star hotel. It's more of a 3 star hotel that complied with the 5 star checklist. We stayed in a suite on the club level floor (i.e. the most expensive and supposedly nicest room in the hotel, though I think it was just bigger, not nicer).

Downsides: The mattress was so hard I had back pain all weekend and it kept me up at night (and I'm only 30 and healthy!), furniture in the rooms is dark with very little art to perk it up, views are okay - you can see the city but you also look into the apartments of a newly constructed building door (but they're better than the Dann at least, which has very small windows), the bathrooms are cramped and in major need of renovation. You have to ask, why did they install a cheap-o phone in the bathroom but not update the disgusting showerhead or change the moldy plastic faucets? Since there is a huge apartment building next door, I also don't understand why the rooms don't have the option of a sheer curtain which lets in light but keeps people from looking at you - there are only heavy curtains and not enough lamps in the room - we felt like we were in a cave when we were changing. Also, the AC only seemed able to keep up with the afternoon heat if the heavy curtains were completely shut.

As far as outside the room, the pool looks like it would have been nice before that new apartment building destroyed its view. There is, however, a very nice open air tented area where you can have breakfast outdoors, even if it's raining. Breakfast itself was included with our room and was decent but nothing special.

Upsides: service was very good - almost everyone from the bellman, to the check-in reception to the waiters at breakfast to the housecleaning service were friendly, quick and on top of it. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready and they offered to check us into another room temporarily while we waited (we had a wedding and needed to change) and they were happy to take care of personal needs such as making reservations, arranging for flowers in the room, etc. I should note that this level of service was provided to us on one of the business travel weekends in Medellin when the hotel was completely full and very busy, so it's particularly impressive.

On the whole, I think I'll try a non-Dann hotel chain next time we go to Medellin (such as the Intercontinental which I hear has a renovated pool area). But, I should admit that everyone has told me there is really no 5 star hotel in Medellin, at least not as of today's date. Value for money was okay (not a value, but not a rip-off either.)

4  Thank MidwesternerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2005

I traveled to Medellin 4 times from the USA and enjoyed both the Dann Carlton and the Belfort Hotels.

On my third trip my wife and I were married, outdoors, on the Belfort's beautiful terrace which over looks the city of Medellin.

Rooms are 4 star and the dining area and food are excellent. The hotel grounds are not large and a little more intimate than a larger hotel.

The hotel is perched on the side of the low mountains which surround the city Medellin. The view from the outdoor pool is especially beautiful.

We enjoyed it so much that we reserved the pool area for the son's birthday party a few months later.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Julián V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Belfort D, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.8 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 110 in Medellin
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 110 in Medellin
654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#48 of 110 in Medellin
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#7 of 110 in Medellin
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort

Address: Calle 17 40b - 300 | Barrio Castropol - El Poblado, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: £55 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of Medellin is known as one of the premier cultural epicenters of Colombia. It is home to important festivals ranging from local to national and international events. In a location with the charm and tranquility of the country, you will find the Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort. We enjoy an elegant ten year old hotel that is newly renovated in order to offer our guests the best of everything in a new and more modern setting. Located strategically in El Poblado, we are only a few blocks from the exclusive Parque Lleras and Parque de Poblado areas. These are two areas not to be missed while you are in town and want to enjoy fine dining, entertainment and easy access to shopping malls, business centers and all that Medellin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing