We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My first trip to Columbia, , stayed at Poblado Plaza and found it to be excellent ..In a beautiful part of Medellin.... I dont speak much spanish , but the hotel staff were more that accomodating , very friendly,and go out their way to make sure you have a very positive experience.. Rooms are clean and bright ,, food in the restaurant is 1st class,... I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here,,,, I will be returning again .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    220
    66
    8
    8
See reviews for
114
168
57
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I'm a client of this wonderful hotel In medellin. for more that 20 years, every time i visit them is like coming home. All employees call you by your name and ask for your family or other guest that have been there with you in other ocassions.

The best Hotel in Colombia.... no doubt. Food is increadible, Clean and quiet rooms. Free internet in the room and lobby. it is like being home.

I highly recommend this hotel. do not even think going any where else. Poblado Plaza is the hotel in MedellinColombia.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gercast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I just arrived at the Poblado Plaza last night. My first time in Colombia, and traveling alone to explore possibilities of living in Medellin. I am a young-at-heart 60ish man who speaks very limited Spanish. I chose this hotel after reading a million (at least) reviews and planning my own trip. This was an excellent choice....good location...friendly staff (a few speak some English). I do not find it particularly dated for an older hotel. It is just right for me.
Everything in my room works well, tv has American channels, internet works fine, and the room is spotless. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmingtonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

its a nice hotel in a very good location. Pablado is a very nice and safe neighborhood. You can walk outside feeling completely safe. The hotel is located next to some very beautiful malls, and just across Hardrock cafe. Hotel is clean, personnel is friendly and they have a very decent breakfast. I would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This 5* low profile hotel delivers a clean room, good breakfast , great shower, good bed, good temperature, right city location near to McDonalds and Oviedo shopping mall. We stay 4 nights And found this hotel great. William come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My first impression was that the Poblado Plaza had known better days; it still retains an air of past elegance. But by modern hotel standards, the furniture, the toilet and a few other things, now appear a bit outdated. However, by breakfast the next morning I had already adapted to the Poblado's quaint charm. The hotel is set in a valley surrounded by large green mountains and on the top floors there is a view of the Poblado area of the city; a safe location of Medellin, with large, excellent shopping malls, a very large bookshop (which I loved), banks , good restaurants, and other urban facilities. My room was clean with a large comfy bed and flat cable tv., where unfortunately few international channels are available. The reception staff were all smiles, as was the chef and waitresses in the restaurant with its charming outdoor garden, where there is a plentiful buffet serving delicious Colombian breakfast. There are many things to enjoy in Medellin, in my opinion one of the finer cities in the world, in spite of the unfortunate reputation that past drug-related violence have created for it. This includes exciting tourist sights, locals that are civil (something I have come to treasure in my travels), as well as very good looking and vibrant teens. A knowledge of Spanish is an advantage, especially when visiting cultural attractions such as the Botero Museum.

Room Tip: look for a quiet room on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evergreen-oldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice enough but there is only small elevator for the whole building - lots of waiting. The restaurant staff were not very friendly but the restaurant itself has a lovely setting with the small garden and ponds outside and breakfast was good, but not exceptional.There are not many other restaurants close by and it s quite a long walk to the Metro. The reason for giving this hotel a down grade was that on checking out we were charged an extra aprrox $10 each for health insurance! We neither wanted nor needed their insurance and it had not been mentioned when we checked in and they insisted that we pay.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Xochitlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 105 in Medellin
686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#7 of 105 in Medellin
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.5 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#5 of 105 in Medellin
261 reviews
4.1 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Medellin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poblado Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Plaza

Property: Hotel Poblado Plaza
Address: Carrera 43A 4 Sur-75 Av. El Poblado, Medellin, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#4 Green Hotel in Medellin
#5 Business Hotel in Medellin
#6 Family Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location in the most exclusive area of the city, the Milla de Oro District of El Poblado, close to everything you want. OUR ROOMS Standing out by its spaciousness, comfort and tranquility that guarantee a real retreat. According to your preferences and needs, we offer different types: Superior, Executive and Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poblado Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Poblado Plaza Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing