We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Ibis Medellin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Medellin
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dangrad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Spent three nights here with spouse at end of our 2 week vacation in Colombia. Checked in with Laura who speaks perfect English. Was friendly and efficient.

Received room 415, a king bed. Room size is a tad small for two people, but otherwise has everything you need for a comfortable stay except an alarm clock, wash cloths, hand towels, bath amenities, electric water kettle (for coffee/tea making), and a comfortable chair. Oddly, for a hotel seemingly committed to conservation and protecting the environment, the only trash can was in the bathroom next to the toilet-forcing us to commingle our waste with our paper, glass, etc.

Here are the pros: flat screen TV; large safe that holds laptops, tablets, and much more; excellent light making reading in bed possible and enjoyable; right across the street from the Museum of Modern Art; friendly and capable staff; cafe/bar in lobby with reasonable prices; restaurant on mezzanine with reasonable prices. Pastas are about $15,000 COP. Buffet breakfast is $12,000. Two computers with printer available for free guest use (get 30 mins password code from front desk) and free wifi in your guestroom. We had two devices and received two codes for use in our room. Just ask and ask nicely, they're happy to accommodate you. Odd numbered rooms have a better view looking south and towards the Poblado Metro. Exito Express grocery store is a block away selling all manner of fruits, vegetables, snacks, beverages, breads and more. Larger Exito store is at Poblado Metro. There's also a Subway restaurant and lovely bakery in the building next door to the Ibis to the north. There's another bunch of restaurants in the building across the plaza to the south.

Cons: no washcloths, hand towels or bath amenities (only two liquid soap dispensers-one by sink, the other in the shower); limited space and seating in the room with an office chair and padded bench that doubles as a luggage rack. Just know you'll spend your time sitting on your bed if there are two of you. While there's no kettle in the room, the bartender in the lobby was always happy to give me a cup of hot water so I could make a cup of tea or instant coffee in the room.

We took the bus from MDE airport for $8,600 each to San Diego Mall (Centro Comercial San Diego) and then took a taxi for $6,000 to the Ibis. On our way out of town we took a taxi from the Ibis to MDE airport for $60,000 at 6:00am. This was a flat rate.

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Ibis and should we return to Medellin we would certain stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

There are no better words to describe our hotel and the surroundings. Thank you for taking the time to write it down for the other guests.
Hope to see you again at Ibis Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

An Ibis is much the same anywhere - rooms just a bit small for two and those ungainly soap dispensers pop up everywhere. However, this Ibis has the following advantages
- Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke English
- Was 10 minutes walk from a metro station
- A breakfast that was good value
- A second night at a cheaper rate
- Was situated by a 'park' at the far end of which were some nice 'eateries' a quieter place to sit out away from the hustle and bustle of central Medellin

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have a much better view than the even numbered ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedeberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you so much for your appreciation, we hope to see you again at our hotel.

Have a good day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

THE HOTEL - Clean and friendly hotel suitable for business and family stays. Staff and security were helpful and polite and cheerful. Rooms were good with comfortable beds but no kettle for tea and coffee and no mini-bar. Buffet breakfast was good with ample selections of different foods available. The only thing that was irritating to me, was that the hotel had a good security in place regarding access to the room levels which was via lifts. The lift could only be activated and used by inserting your plastic room card into the card reader but my card often would not work and I had to keep queueing up again at reception to reactivate the key so I could go to my room.

LOCATION - Situated on carrera 48 near to the trendy El Poblado area and a 10 minute walk to the Industriales metro station. The Old town is 20 minute walk away. I found Medellin around the hotel safe to walk at night. The Old town area is rough with many homeless people but not as bad as the reputation states so go and enjoy it's buzzing ambience but just keep an eye out for the unexpected.

GETTING TO AND FROM THE AIRPORT - I travelled to José María Córdova airport (approx. 50min drive), so the options are simple, bus (8,000 Peso = £2.50 = 3 Euros) to the centre of town then train or taxi to hotel (10,000 to 20,000 Peso = £3.20 to £6.40 = 3.80 to 7.60 Euros) which is the cheaper option for solo travellers. A taxi straight to the Hotel or Airport is fixed price at 60,000 Peso = £19.00 = 22.70 Euros) which is the easier and hassel free option for 3 to 4 travellers.

Summery - I liked the hotel and would stay again and I like Medellin so go and enjoy and let your hair down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt-on-walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We hope to see you soon here.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent price in a modern building with all the things you need from a good hotel. Taxis outside, secure parking underground with 2.4mts height clearance, restaurant and bar, fast food shops nearby, strong wifi signal in the room and friendly staff.

Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tymoteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

thank you for your comments toward us, we hope to see you again at the Ibis Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MACLEAN2000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Front desk personal are very nice and helpful some even speak English lots of good places to eat and near all the major attractions in medellin for the price you won't find better and the cab service is very safe and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayhar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again in our hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 110 in Medellin
756 reviews
2.5 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#6 of 110 in Medellin
290 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#56 of 110 in Medellin
199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 110 in Medellin
743 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 110 in Medellin
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Medellin

Address: Calle 20 #44-16, Medellin 5001000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: £27 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between one of the most important neighborhoods of the city and the downtown. Five minutes away from Plaza Mayor, the city's convention center. A few steps from The Museum of Modern Art of Medellin and a 7 minute walk from our nearest train station. Olaya Herrea Airport is 3km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Ebookers so you can book your Ibis Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing