We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Verry Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Medellin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Medellin
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    420
    121
    34
    25
See reviews for
121
278
98
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I didnt like this hotel in particular. The service was mediocre, they would not take your dirty towels but when they finally did, they took them and did not replace them. The way they change your sheets are to lay them facing the other side, so they're still dirty when all you want is a clean sheet.
At booking the description of the room said it had internet but it did not, you'd have to pay to connect to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Thisis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su apreciacion sobre el hotel, ya estamos en proceso para verificar su inconformidad para que no vuelva a pasar con otros huespedes, asi mismo queremos aclarar que nuestro internet es totalmente gratuito para nuestros huespedes en todas las areas del hotel y si no se cuenta con un computador o un telefono de datos, se puede acceder al bussiness center sin ningun costo.
Feliz dia y esperamos en un futuro poder servirle mejor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Recently, from 30 March to 11 April, I stayed at the Ibis hotel in Medellin. I found their services to be very good. We were attending the 7th session of the World Urban Forum which was hosted by Colombia in Medellin. Many of my colleagues also stayed there. What impressed me most was the services, break fast was always ready by 6.00 a.m. as we had to leave early, the management of the hotel made sure they prepared dinner and always kept the restaurant open even for those of us who worked late past the closing time. The staff were really good and despite the language barrier, they made every effort to accommodate and took really good care of us. Really warm and friendly staff at Ibis, Medellin.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north towards the park are really good, they have more light, sunny and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel. It was very important for the hotel and for the city, that you enjoyed every part of the Forum. We hope to see your delegation again for work or for leisure.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I visit this hotel for vacation and let me tell you is a good hotel to relax, the rooms are a little small but very comfortable and quiet, the staff are very kind and helpfulness special Higuita I received a friendly attention from him would be very nice if everybody in the front desk work like he does! (congratulations!!). It´s a hotel that is very well located very close to Lleras Park where you can go to the disco, restaurant and walk around and the taxi can charge around 3 dollar. Only I had a few problems for example my air conditioning want´s working but they change my room immediately, I could not use the WIFI by my phone or computer and I had problem with the code at the business center (all time) and the first day I ask for a wake up call at 6:00am and they didn´t call me so I missed my tour coz I woke up at 9:00am by the way could recommend this hotel to my friends if it is only for a few days.
I had not time to take my breakfast so I don´t know if its good or not but I guest is Okey and they have a good prices.

I Hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience with the WIFI and with your wake up call. Every day we are trying to improve our service, and we this comments, I´m sure we are keep wporking on it.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is close to Industriales metro station which makes it very easy to move around the city. Also is close to parque lleras which is the "it" place to go dancing, drinking or just in the mood for a good food.

Rooms are small which makes it somewhat uncomfortable to hang around longer than just to sleep, with that said, they are very clean and good enough for a night of sleep. If you like to spend most of your time out in the city, it´s perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blpgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
thank you for your comments. We appreciate it and we hope to see you again in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

As a LeClub Accor member I stay almost every week in an Accor Hotel throughout the world. I must admit that I have never been such disappointed from the service of the hotel staff than in this hotel. Check-in took over 20 minutes. I booked as usual the trip over the App from Accor Hotel and they supposedly could not find the reservation payment details. I had to keep sending them Emails with my confirmation details but still it was supposedly not clear for them. I had to discuss with them at night for another 5 minutes and in the morning once again for several minutes until they finally accepted my reservation as I booked it. Then they told me rude that they will do my work and figure this out.

As I told above I travel a lot and never felt so unwelcome than in this hotel of the Accor Group. Additionally, the room walls are thin and you hear almost everything your room neighbor talks about. Don't expect any special treatment such as a room upgrade or what so ever if you are a Accor member. I asked them polite for a room with a nice view and they told me that nothing was free. This is hard to believe since other people checked in later that day and received rooms with nicer views.

Overall I will definitely not come back to this hotel and will certainly prefer other ones in this beautiful city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab1896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I truly apologize for the inconvenience you may had with us. It is not our kind of service to make you feel unwelcome. Sometimes, in our effort to make things in the right way, we forget the time of the guest and we may cause delays or process a little bit longer

Please accept our apologies and we hope you can return to our hotel, to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is in an area of town that was previously industrial. Its location is quite convenient as its fairly central to all the attractions around Medellin including a big mall, The Premium Plaza, restaurants and bars. Across the street is one of Medellin's best kept secrets, the Bonuar Restaurant.

Rooms are a little small but are kept very neat and clean by a dedicated staff. There is no pool or gym. All in all, this is a business mans hotel. No frills but just right for a quick stint in and out of town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward having you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.5 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#11 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inntu Hotel Medellin
Inntu Hotel Medellin
#31 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Medellin

Property: Ibis Medellin
Address: Calle 20 #44-16, Medellin 5001000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between one of the most important neighborhoods of the city and the downtown. Five minutes away from Plaza Mayor, the city's convention center. A few steps from The Museum of Modern Art of Medellin and a 7 minute walk from our nearest train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing