We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room, Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kolor Hotel Boutique
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room, Poor Service”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Kolor Hotel Boutique and was initially very impressed, though by my departure I was quite happy to be leaving. I arrived while the night receptionist was on duty, who was incredibly helpful throughout my stay and spoke perfect English (hablo Español también, but... it's impressive to see a native English speaker working the night shift.) My room was beautiful but, being located on the first floor, very, very loud with breakfast and a communal TV being located just outside my door, where the hotel also holds company meetings during the day, and lots of repair work, purportedly to the air conditioning system, which lasted throughout my stay. I'd chosen the hotel based on reviews that it was quiet and tranquil since I was looking for a nice place to relax and do some writing after some more adventurous travel, but I couldn't hear myself think, nor even my own room's TV when I gave up on the former, due to all of the noise. I complained (nicely) to several people about it, looking for resolution, but they only said "sorry" over and over and explained "the staff have to be trained" or "the guys at breakfast were too loud"; twice the staff meeting outside my room had to move their chairs so I could get in or out of my door. I was trying to take a nap after being woken up early, but that was utterly impossible. By 6:30/7:00 every morning the TV was blaring and the staff and other guests were speaking so loudly outside my room that I woke up, despite being an otherwise heavy sleeper.

I had to ask them to restock the water in my minibar, which only the night receptionist did, otherwise asking didn't help, and my room was only cleaned 1 out of 4 days, though to be fair I was in the room a lot, no one offered to make up the room and proactively I asked that the minibar be restocked with water and towels at a minimum on 2 of the 'no service' days, though neither happened.

Likewise, I asked on the morning after my arrival for someone to fix the safe which was locked when I arrived, and that never happened either.

The breakfast is good, but you're unlikely to get what you order. I ordered fried eggs 4 days out of 4, but only got them twice. I'm not a picky eater, but if the hotel are going to ask what you want & how to prepare it, why don't they listen? The woman who serves the breakfast was very friendly at first but then tried a confidence trick on me that I've seen several times in Latam, but never at a nice hotel, asking me where I was from and what kind of money we have in my country. (The US, the dollar.) She asked me how many dollars I had with me (!) and told me that they never see dollars in Colombia, then asked if I could give her a bill from my country, that they couldn't spend dollars there and that she'd keep it as a keepsake. She told me about a nice guy that gave her 5 Euros (in what country do they use Euros?) When I didn't bite, she offered to show me her "collection" but quickly disappeared when another employee came over. This morning she brought over a little wallet to show me when no one was looking, but the story had changed. Suddenly there was a US dollar, but the Euro was strangely missing. It's not a big deal, but something I expect more from a Bolivian taxista than an employee in an expensive hotel. And if it wasn't a scheme, I wonder why she didn't show me the day before, when the hotel owner was present? Without a working safe in my room, it made me as nervous to leave cash in the room as to take it all with me around town.

Finally, while another review mentions troubles with an airport taxi that the hotel disputes, I can say that today the receptionist forgot to call me a cab, though I'd asked (another employee reminded her, to his credit) and couldn't tell me which airport corresponded to the airport code MDE (it is the one they call "Rio Negro," by the way, not "both" as the staff claimed - the other is Enrique Olaya Herrera - EOH) I expected better-trained front desk staff during the day for simple travel questions. I should reiterate that it is a beautiful hotel and a fantastic location, but only quiet and tranquil if you arrive late and leave before breakfast, or perhaps stay on a floor other than the first.

I understand that 'things happen' and tried repeatedly to be understanding, but "sorry, sorry, sorry" doesn't cut it when the same problems keep occurring.

Room Tip: don't stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onimity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We thank you for the comments to improve our facilities, at the same time we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit to KOLOR BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

1. We understand that the days you ordered fried eggs they were served and the other days you’re ordered eggs with ham and fruit. If not, we talked to the staff to be more careful when taking orders.

2. The airport incident actually is not lack of training of our receptionists on how to locate our customers, at the hotel we mentioned that the MDE airport is in the municipality of Rionegro, which you did not understand at that time.

3. The cause of people talking loudly and loud TV in the lounge outside your room, was a day that our staff was in training and the next day we had the transmission of the Tour de France, in which a Colombian was competing and achieved one of the top spots, please excuse our Colombian joy for our competitor.

4. The lack of service in your room for 3 days of the 4 your stayed was to avoid disturbing you since you were in the room all day after taking your breakfast.

5. Maintenance arrangements at the hotel were necessary at the time to improve our facilities and likewise, enhance the stay of our customers and provide better service.

Just as the training that we are providing our employees is to improve each day and it will reflect in the satisfaction of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    28
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
53
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A very nice small hotel with friendly staff and owner. Great service at all hours! Short walk to Parque Lleras yet on very quite street. A wonderful find! Less expensive than other larger hotels. Employee at front desk 24 hours was very helpful with everything. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank coleman979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous review. It is great to hear feedback from our guests, your compliments are really appreciated and we hope to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

The staff are very helpfull it's in a good location though the hill up to the hotel will not be to some people's liking the room was excellent really good value for money in a very safe and secure location .id recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishjon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paomarquezg, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
Buenas tardes

KOLOR HOTEL BOUTIQUE empezó un proceso de mejora continua y dentro de este, esta darle respuesta a todos nuestro clientes que se tomaron un rato de su tiempo para escribir tan lindos comentarios de su experiencia en el Hotel y reiterarles que son muy bienvenidos en su próxima estadía en la ciudad de Medellín.
En la actualidad estamos ofreciendo una variedad de tours diferentes e innovadores para conocer aun mejor la ciudad.

Cordialmente

PAOLA MARQUEZ G
Mercadeo y Relaciones Publicas
KOLOR HOTEL BOUTIQUE
Medellín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Very secure and safe only 10 min walk from Parke Lleras! Clean Rooms, delicious made to order breakfast. They do what is necessary to see your visit is memorable one. I'm coming back for Christmas!

Jack Hall Jr

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guwapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel Boutique
Las Rosas Hotel Boutique
#77 of 105 in Medellin
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Campana Hotel Boutique
La Campana Hotel Boutique
#31 of 105 in Medellin
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
In House
In House
#18 of 105 in Medellin
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Victoria
Hotel Casa Victoria
#52 of 105 in Medellin
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poblado Boutique Medellin
0.5 mi away
Torre Poblado Hotel and Apart hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolor Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolor Hotel Boutique

Property: Kolor Hotel Boutique
Address: Carrera 33 No. 5G 23, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kolor Hotel Boutique 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOLOR HOTEL BOUTIQUE offers to its customers a vintage atmosphere with colorful thematic rooms. Each room has its own identity offering a memorable experience. The quality of personalized service, tranquility and privacy are the reasons that motivate our guests to choose us and want to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kolor Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing