We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kolor Hotel Boutique
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good situation and comfortable rooms. Great description of various breakfasts available on internet site of hotel but had same each day and pretty standard. Would be a good idea to put possible menus on the tables so we could point to our choice since no one understood English.
Only saw the owner 1 day out of 4 and nobody else speaks or understands English.
Asked about an ATM to the person at reception who sent us to the other end of town when there was one down the road.
The owner said that there is always someone at the reception who speaks English in the morning but alas not for us. Would have been nice to receive some info. about tours etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henrietta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Henrietta

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We really appreciate customer´s feedback in order to improve our service. We have taken into account all your suggestions regarding English speaking customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellin

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We selected the hotel in Medellin because it had very good comments, however in our stay of 2 nights we experiences the following:
1. When we arrived, they gave us a standard suite, but we purchased a superior suite.
2. The first day we had a very delicious breakfast, but the second day they had just scramble eggs without fruit or other options.
3. The bathtub plug didn't work properly. It was impossible to fill up the bathtub to the top.
4. At the time of checkout, they tried to charge us more money than the one we should pay. It was a mistake in the reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your comments we really appreciate them in order to improve our service and facilites.
1. Kolor Hotel Boutique only has two types of rooms, standard room and special room, the special room has bathtub or Jacuzzi and the standard room has only shower. In your comments you mention that you have a room with bathtub so we have given you a special room.
2. The breakfast at Kolor Hotel Boutique is ordered by the guest, and we serve what the guest tells us, if you wanted fruit or any other type of breakfast you should just order it.
3. If any of our guest has a technical difficulty in the room, there is always someone at the front desk willing to help you at any time.
4. We have talked to the staff to be more careful in the check-out in order to avoid those misunderstandings with the check.
We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your visit to KOLOR BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We generally stay in B&B's and do not care for the big hotels. Medellin currently only has a limited number of B&B's so we decided to try a small hotel as an alternative. We hit the jackpot. 1) The price is reasonable 2) The rooms are incredible. Each large room has its own decor, designed by one of the owners wife (she has good taste). The bed was comfortable, and there is plenty of hot water in the shower. 3) The breakfast was cooked to order, and we ate out on the patio each morning. 4) Overall, the service was good. When we were there, the night manager did not speak English, and the day staff was being trained to do their new job and were very accommodating. I suggested the owners develop a handout of recommended sights and restaurants since not all new staff were completely familiar was what Medellin has to offer. 5) The location of the hotel is on a quiet street (up a hill) in the El Poblado district and is where many tourists make their base for exploring the city. El Poblado is an upscale neighborhood and is safe day and night. There are numerous restaurants a 5 to 15 minute walk from the hotel. The closest metro station is a considerable distance away (20-30 minutes by foot) from the hotel. My wife and I walked it a few times, but finally got lazy and took an inexpensive cab. Try to avoid the rush hours for going anywhere using local transportation. The metro is jammed, and the main streets are clogged.
All in all this was a great place to stay, and we will look forward to staying there the next time we are in Medellin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. There is nothing we value more than our customer feedback in order to improve our service every day.
We have taken into account your suggestion and have already developed a handout of recommended places and restaurants this would help our future guests to know better our beautiful city.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellin

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in the Kolor Hotel last summer, during the beautiful Feria de Flores. Outstanding service at the front desk -- they were so warm and welcoming, as they were getting their new hotel off the ground. Excellent bed, great modern furniture, and a beautiful room. The neon lights on the bathtub added to flair as well. This was a great deal, and we would return in a second. Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Alana,
We really appreciate you taking the time to let people know what you liked about our hotel. We will be sure to recognize all our staff at the front desk for their outstanding service, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Kolor Hotel Boutique and was initially very impressed, though by my departure I was quite happy to be leaving. I arrived while the night receptionist was on duty, who was incredibly helpful throughout my stay and spoke perfect English (hablo Español también, but... it's impressive to see a native English speaker working the night shift.) My room was beautiful but, being located on the first floor, very, very loud with breakfast and a communal TV being located just outside my door, where the hotel also holds company meetings during the day, and lots of repair work, purportedly to the air conditioning system, which lasted throughout my stay. I'd chosen the hotel based on reviews that it was quiet and tranquil since I was looking for a nice place to relax and do some writing after some more adventurous travel, but I couldn't hear myself think, nor even my own room's TV when I gave up on the former, due to all of the noise. I complained (nicely) to several people about it, looking for resolution, but they only said "sorry" over and over and explained "the staff have to be trained" or "the guys at breakfast were too loud"; twice the staff meeting outside my room had to move their chairs so I could get in or out of my door. I was trying to take a nap after being woken up early, but that was utterly impossible. By 6:30/7:00 every morning the TV was blaring and the staff and other guests were speaking so loudly outside my room that I woke up, despite being an otherwise heavy sleeper.

I had to ask them to restock the water in my minibar, which only the night receptionist did, otherwise asking didn't help, and my room was only cleaned 1 out of 4 days, though to be fair I was in the room a lot, no one offered to make up the room and proactively I asked that the minibar be restocked with water and towels at a minimum on 2 of the 'no service' days, though neither happened.

Likewise, I asked on the morning after my arrival for someone to fix the safe which was locked when I arrived, and that never happened either.

The breakfast is good, but you're unlikely to get what you order. I ordered fried eggs 4 days out of 4, but only got them twice. I'm not a picky eater, but if the hotel are going to ask what you want & how to prepare it, why don't they listen? The woman who serves the breakfast was very friendly at first but then tried a confidence trick on me that I've seen several times in Latam, but never at a nice hotel, asking me where I was from and what kind of money we have in my country. (The US, the dollar.) She asked me how many dollars I had with me (!) and told me that they never see dollars in Colombia, then asked if I could give her a bill from my country, that they couldn't spend dollars there and that she'd keep it as a keepsake. She told me about a nice guy that gave her 5 Euros (in what country do they use Euros?) When I didn't bite, she offered to show me her "collection" but quickly disappeared when another employee came over. This morning she brought over a little wallet to show me when no one was looking, but the story had changed. Suddenly there was a US dollar, but the Euro was strangely missing. It's not a big deal, but something I expect more from a Bolivian taxista than an employee in an expensive hotel. And if it wasn't a scheme, I wonder why she didn't show me the day before, when the hotel owner was present? Without a working safe in my room, it made me as nervous to leave cash in the room as to take it all with me around town.

Finally, while another review mentions troubles with an airport taxi that the hotel disputes, I can say that today the receptionist forgot to call me a cab, though I'd asked (another employee reminded her, to his credit) and couldn't tell me which airport corresponded to the airport code MDE (it is the one they call "Rio Negro," by the way, not "both" as the staff claimed - the other is Enrique Olaya Herrera - EOH) I expected better-trained front desk staff during the day for simple travel questions. I should reiterate that it is a beautiful hotel and a fantastic location, but only quiet and tranquil if you arrive late and leave before breakfast, or perhaps stay on a floor other than the first.

I understand that 'things happen' and tried repeatedly to be understanding, but "sorry, sorry, sorry" doesn't cut it when the same problems keep occurring.

Room Tip: don't stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onimity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We thank you for the comments to improve our facilities, at the same time we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit to KOLOR BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

1. We understand that the days you ordered fried eggs they were served and the other days you’re ordered eggs with ham and fruit. If not, we talked to the staff to be more careful when taking orders.

2. The airport incident actually is not lack of training of our receptionists on how to locate our customers, at the hotel we mentioned that the MDE airport is in the municipality of Rionegro, which you did not understand at that time.

3. The cause of people talking loudly and loud TV in the lounge outside your room, was a day that our staff was in training and the next day we had the transmission of the Tour de France, in which a Colombian was competing and achieved one of the top spots, please excuse our Colombian joy for our competitor.

4. The lack of service in your room for 3 days of the 4 your stayed was to avoid disturbing you since you were in the room all day after taking your breakfast.

5. Maintenance arrangements at the hotel were necessary at the time to improve our facilities and likewise, enhance the stay of our customers and provide better service.

Just as the training that we are providing our employees is to improve each day and it will reflect in the satisfaction of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A very nice small hotel with friendly staff and owner. Great service at all hours! Short walk to Parque Lleras yet on very quite street. A wonderful find! Less expensive than other larger hotels. Employee at front desk 24 hours was very helpful with everything. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coleman979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous review. It is great to hear feedback from our guests, your compliments are really appreciated and we hope to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

The staff are very helpfull it's in a good location though the hill up to the hotel will not be to some people's liking the room was excellent really good value for money in a very safe and secure location .id recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornishjon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paomarquezg, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014
Google Translation

Buenas tardes

KOLOR HOTEL BOUTIQUE empezó un proceso de mejora continua y dentro de este, esta darle respuesta a todos nuestro clientes que se tomaron un rato de su tiempo para escribir tan lindos comentarios de su experiencia en el Hotel y reiterarles que son muy bienvenidos en su próxima estadía en la ciudad de Medellín.
En la actualidad estamos ofreciendo una variedad de tours diferentes e innovadores para conocer aun mejor la ciudad.

Cordialmente

PAOLA MARQUEZ G
Mercadeo y Relaciones Publicas
KOLOR HOTEL BOUTIQUE
Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel Boutique
Las Rosas Hotel Boutique
#82 of 110 in Medellin
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
In House
In House
#20 of 110 in Medellin
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torre Poblado Hotel and Apart hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#49 of 110 in Medellin
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Campana Hotel Boutique
La Campana Hotel Boutique
#36 of 110 in Medellin
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#4 of 110 in Medellin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolor Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolor Hotel Boutique

Address: Carrera 33 No. 5G 23, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: £37 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kolor Hotel Boutique 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOLOR HOTEL BOUTIQUE offers to its customers a vintage atmosphere with colorful thematic rooms. Each room has its own identity offering a memorable experience. The quality of personalized service, tranquility and privacy are the reasons that motivate our guests to choose us and want to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kolor Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing