We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kolor Hotel Boutique
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sites 45(Medellin)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
In House(Medellin)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
62
30
9
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
30
9
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbars and restaurantsnext morningzona rosaminute walkhip
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Only 2 minor negatives, but made up for in many other areas:
- Design of the rooms is hit or miss (I walked through Torquoise, which was beautiful all around (but was a double bed vs. two singles we were looking for), so we stayed in Sienna - functional, but not great as toilet was on one side, had to walk past both beds to reach the sink from there; the shower was dark and the changing colored lights inside did not make it any less dark in there). Very clean - so in the end, no real complaints.
- Location: it's up a hill, which is a bit tiring at the end of each day. However, this place is in the middle of so many great restaurants and bars. So many types of cuisines and the bar scene is nearby, but not so nearby that's it's noisy at the hotel. 15 to 20-min walk to the Metro station (downhill), and we generally took an inexpensive cab on the way back from the Metro since that was entirely uphill.
- Breakfast: My favorite in all the hotels we stayed in Colombia. Plate of fresh, local fruits. Eggs to order. Arepa or pancake or toast. Freshly squeezed juice and excellent coffee. Delicious.
- Service: Loved the staff. They called restaurants and tourist places for us of all kinds, and also made the bookings. They lent us their umbrella everyday. I can't even remember all the kind and helpful things they did in our 3 days there, but there were many! We left a couple days after Christmas, and they put little toy Santas filled with chocolates and individual hand-written notes for each of us on our last night. So sweet!

Room Tip: See 1st point on Design above.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Propietario at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your review about your stay in Kolor Hotel Boutique.

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us; particularly appreciating the service delivered to you by our staff.
Thank you for your recommendations about the lights in the shower, we would work on this issue.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique in the future, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights - location fantastic. The staff were absolutely brilliant. Recommend this for anyone staying in Medellin. Really surprised how cheap it was given the lovely rooms, service and great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjcassidy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Marie

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest in Kolor Hotel Boutique. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Your satisfaction is our reward, all members of our staff in Kolor Hotel Boutique works every day to make guests feel comfortable during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellin
Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good situation and comfortable rooms. Great description of various breakfasts available on internet site of hotel but had same each day and pretty standard. Would be a good idea to put possible menus on the tables so we could point to our choice since no one understood English.
Only saw the owner 1 day out of 4 and nobody else speaks or understands English.
Asked about an ATM to the person at reception who sent us to the other end of town when there was one down the road.
The owner said that there is always someone at the reception who speaks English in the morning but alas not for us. Would have been nice to receive some info. about tours etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henrietta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Henrietta

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We really appreciate customer´s feedback in order to improve our service. We have taken into account all your suggestions regarding English speaking customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellin

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We selected the hotel in Medellin because it had very good comments, however in our stay of 2 nights we experiences the following:
1. When we arrived, they gave us a standard suite, but we purchased a superior suite.
2. The first day we had a very delicious breakfast, but the second day they had just scramble eggs without fruit or other options.
3. The bathtub plug didn't work properly. It was impossible to fill up the bathtub to the top.
4. At the time of checkout, they tried to charge us more money than the one we should pay. It was a mistake in the reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your comments we really appreciate them in order to improve our service and facilites.
1. Kolor Hotel Boutique only has two types of rooms, standard room and special room, the special room has bathtub or Jacuzzi and the standard room has only shower. In your comments you mention that you have a room with bathtub so we have given you a special room.
2. The breakfast at Kolor Hotel Boutique is ordered by the guest, and we serve what the guest tells us, if you wanted fruit or any other type of breakfast you should just order it.
3. If any of our guest has a technical difficulty in the room, there is always someone at the front desk willing to help you at any time.
4. We have talked to the staff to be more careful in the check-out in order to avoid those misunderstandings with the check.
We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your visit to KOLOR BOUTIQUE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We generally stay in B&B's and do not care for the big hotels. Medellin currently only has a limited number of B&B's so we decided to try a small hotel as an alternative. We hit the jackpot. 1) The price is reasonable 2) The rooms are incredible. Each large room has its own decor, designed by one of the owners wife (she has good taste). The bed was comfortable, and there is plenty of hot water in the shower. 3) The breakfast was cooked to order, and we ate out on the patio each morning. 4) Overall, the service was good. When we were there, the night manager did not speak English, and the day staff was being trained to do their new job and were very accommodating. I suggested the owners develop a handout of recommended sights and restaurants since not all new staff were completely familiar was what Medellin has to offer. 5) The location of the hotel is on a quiet street (up a hill) in the El Poblado district and is where many tourists make their base for exploring the city. El Poblado is an upscale neighborhood and is safe day and night. There are numerous restaurants a 5 to 15 minute walk from the hotel. The closest metro station is a considerable distance away (20-30 minutes by foot) from the hotel. My wife and I walked it a few times, but finally got lazy and took an inexpensive cab. Try to avoid the rush hours for going anywhere using local transportation. The metro is jammed, and the main streets are clogged.
All in all this was a great place to stay, and we will look forward to staying there the next time we are in Medellin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. There is nothing we value more than our customer feedback in order to improve our service every day.
We have taken into account your suggestion and have already developed a handout of recommended places and restaurants this would help our future guests to know better our beautiful city.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellin

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews