We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy clean hostel with awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bambu Glamping City House
Ranked #30 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy clean hostel with awesome staff”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for almost two weeks and it's definitely one of my favorite hostels in SA! Place is fairly clean and comfy with big couches to chill on and a nice backyard space with hammocks. Beds are comfortable with their own privacy curtain. Best part is the staff, they are so sweet and awesome and feel more like friends than hostel staff. Definitely reccomend this place, if I ever come back to medellin I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    13
    13
    1
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
20
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my first hostel experience. My boyfriend and I had our own glamping tent (privacy perk). Considering my OCD I was impressed with how tidy and clean everything was. The sheets were fresh, crisp and neatly folded. The staff was helpful and provided concise information about the local attractions/ restaurants/ commuting. Great place to meet people with a very communal atmosphere. Young, vibrant crowd. Strategic location near bars, restaurants, shops and the metro. Fresh Colombian coffee in the morning and washing machine available.
All in all, the staff was simply AMAZING and they'll go a long way to make your stay extra special!! My regards to Fish, the king of the Bambu Glamping House! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Bambu House is a wonderful hostel! The people that work there are like family, creating a positive, comfortable atmosphere. The accommodations are clean, thoughtful, and beautifully constructed. For example, there's a big backyard with great hammocks and handmade bambu tables. The beds come equipped with big blankets, curtains, and reading lights. There's also amazing art sprinkled throughout the whole place. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at Bambu for a week and a half. The place itself is comfortable, clean, fun, yet quiet. Nice couches to relax on, an awesome backyard area with hammocks and tables to mingle with staff members and other guests. Beds are comfy with personal lights, an outlet, and curtains for privacy.

The staff brought us on a camping trip to the mountains and out to salsa bars, showing us the true medellin. This place is new and bound to be one of the top hostels in Medellin fast. Can't wait to come back here some day. Thanks Bambu!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nata L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Bambu hostel was perhaps my favorite dorm-style hostel I have stayed in ever. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with thick mattresses, privacy curtains, and reading lights. The bathrooms and common areas are decorated like a chic boutique hotel, and the backyard fire pit is awesome! You can be "glamping" in their backyard with s'mores or grilled steak, and a beautiful little creek, and then walk 5 minutes to downtown Poblado.

They even made their own furniture out of bamboo, and one day had a slackline between the trees for fun. The staff really went out of their way for us, highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed in Bambu for a month and had the best time of my life. This hostel is relatively new but the service is impressive. The rooms are very clean and cozy, the sheets are always fresh and the garden is the best place to hang out and meet new friends! The garden will make you feel like you're in another place because it's so much like you're in the wild -- hammocks, trees and fresh air. Doesn't look like you're in a city at all! I also learned most of my Spanish here as the staff are have so much patience with people who don't speak good Spanish. The place is close to a supermarket, Parque Lleras (where you can drink and party) and some shops. Best of all, the owners, became my close friends!

I highly recommend this hostel if you are travelling Medellin.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I can't rave enough about this hostel. Bambu has everything you'd want in a hostel - personality, cleanliness, and interesting, intrepid guests. Bambu is perfectly located just off the beaten path in El Poblada, making it a little quieter and a great place to come back to at the end of the night. I have stayed in hostels around the world, and Bambu is truly one of the best I've ever stayed in. Great value!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cydnee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Garden of Blues Hostal
The Garden of Blues Hostal
#26 of 228 in Medellin
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocobamboo Hostel
Cocobamboo Hostel
#31 of 228 in Medellin
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panela Hostel
Panela Hostel
#117 of 228 in Medellin
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galeria Hostel
Galeria Hostel
#32 of 228 in Medellin
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friends to Be
Friends to Be
#17 of 228 in Medellin
24 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Flaca Hostel
La Flaca Hostel
#39 of 228 in Medellin
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Glamping City House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Glamping City House

Property: Bambu Glamping City House
Address: Calle 6 32 - 164, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a difference of other hostels, our private bedrooms are two amazing glamping tents equiped with double bed, flat screen TV with Direct TV located in our huge garden surrounded by beautiful nature. Check out the pictures. Our Bunk beds are really comfortable, each bed has its own lamp, electricity plug and curtains so you can have a private spot in a shared room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Glamping City House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing