We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with the majority a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

By US standards the room is similar to what one might expect at a newer buiness type hotel (think Marriot Courtyard, etc), but large compared to similarly priced European hotels. Yes the views are great and the staff is really warm and friendly. I do think it is a key to attempt to speak to them in Spanish. I know almost know Spanish but it was entertaining and fun to try and converse with one side having muchos pocos Ingles and the other muchos pocos Espanol. Also I think the bad days of cartels are long in the past. I felt very safe everywhere I went, and all the people I met were as friendly as those in the hotel.

Room Tip: High for the view and in the corner for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhioScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poblado Hoteles S, Social Media Manager at Hotel Poblado Alejandria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi OhioScot.

Good morning, this opinion is very valuable to us, thanks for contact and visit our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Received a very warm welcome, the staff always have a smile on their faces, English is spoken well but you would be more welcome if you make an effort to speak Spanish. There is a gym and spar on the top floor with an outside section with a fantastic view. Its a real nice city, unfortunately I was on a business trip so I couldn't make the most of it. The people are very friendly & I felt safe there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are around the outside of the building, a higher floor will give a better view. If I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisradioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poblado Hoteles S, Social Media Manager at Hotel Poblado Alejandria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi Chrisradioman.

Good morning, this opinion is very valuable to us, thanks for contact and visit our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Rooms are comfortable, clean and modern. Staff goes out of their way to accomodate. You need to speak Spanish, though!
Location is 7 or 8 blocks up steep hills, so walking is a challenge (and at elevation.) Several taxi drivers could not find the place. But taxis are cheap and plentiful in Medellin.
Decent breakfast included.
Yes, there is a rooftop fitness room, but the hot tubs and deck are closed. Also, they use the top floor for conference rooms, so you might not be comfortable walking around in your workout gear. But the hills are enough of a workout!
Medellin is busy and interesting.
Bring earplugs, if going in December. This is the big celebration month, and there are fireworks (rockets) going all night. Single-paned windows mean you will hear them all!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank svbreila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poblado Hoteles S, Social Media Manager at Hotel Poblado Alejandria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi Svbreila.

This opinion is very valuable to us, thanks for contact and visit our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Definetly ranked 4th is way too high. I've booked a room from the hotel's web page 2 weeks ago, I got the confirmation code and printed it. Showed up last Wednesday at the front desk: Sorry, your reservation is not on our system and we are fully booked for tonight. Either your booking system works or it doesn't, in this case it doesn't. I'm completely dissapointed from this and also from the guy at the front desk giving me some attitude instead of trying to solve my case. I won`t recommend the hotel nor even try to book again when I'm back to Medellin. Shame on you!

Room Tip: When you get a booking confirmation code, either call the hotel or drop them a line or else you risk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for about 5 days and it was truly a great experience. First and foremost, the staff is wonderful. They were always available for any request or recommendations during our stay. Someone in particular made a lasting impression – Giovanni who usually works security but during our time there was working as the bellhop. He went above and beyond the call of duty and was very attentive to our every need. Great person!

The breakfast buffet was exceptional; the variety of breads, fruit and eggs was amazing. I still miss it! The staff at the restaurant and the food there were both wonderful. The Wi-Fi throughout the hotel is excellent, it never dropped.

The only small downside to the hotel is that it is located 4 blocks from a main street and it’s 4 blocks uphill. Very small issue to an otherwise amazing hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura25P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was my third stay at the Poblado Alejandría. My review from 2012 reflected concerns over a drop in the level of service. In September 2013, the ship seemed righted. Service in the restaurant and at the desk was much more consistent, reaching a level expected at this class of hotel.

I like the Poblado Alejandría because of its quiet, residential location, which provides a welcome refuge from the bustle on the main street just a few blocks down the hill. Some guests might feel isolated, but most of Medellín's cultural and commercial attractions are only a few minutes away. Taxi service is very inexpensive, so one does not have to feel cut off from the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Good value and location in a quiet area of the upscale El Poblado neighborhood.
Excellent buffet breakfast.
You can hear people walking and closing doors outside your room easily.
Sometimes hard to get taxis, (10 min. wait)
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 110 in Medellin
739 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#9 of 110 in Medellin
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#8 of 110 in Medellin
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#5 of 110 in Medellin
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poblado Alejandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Alejandria

Address: Carrera 36 2s 60, Medellin 050022, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Medellin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#7 Family Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Alejandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most spectacular view of Medellín, in the most exclusive residential area of the city, where you will find peace and quiet for your stay. Our modern rooms, with an unmatched tranquility and equipped for your comfort. CAFÉ ALEJANDRÍA RESTAURANT Cozy and romantic, surrounded by a beautiful garden where flowers and colors combined with the variety of national and international flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poblado Alejandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Poblado Alejandria Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing