We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice - Medelling is Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice - Medelling is Great”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on business.
The hotel is above 3 night clubs, which I found out on my last day and couldn't go visit them, but I heard the music occasionally...didn't bother me.
The hotel was clean, organized, new and nice. I had a suit with kitchenette (sink, microwave, mini-bar, and coffee maker). Used the mini-bar to store my water and fruits.

I also want to talk about Columbia and Medellin (locals pronounce it Me-de-jin). The people specially the ladies are the most beautiful and most fit I've seen in one place. Almost everyone is dressed like they're going to a party and they look like they are gym rats (fit, slim and pretty).
Medellin is a very crowded city; lots of yellow cabs and motorcycles. You feed the exhaust pollution if you are outside long. The city is in a valley so it's surrounded by mountains and there is not much air flow to push off the smog.
It was very safe! I didn't feel even one second that I might be in danger. Malls carry similar or better products than you can find in US! Down town shopping is very different, more for locals and you will see vendors with hand carts etc.
Police and security are very visible and with all that traffic and crazy driving, I didn't see a single accident.
Enjoy your trip to this town and enjoy the great food!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffalo-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thanks for your comments about our hotel and the city and people.

we are happy to have it again on your next trip to Medellin.

Luis Fernando Velez Toro
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    133
    54
    28
    13
See reviews for
46
50
35
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Room is big but with a porr design, the result: A big room but the bathroom door is just by the bed. Blankets were very, very, very old and the matress much more old. It were impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latinoamericano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel is good overall. Lacks better internet speed and a better breakfast. Views from terrace are lovely and it is conveniently located. Great location across excellent shopping and restaurants.
Service is fantastic and rooms late and spacious. Restrooms have an odd sliding door that doesn't close well. Lifts are slow and service personnel do have to use the same ones.
Price is fair.
Windows should be better cleaned.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for one night, had to find new hotel, the room had bed bugs...was biten several times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medallo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natytoro, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Guest and Staff Trip Advisor:

I check the truth of the review and found that our hotel requested emergency medical service named Emermedica to take care, totally free and charged to the Hotel.

The attending physician, diagnosed as " patient with weeks of onset of skin lesions. "(diagnosis extracted from medical report which is available and which the guest has the Original).
Similarly, the diagnosis means "fungus on the skin "also taken from the medical report.

As you can see their condition was not acquired at the Hotel as your stay was not this long and the request for attention care was asked in the short time that you stay at the hotel.

Our team meets strict standards of cleanliness, disinfection and care for all our rooms and areas and so we've been the best Hotel by our guests and one of three favorite hotels by readers Latin Trade magazine this year (February), in the city of Medellin.

We make available to members of Trip Advisor if you require, copy of medical report and that this review is not what was expressed by the medical professional who treated you so absolutely free by the hotel.

We hope we have clarified the review and we hope to have the opportunity to provide our services to you in a near future.

Sincerely,

LUIS FERNANDO VELEZ TORO
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Excellent location with a great price..!!
Have stayed here 3 times without any incidents, be sure to ask for a quiet room because the noise from the bars and restaurants may be a little uncomfortable...!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josetimiraos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

A great hotel close to park lleras and all the fun in Medellin. Great staff and great service.
I highly recommend...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosser2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natytoro, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
Thanks for your comments, they are very important for us, we hope to serve you again in a near future

Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I stayed here with my wife for one night and wish we had more time to enjoy the room. It is located in the "Milla de Oro - Golden Mile", one of the best locations in the city close to malls, Hard Rock Cafe, restaurants etc.

The hotel is actually located inside a small mall, it has about 18 floors and the rooms are amazing! No matter in which room you are you'll have either a (i) great view of the city or (ii) a great view of the mountain on the east side of the city. Rooms come with all the ammenities (microwave, sink, fridge, safebox) and a full bar (juices, soft drinks and sodas, crackers, red bull....you name it) so useful if you feel like staying in bed and not going outside for a drink.

The TV is great (but for a new hotel I was expecting a flat screen) and located in the middle of the room between the bed and the living room....you just need to turn it around to watch tv from any location in the room. Internet signal worked perfectly! We were leaving early in the morning to go to the airport and booked the transportation via the hotel ($54000 pesos ~ 30 dollars) that were charged directly to the account as I expected (you can also pay in cash).....driver was great! Also, we got our wake up call in time (4:30 AM!) which is, for me, a great deal as I have requested this service at the Hilton / or Intercontinental sometimes with no success.....so I was very happy.

As I mentioned earlier, the hotel is inside a mall called "Strada"...one of the best places in Medellin: You can go for excellente meals early at night, then hit any of the bars on the 2nd - 3rd level (Shots bar, Beer Store, Kristal etc) and party all night and then not to worry about getting any taxi to go to your hotel because you are right there!

Also, the hotel has a small but complete store with local handcraft gifts..perfect for a last minute gift if you forgot to buy anything during your stay. I will definitely will come back here again when I fly back to Medellin!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aechever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#24 of 105 in Medellin
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 105 in Medellin
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novelty Suites Hotel
Novelty Suites Hotel
#9 of 105 in Medellin
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#14 of 105 in Medellin
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Address: Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medellin Hotel's Location is Convenient for GuestsLocated in the El Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Medellin offers visitors to Colombia an enviable location and top-notch services. This Medellin hotel's location is near area attractions and businesses, and guests can enjoy convenient amenities.Business guests find themselves near Plaza Mayor, the area's premier conference and convention center. The hotel's central Medellin location is convenient to many major banks and international businesses, and guests find it easy to stay in touch with clients using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Medellin Hotel Medellin
Holiday Inn Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing