We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfy bed,breakfast with a view ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very comfy bed,breakfast with a view ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Our room was on the 17th floor so we had a good view, the room was modern and spacious, with a kitchenette (which was useful having a big fridge).

Our breakfast was included and was provided on the 21st floor. The breakfast was good and provided a lovely view in an outdoor (covered) breakfast room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Location is good, on the 'golden mile' near all the malls, within walking distance of the Parque lleras area where all the bars, restaurants and boutique shops are.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Ms Emma

We want to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin.

We appreciate your reviews and comments and we hope you come back very soon to Medellin and to our hotel.

Regards

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    123
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
42
47
35
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The window shades could not be closed perfectly so the sun was shining directly on my pillow from 7 am the following morning. The rest of the room was dark. This was claimed also at check out.
The bed was good.
Room was clean.
Breakfast was medium good, not bad.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelKandeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
good afternoon

We welcome your comments we invite you to correct our mistakes and successes strengthen

We are currently working on a reform of the hotel where the TV change this to 50% and air conditioners also.

Rates were high due to high season city during your stay.

Thanks for your feedback and we hope soon.

Luis Fernando Toro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
185 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My stay here started really badly when my pickup at the airport didn't show up! I speak Spanish so I just took a taxi, but this may be a little unsettling for a first time visitor to Medellin as the airport is VERY far away from town and the road is very dark... Although there is almost zero chance of danger, it is better to ride with somebody your hotel sends. Fail there.
I just could not fault the hotel... super modern rooms (except for old TV and old AC unit) Huge room with huge windows which I LOVED... Great breakfast terrace.. Super clean and efficient housekeeping.
Only problem with the room is that the blackout curtains do not cover the window effectively and I was awaken every morning at 5:45 by the first rays of sun.
Also, front desk personnel is very young and inexperienced and I had an issue with my bill and never got an apology for my missed pickup until I requested to speak with the manager, who responded and gave me a $2 (Wow!!!) discount on my ride back to the airport.
Lots of potential, great location! Management with better attention to detail could turn this hiotel into a gem!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranger22miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
good afternoon

We welcome your comments we invite you to correct our mistakes and successes strengthen

Let me introduce you to impasse excuses for transportation and already we inform you that there has been a bonus for you to enjoy an airport shuttle at no cost as compensation for serivicio not paid and he should not be charged. Unfortunately the information given to the management was different.

many excuses again and hope to soon.

Luis Fernando Toro V
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here one night. The room was clean and spacious and the location was great (lots of restaurants around and seemed safe). The breakfast was also good. I just found the room to be loud but that's a function of the location too. Beautiful scenery around.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CoptRWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and opinions about our Hotel.
As well says our location and the attention of our staff is the greatest strength which adds to the excellent panoramic city.

We look forward to returning soon and thank you for choosing us

Luis Fernando Toro V
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Is in a really great location in Medellín, near Santafe shopping mall. Also in the same building there is a cozy shopping mall called La Strada.

The room is spacious with tv, air conditioner and wi-fi. Although the tv unit was kind of old.

Nice small selection for breakfast, really enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank blpgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our extraordinary location close to all places of interest and entertainment in the city of Medellin. As you rightly says we are located in an excellent shopping center called La Strada in which a variety of restaurants and places of entertainment. That is one of the most important attractions of the hotel, in addition to its excellent care and service.

We welcome comments to improve and informed him that we are locking them for better comfort of our guests.

The hope to return soon

Luis Fernando Toro Velez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Location is simply excellent, in a very safe neighborhood in Medellín with malls and supermarket very close to the hotel. Also, in the same building (La Strada) you can find good restaurants and bars.
The only negative item is the air conditioning, a bit noisy when you're trying to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tati4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our extraordinary location close to all places of interest and entertainment in the city of Medellin. That is one of the most important attractions of the hotel, in addition to its excellent care and service.

We welcome comments to improve and informed him that we are locking them for better comfort of our guests.

The hope to return soon

Luis Fernando Toro Velez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
630 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A good choice. Large rooms. Great view over rooftops. Got a room not facing the street and happy for that cause the traffic causes noice.
Breakfast buffet is good - even if the ham and cheese looked very tired and could have been stored cold. Coffee on the watery side also - this in the country of Juan Valdez....

But large rooms - comfortable beds. Nice reception (even if they missed to pass on a message to the ones supposed to bring me to the airport - they were very late and I took a hotel transport instead, but when my late original transport came the reception told me I had not left!!) But thats a minor detail for a hotel that is a very good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our extraordinary location near all inetres and entertainment sites in the city of Medellin. Also on outstanding accommodations, because of its size and its view over the city that are the most important attraction for our guests.

We welcome comments to improve and will in practice immediately.

I hope to return soon

Luis Fernando Toro Velez
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#7 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#13 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#67 of 103 in Medellin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Address: Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medellin Hotel's Location is Convenient for GuestsLocated in the El Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Medellin offers visitors to Colombia an enviable location and top-notch services. This Medellin hotel's location is near area attractions and businesses, and guests can enjoy convenient amenities.Business guests find themselves near Plaza Mayor, the area's premier conference and convention center. The hotel's central Medellin location is convenient to many major banks and international businesses, and guests find it easy to stay in touch with clients using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Medellin Hotel Medellin
Holiday Inn Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing