We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 24 February 2009

After Bogotá it was time to stay at Medellín for 4 days, we had a lot to do and needed a nice hotel where we could relax after a busy day working and having meetings. My business partner booked rooms at the Holiday Inn Express, we had high expectations.

ARRIVAL: We arrived late at night, the rooms were ready and the reception staff was very friendly, like most of Latin America they tried to be as helpful as they could and we went to our room straight away, I had requested high floors on the phone a few days earlier and they got us rooms at the top floor of the hotel facing the whole city.

HOTEL/CONCIERGE: The hotel itself is great, the rooms are more like studio apartments, complete with a kitchen, real-life-size refrigerators and a large desk for working. Free wifi internet was available, it was fast and stable, and the view, wow, we had an amazing view with large windows seeing the whole city of Medellín (that's like one big valley) from the 20th floor of the hotel. They also had a top floor where they served breakfast and the view was great, there was also a fitness center for those who like working out. There was no concierge but the staff tried their best to be helpful when asked, they also provided us with late check out on request.

SERVICE/STAFF: We didn't use much room service, I think the hotel is more like on a "help yourself" mood, the breakfast was served and what finished wasn't much replaced, the breakfast was kind of below regular I have to say.

LOCATION: The location is flawless, the hotel, besides being in the main avenue of the whole city, is also sort of inside a shopping center complex (don't worry, it's not crowded and it has independent entrance way) and they have all kinds of restaurants on the first floor. The hotel also has a small but nice casino, named Portofino, where we had a lot of fun. The casino staff is very friendly and sometimes nicer than Vegas when it comes to getting you what you ask when you're gambling, maybe also because it was small and not so crowded.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: When it comes do Medellín it was among the best, I also visited the InterContinental, but it's more of a spa hotel, for those who want to feel the city I suggest the this Holiday Inn Express, it feels like the kind of apartment I'd have if I lived there. The beds are really comfy and the bathroom is modern and kind of oversized, the whole room/suite is oversized. If you're looking for specialized concierge service and family vacation amenities don't even think about it, but if you're on business looking forward to a warm welcome to Colombia, go ahead! Either way make sure you visit the Botanical Garden of Medellín, the Botero Museum and if you want to party I'd advice you go downtown and party like the locals at Oz by Trial or B Lounge, because hotel staff will only suggest horrible enormous clubs featuring weird music and even more weird people, avoid those at all costs.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodolfo3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2008

Stayed at the Holiday Inn express in Poblado, Medellin last month. It was a great place and conveintly located in a nice safe neigborhood. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was professional and friendly. This hotel is highly recommended and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank traveler1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My experience with this hotel was very positive. Since my online booking until my check-out everything went smooth. Booking was made online in advance, so I was able to get a great rate. When I arrived to the hotel the staff was not only professional, but also extremely polite and helpful.

About the hotel: It is located in "El Poblado" area, which is the business center of Medellin. It is a modern building featuring a minimalistic lobby but with the typical Colombian warmth of its staff. The hotel is one hour away from Rionegro Airport and about 30 minutes from Olaya Herrera Airport.

My room was spacious, featuring a mini-bar service, a complete kitchinette and a mini living room. It was very clean, as well as the appliances. The TV worked properly and Beds were also very comfortable. The bathroom is simple, but complete.

The Hotel does not have a restaurant, but as you are in "El Poblado" there are excellent restaurants at a walking distance from you. There is a complimentary breakfast service served in the Hotel at the top of the Building, which is extremely good, they offer both typical and continental breakfasts.

My stay at the Holiday Inn Express Medellin was very pleasant and I am way sure that I'll stay with them again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rleiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

My family (2 adults and 2 children ages 7 and 9) stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Medellin last summer. The hotel had just opened. We found the rooms to be very nice and spacious. The room fit three doubles and a twin without any congestion. The room was also equipped with a full kitchen and a large bathroom. The staff was so helpful and did everything to make our stay wonderful.

Breakfast on the roof top was always good. A good selection of traditional and ordinary breakfast food.

When my son became ill, I had an ambulance and doctor in my room at 5:00 a.m. w/in 15 minutes that the front desk called. All turned out ok. Much to my amazement all of the costs were covered in the hotel rate.

It was also comforting to know that the hotel was w/in walking distance to several major 24 hour clinics, great shopping and eating.

I would definitely stay here again on any future trips to Medellin.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank claudiaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SAMBAFISCH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: un hotel adecuado para el viajante de negocios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rafaelf680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jcgalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 111 in Medellin
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#27 of 111 in Medellin
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
4.1 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#58 of 111 in Medellin
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#10 of 111 in Medellin
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Address: Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: £50 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medellin Hotel's Location is Convenient for GuestsLocated in the El Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Medellin offers visitors to Colombia an enviable location and top-notch services. This Medellin hotel's location is near area attractions and businesses, and guests can enjoy convenient amenities.Business guests find themselves near Plaza Mayor, the area's premier conference and convention center. The hotel's central Medellin location is convenient to many major banks and international businesses, and guests find it easy to stay in touch with clients using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Medellin Hotel Medellin
Holiday Inn Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing