We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot to love, except the location is somewhat isolated.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Affinity Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Affinity Apart Hotel
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lot to love, except the location is somewhat isolated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

First off, this hotel is wonderful. The staff is exceptional. They are very helpful and kind. The breakfast was great, a lot of food, but don't get there after 9am or it won't be as plentiful. The rooms are laid out really well, a true apartment with two bathrooms, a kitchenette, a living and dining area, and a bedroom with a small closet with a safe. The bed, however, is terrible -- hard and extremely uncomfortable. It's funny because the malls nearby have MANY bed stares -- perhaps it's time the hotel bought some new beds. If you like a hard bed, you're fine, but we're talking HARD, literally.

And free Wi-Fi -- super convenient.

So, for the hotel itself I would recommend it. Bed not withstanding, the staff and the layout, the breakfast, the internet -- all things that have me recommending it.

Here's the rub -- if you don't want to exclusively travel anywhere by anything other than a taxi, you're kind of screwed. The location is somewhat isolated for the city. Yeah, there's too huge malls, one directly next door. Two supermarkets convenient located nearby. And there is a bus system right off Avenida 6, but I was never able to find route maps either in town or online. So, I didn't feel I could take a bus and get to where I was going. The subway is a good walk away, up and down hills. It was fine for me and my husband, but someone older than me would have a difficult time, and there are NO SIGNS whatsoever. And every time you asks someone where it is, they gave contradictory directions. You just kind of find it, but not without having to going down the wrong way again and again. It just isn't convenient in any way. But hey, that's what we got, so we used it all the time -- and the subway is really great, super clean and totally safe (if that's an issue for you).

Overall this just isn't a walking portion of the city. I guess if this is a business trip and/or all you want to do is bank and shop, you're fine. The mall has a bunch or mediocre restaurants and fast food outlets. The restaurant next door demands a reservation, even when it is practically empty, or they were lying to us and what they really had was a dress code (we were vacation casual) and only told us we needed a reservation -- or they just didn't want to serve Americans, period.

So we were left to take cabs everywhere -- that's a not the best way to really get to know the people except the cabbies. We wanted to walk, and truly this is not the place to stay it's that's your thing.

People keep commenting "Safe Neighborhood" but I would say Medellin is extremely safe overall, so that didn't seem to be an issue. Of course watch your purse, but that's normal most big cities.

This more than anything seemed like the "rich" part of town, especially in the mall which was definitely the "haves." Too bad there aren't more true restaurants nearby, at least ones that welcome a couple who traveled from California and wanted to eat dinner that wasn't served by a place that looked like a Columbian version of Chili's (I'm talking about you, La Cafetiere de Anita -- really, you needed a reservation when there was NO ONE inside your restaurant??).

So, totally enjoyed staying inside the hotel, but really the location is only good if you like going to eat in a mall and shop. And we loved the staff -- especially David who was really helpful (then again they were all good and friendly).

Or you're on a business trip. Not great if site-seeing is what you're in Medellin for.

Room Tip: Our room was great -- two bathrooms are super convenient. Best feature -- you can open all the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena C, E-Commerce at Affinity Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for your comments.
Bed: Really understand the discomfort you felt with your bed. The type of mattress we use has been chosen as preferred by most of our guests, but as there are people like you who prefer a softer bed, we offer a special attachment on request.
Location: We appreciate your comments about the safety of our city. Actually the location of the Hotel is in the best area of ​​the city, opposite the Oviedo Mall, perhaps the best in town.
Metro and maps: Our city has a mixed topography, it is a small valley surrounded by mountains. representing some difficulties to get to the subway. As for the maps, in the front desk of the hotel are delivered free of charge.
Side Restaurant: The restaurants adjacent to the hotel are 2 of the best qualified of the city (La Cafetiere and The Province) and effectively reservation in advance is required in both of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    30
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
14
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

As describe by previous reviews this property is located right in the center of El Poblado, one of the vest and secure neighborhood of Medellin.
Check in, and check out was very fast and effecient. Room was spacious and you did not feel as you where in a hotel room, but rather in a appartment. We received a room on the 18th floor which gave us a perfect view of the milla de oro.
Breakfast was good, and we were offered every night for breakfast to be prepared in the room, thus not even having to leave the room.
2 huge shopping malls within walking distance of the property, and a variety of restaurants to choose from,
Would for sure stay there in the future, and would recomend this for families traveling with small children due to fact that there was a small but usefull kitchen

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena C, E-Commerce at Affinity Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for your feedback, we hope to have him back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Affinity. It is extremely well located - right in the center of El Poblado (the best neighborhood in town). It is also across the street from a very chick mall "Oviedo." I must say the service is excellent, the professionalism of every staff member we encountered, truly a pleasure. The breakfast (included) absolutely delicious. An opportunity to try the real "paisa" breakfast which includes "leftovers" "calentado" consisting of a mix of rice and beans. Arepa and scrambled eggs again "paisa" style. FYI - Paisa is the name given to anyone from the region of Antioquia (state name). So if you are from Medellín you are paisa, if you are from Armenia, you are paisa, etc. Do go for their juices rather than drinking the traditional orange juice. All their juices are extremely tasty. The apartments are cute, with wonderful views of the city, the mall, the bridge, etc. Every room as a view. The condition of the rooms is immaculate. If you want room service the next morning, you have to call reception and reserve your time. In the morning, two uniformed ladies with a cart and cooking utensils will ring your bell precisely at the time scheduled and will cook for you the breakfast of your choice - name it, they cook it right there and then go back to your room, shower or get ready and when you come out, breakfast will be served, beautifully arranged waiting for you. It is an excellent service. Do tip the girls, they deserve it. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. We highly recommend Affinity.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views. We stayed in one corner of the building, but my son and his family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BettyMelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Affinity Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments. Affinity will always be your home in Medellín. We wait you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Eustatius
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a four person apartment with full size refrigerator and well equipped kitchen. Spacious master bedroom, spacious living room with comfortable couch. No TV in living room, only in bedrooms. Everything clean, well maintained and working. Breakfast is included and there is ample choice. The front desk people are very helpful and there was always somebody who spoke English.
Just one small point for improvement:
After 09.00 a.m. breakfast choices tend to diminish; refills with bread an juices were slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandCorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Affinity Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thanks you for your comments. Our breakfast service hours are between 6:00 am and 9:30 am. It´s possible that after 9:00 pm some products are not available. We take note for improved it. We expect you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
957 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We used this hotel as they have apartments with two bedrooms and baths. However, one is the master bedroom suite with bath and the other is a smaller cousin with the bathroom across the hall. So you might have to flip a coin for who gets what. There is a kitchen, balcony, and laundry area. Mattresses like most we've tried in Colombia are hard. Try to get a view of the new bridge that is illuminated with changing colors at night. Prices seem to be about average. Breakfast is a buffet and is quite good. The location in El Poblado couldn't be better with the Oviedo shopping center next door and Santa Fe across the street. It's a fifteen minute hike to the excellent metro. Prices seem to be about average, which to my mind, make Medellin a bit expensive. Restaurants are expensive, too. One must be prepared for the fact that Colombia has inflated and grown a lot.

Room Tip: Face the new bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Affinity Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thanks for your comments, will be a pleasure to have them back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed a week with my family in this hotel (2 adults and 2 children). The people in the front desk were very kind and friendly. The thing was that we asked for additional blankets (there were none in the room) they just gave us one. Also, there was only hot water to take a shower just for two of us each morning. The other two had to shower hours later. One day the sink in the bathroom broke, and they glued it back but there was a funny smell in the room and they did not change us to another room. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Affinity Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
We apreciate your comentaries and apologize for all the negative things you lived during your staying at the hotel.Each of them were evaluated to be corrected  so it won`t happen again,
Our main objective is to satisfy our guest.
Related to the heater we are in process of changing them according to the occupation  looking for better efficiency. We are sorry about the sink, we didn`t have any report and that has led us  to create a preventative  for this item. We hope to have the oportunity  you  visit and get another picture of our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Your typical hotel for people staying longer as you can get a kitchennete and two rooms. Very clean and in good location to malls and bars. The food is very good. The Internet is a bit slow. There are some decent views of the city depending on room. The gym is a bit small. Was a jacuzzi but no water.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlutoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Affinity Apart Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you for your commentaries, we want to inform you that the Jacuzzi service is provided by request at reception to garantee that every time is used the water is in good quality.

We will be waiting for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
Novelty Suites Hotel
Novelty Suites Hotel
#8 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
#24 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
In House
In House
#14 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#7 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#67 of 103 in Medellin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affinity Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affinity Apart Hotel

Property: Affinity Apart Hotel
Address: Calle 6 sur # 43A - 100 | Sector Oviedo, Milla de Oro de El Poblado, Medellin, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Affinity Apart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A different privilege Predilection for space, privacy, comfort and good service in an exclusive corporate environment. For its perfect location, next to the Oviedo Mall, Affinity converts lodging experience in a privilege. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Affinity Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing