We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Egina Medellin
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Location is great: steps to Carrera 70, Estadio Station and football stadium. Staff is friendly, A/C is great, sit-down breakfast is good (coffee, juice, eggs, fruit, bread/arepas), room is clean and there is a small fridge in the room. However, the wifi is very poor and the walls and windows are paper thin. Even if you get a room close to the router, which is next to the elevator, the connection is still poor. Given its location, the noise outside (all day/night) is a given, but the noise within the hotel with its paper thin walls is not good. If you are a light sleeper, I don't recommend this hotel. If you can sleep through the noise and don't care about a good wifi connection, then book this hotel. For the record, I read previous reviews and requested a rear facing room, which the hotel confirmed was available, but when I checked in (after 3pm), the room was not ready so I took another room facing the front, near the elevator and stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the hotel might be quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMNer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Egina Medellin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

The price is very good for the level of service and accommodations.

Each room has a stocked refrigerator, wifi, organization space, and typical things in the bathroom (shower towels, wash cloths, floor towel, soap, shampoo, glasses, etc).

The staff is very attentive and breakfast is included.

My only issues are... the room size is a bit small, and the breakfast can take some time since it's individually served rather then a self-service buffet.

It is extremely close to the metro and the sports park, also it is next to la setenta, an area with lots of restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Tiny but immaculate room, effective air conditioning, location close to a Metro station, close to a huge number and variety of restaurants.....but also close to bars and discos. Very noisy until 3.am. If you are a light sleeper I would not recommend this hotel, even with ear plugs it was impossible to sleep until the bar/disco closed. Pity as otherwise this hotel is great value.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xochitlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in Egina in Medellin & Bogata. When we checked in at Medellin the bellhop took the bags up the stairs because he did not trust the elevator; we used the stairs during our stay.. The rate included breakfast which consisted of of a tiny patch of scrambled eggs,,, toast, a little bit of fruit, juice and the worst coffee we had in that country. The worst experience was at Egina Bogata. When I finished in the shower I slid the glass ldoor open; the door, which had no stop, hit the wall and shattered giving me several superficial cuts. When I reported the incident at the front desk, the were unconcerned about my welfare and told me that I owed them $500 USD for the door. They could not be moved by logic. Since I had no wish for a confrontation in a 3rd world country I paid with a Visa card,, wrote "paid in protest" on the slip, signed "Mickey Mouse", and put it in dispute with the bank as soon as I returned to the US. That's wqhere the matter stands 4 months later

Lee Gubala, New Orleans

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeTerp72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Clean! Clean! Clean! - The Hotel Egina Medellin is probably the cleanest hotel property in which I have ever stayed. This is the perfect hotel for anyone with a fear of germs or other people's dirt.

It's also a perfect hotel if you'd like to experience a side of Medellin - even for a day or two - that is not El Poblado - but provides just as much excitement. Steps from the hotel is a lively strip - busy day and night - filled with restaurants, cafes, bars, and salsa clubs. Not as upscale as El Poblado - but just as much fun! Possibly more, depending on your taste. The Metro is two blocks away. And overall, the area feels safe.

Apart from being super super clean, the hotel is simple and economical - without feeling budget. Nice, very clean, linens and beds, rooms on the smallish side - but nothing unmanageable - good air conditioning - sufficient breakfast included - juice, fruits, eggs, breads, coffee. The wifi was spotty during my stay, but the very friendly and helpful staff worked hard to correct the situation.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

no issues here, clean, nice staff. if you want quiet, ask for a room facing the back of the building. only downside is it is far from the popular parque lleras area. not a five star hotel or breakfast, but you are not paying for it either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usual T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked two "superior double" rooms on booking.com, which came with plenty of beautiful pictures of spacious rooms. They looked a bit too big for the 18 sq meters the description assured they measured, we thought a bit of camera magic didn't hurt anyone. On arrival, however, in one of the rooms you could barely walk around the bed, it was so small- I don't think it measured more than 10 sq meters with the en suite included...

When we complained, showing the pictures, the receptionist smiled and said they always have the same problem, those rooms in the photos don't exist, booking.com put them up from somewhere (!) and anyway, what do we expect for 77000 pesos per room per night (the basic price they advertise is 139000 by the way, and the lower price appears as a discount. A lie too?) It took us 10 minutes at least to get them to change the room of my parents in law for something a bit larger...

Clearly, the hotel needs to do several things to appear as it is:
1) take off the fourth star after it name, in international standards it is not better than a three star. Although it must be said it's very clean, the furnishings and fittings are not four star standard (not even a bottle of water in the "minibar" either- it was an empty fridge).

2) take a serious look at how it advertises itself: currently it is very misleading. As a bare minimum, using pictures of non-existent rooms is not on;

3) Train its staff in customer
service. if you are caught in a lie, at least try and do your best to accommodate your guest...

all this said, at the discounted price it is good value, as I said it is clean, near a metro station, and safe. But we would not stay here again, as we feel cheated.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vivre
Hotel Vivre
#39 of 110 in Medellin
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dorado la 70
Hotel Dorado la 70
#42 of 110 in Medellin
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suite Comfort
Hotel Suite Comfort
#47 of 110 in Medellin
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lincoln
Hotel Lincoln
#63 of 110 in Medellin
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#27 of 110 in Medellin
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sauces del Estadio
Hotel Sauces del Estadio
#57 of 110 in Medellin
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egina Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egina Medellin

Address: Calle 47 68a - 80, Medellin 050031, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: £26 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egina Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a great option near to the commercials and tourist areas of Medellin City. The excellence in our service and the attention that our guesses receive- make that your stay be unfforgetable-We offer beautiful and comfortable suites with the best republican style which satisfy our guesses expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Egina Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing