We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular old-school Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jimmy's

Jimmy's
Ranked #18 of 120 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
247 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Popular old-school Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ate here most recently this past Saturday night and was amazed at how popular this restaurant is and how many diners were still there at almost 10 p.m. The food is quite good, and the service is attentive. The place does get noisy when it's full, but that seems to be the case in most restaurants there days. The fact that this restaurant still draws a crowd even though it's located in a dicey part of Asbury says a lot. (Thank goodness for the valet parking.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank unicorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“birthday celebration”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Went for my mothers75th birthday party with 16 of us it was noisy and not set up for large party service was very slow food was ok my mom liked it but I would not go back sevice ws worst padt they could not handle a large party

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_OCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Typical Jersey Italian - Can't beat it!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Everything was spectacular!! Came into town to visit the kids and grand kids and asked to go to a typical Jersey Shore Italian Restaurant that we truly miss since moving to Florida.... Spot on!!!
Delicious food, great ambiance and service - we"ll be back next time~

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jilzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing this place still gets good ratings.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Be for warned. Had a patient inform me that last week they had been at Jimmy's back in late June. After having a seafood dinner which seamed to tast just fine they left feeling a knife like pain in there abdominal area. After several restroom stops they felt dehydrated and seeking medical help the next morning. Without further ridicule to this estaishment I ask one thing. When is the last time the Monmouth county health department paid a visit. Furthermore is this place even place even a NJ " SAFE SERVE CERTIFIED" . I wouldn't take any chances. There are many other fine restaurants in the alot better area of Asburty Park.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doctech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old School Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

While on Vacation at the Jersey Shore we ventured out to Jimmy's in Asbury Park.After leaving our car with the Valet the four of us entered Jimmy's.Parking would be a project without Valet I might add.We were steered towards the back of the bar and greeted by a Hostess.Kind of ackward area for a hostess station due to traffic towards dining area and small banquet room.After fielding phone calls we were finally seated .Our waitress greeted us immediately and took our drink order.We enjoyed our cocktails as we read the menu.We opted for two appetizers,stuffed mushrooms which were fair and the calamari which were excellent with their house marinara sauce.The menu was pretty broad gravitating towards the Italian fare.The four of us ordered a variety of Veal dishes which came with a family style house salad.Their House dressing was fantastic and wish they bottled it to go ! We enjoyed our meal with ther Italian bread and a couple of bottles of Chianti.Our waitress and staff were attentive and excellent.Since we were all full from dinner we ordered a couple of cannolis to go.While kind of pricey all portions were of good size and there were no complaints .Our only complaint for the whole evening was the location of the hostess station(should be up front) and the lighting in the dining areas could be dimmed a bit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KINGOWISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Jimmy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing