We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Huge Portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brando's Citi Cucina

Brando's Citi Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
Brando's Citi Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 119 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Huge Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at Brando's. We did not know anything about the restaurant, merely caught a glimpse of it on the way to the train station in Asbury Park. The outdoor tables looked inviting so we went back to investigate.

It was Fathers Day, and the place was packed, but they had room for us without a reservation. We started with a Caesar salad, large enough to split. It was very good, but the dressing was a little heavy on the mayonnaise. My husband had Rigatoni with Vodka sauce, without the pancetta. The restaurant was very accommodating to vegetarian needs. I had Chicken Francaise. The portions were enormous, and left no room for dessert or coffee.

Ou server was very friendly and helpful. The one jarring note, was "The Godfather," being shown on a tv screen over the bar. I understand the connection, but it was a little weird. However, not weird enough to keep us away. I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    57
    21
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First Rate Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Been to Brando's twice recently....once at the bar for Happy Hour food / beverage menu and once in the restaurant. Both experiences were first rate. The HH bar menu has nice choices and they serve some nice wines by the glass on HH. For a "splittable" treat , stray to the regular app menu and try the Meatball Insalata. Two large meatballs surround a small salad....one with Sunday sauce (my preferred) and one GARLIC and oil.
Our dining room experience was also very good.....tasty, ample food and efficient service.
We will certainly return. Try it....you'll like it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pumagrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absoultey Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have been wanting to dine at the restaurant for for quite some time, based on ALL the positive recommendations. I have to say that this place exceeded my expectations. I want to say that I am an authentic Italian girl. So ordering meatballs from others is not something I would do. But based on all the hype of the meatballs I had to give them a try.....and OMG they are out of this world. Everything we ordered was out of this world, truly a fine dining experience from start to finish, from the food to the service. if I could give this place more stars I would!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rsanto s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Start to finish ... Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our meal at Brandos and that was in no small part due to our outstanding server. He was funny, informed, energetic and most importantly went out of his way to make sure we had the best time. A high school reunion of sorts he paced our meal so that we could have the most time together. His food recommendations were spot on too. The food is amazing!!! Fresh and designed with a nice creative twist. Crab, shrimp and avocado over greens - so yummy. Polenta with mushroom ... I'm going back just for this!!! OMGosh this was comfort food that was so delicious, I've never had polenta like it. Dinners were each deliciously fresh and bursting with flavor. Leave room for dessert too - nothing about this meal will disappoint you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
del ray ,fla
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place caters to the diner. Valet parking, entrances in the front and the back and dressing up is optional. The service is definitely a highlight of the evening. They are so attentive and personal plus the food is delicious! We split the gold beet salad (fabulous), and they divided it for us. The bread came with three choices to use. All were a good choice.
The entrees and generous as we noticed people leaving with to go bags. We ordered peasant shrimp (asked for it be be made less spicy), and the Sinatra pasta (asked for no clams). the waiter attentively placed them on the side for me to enjoy. Both were good choices.
Drinks were addressed quickly and water poured freely. A unusual thing was that the waiter noticed us admiring the french ties at the next table. before we knew it there was a small plate left for us to sample. This is a treat for it reminds us that good food and excellent service still are out there!

Off we went w/our to go bag (in a bag printed up w/their name on it) to the friendly valet parkers to end a good night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sk1gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brando's Citi Cucina also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Brando's Citi Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing