We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific food and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DJ's Deli & Restaurant

DJ's Deli & Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 119 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This place has recently expanded their dining room and started serving much better food. It's now a nice bistro-like atmosphere, and the food is all freshly prepared. Its very clean and the service is friendly. We just can't get food this well made for a great price anywhere in Asbury Park, except for here! I recommend the "Sunday pasta"... it's better than grandma's homemade!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VacaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plainfield nj
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch at the shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The spouse promised me a day trip. We hadn't been to the broadwalk in Asbury Park in years and years and years. OK,decades. That was fun. I had looked up places to eat on Trip Adviser and DJ's Deli had great reviews. We walked from the broadwalk and made a wrong turn, but the walk was worth it. Lunch was great. The deli had pumpernickel bread. That was unusual. Our sandwiches choices and the services were really good.

We window shopped our way back to the broadwalk satisfied and full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agnessjmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Walked By & wandered in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

we happened to walk past this place , looking for something different. A couple in the window who were eating waved us in and it turned out to be a really nice casual place. Great comfort food on a surprising varied menu. The service was nice, food was plentiful and good. Great split pea soup, good salad, and the main pasta dish was good. one could have a burger , or a sandwich or a chicken parm dish. the deserts were excellent, don't tell my trainer !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast & lunch in AP. Better food,value and service then Toast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We had our best breakfast yet in AP. A bit off the beaten path, but a great breakfast and great value. Service was excellent too. We ate breakfast in 3 different restaurants in AP and this was the best by far.
We will go back for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigApple720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not sure what happened?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Back in June I had a great experience at this restaurant, but on August 11 had one of the worst breakfast experiences ever. The service was slow, it took 45 minutes for our breakfast to arrive after ordering. Then when it came, the eggs were still runny and the pancakes were more like pancake batter and undercooked, had to send them back. I can assume they were understaffed, maybe the person taking the order was also the one cooking it? On top of it, there was only two other tables being served at the same time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonW732, Owner at DJ's Deli & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I do apologize as we were short staffed and have since hired more staff to accommodate more customers. We have been going through some growing pains and have since ironed them out. We take our customer reviews very seriously. We always want our guests to have the best experience at DJ's. If you wold be so kind to email me, by clicking the email button on our page I would love to invite you back for dinner for two, on us of course to make it up to you.

DJ's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DJ's Deli & Restaurant also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to DJ's Deli & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing