We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yappy Hour!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wonder Bar

The Wonder Bar
Ranked #17 of 119 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yappy Hour!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We ended our Memorial Weekend mini beach trip here - Excellent way to spend Memorial Day with friends and our furry babies! Wasn't sure what to expect and if it would be crazy; we were pleasantly surprised. They had a "bouncer" at the gate and good amount of staff working the outside Yappy hour. They had good beer specials. Place was clean; they had pooper scoopers for you to use to clean after your dog. They also mini/kid pools that they could run into cool themselves off. They had a good set of reasonable rules before entering. If there were any trouble with the dogs, they just ask the owners to politely leave. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing place. We will definitely be coming back! We are so happy that this place and Yappy hour exists - wish there were more dog lovers like this owner, Thank you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mvanessa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perkase, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yappy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Took our dog here for yappy hour on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. It was packed. Doggie had a blast walking around and meeting all the dogs & people. Even peed on the back of some lady's chair. She didn't care lol. We didn't have anything to eat, just enjoyed a couple of Coronas while watching all the doggie action. Pretty funny! Highly recommend Yappy hour even if you don't have dog. Just fun to see!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jl8ton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Yappy hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We love the yappy hour (doggie play day) that the wonder bar hosts on weekends. Annie, my dog, does not go to dog parks, and last summer I was very nervous about her going to theirs. However, Kevin and the rest of the staff made us feel comfortable and welcomed and assured us that no aggressive dogs would be in the play area or they would leave. After three visits, we have never once had a problem. The "doggie" beach is adorable, and the drink specials for the "parents" of the dogs are awesome. All of the people and their pets are super friendly, you will see people from all walks of life hanging out here. It is always a good day at this place, and our only regret is that we live an hour and a half away and our visits are limited.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tds1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everyday Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Fun day Sunday for myself and friends. Don't let my 3 of 5 rating set a tone to this read. Arbitrarily speaking It's a full count. Awesome attentiveness of the folks serving. Great Sunday Jam Band delving deep in delivering in the likeness of such Greats, Like The Allmans, Jimi Hendrix, I thought Pig Pen was belting out Lovelight...Great scene. Cool Folks All Around. I guess really what keeps me from giving it a full 5 really only has to do with me. It was a cold ride back along the Ocean up to Union County. I definitely found someplace that I would come back to. Before I forget to mention. I enjoyed the Fried Pickles. Thanks Wonderbar. I also love your dedication our furry friends, "Yappy Hour." Looking forward to the next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1020EWR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best veggie burger I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had family visiting, and they wanted a simple lunch. We went to the Wonder Bar. I ordered a veggie burger (thinking it wouldn't be that great). It was the best veggie burger I've ever had (I've eaten many veggie burgers). The Wonder Bar also supports the Steelers, so if your a Steelers fan, you should go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wonder Bar also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Wonder Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing