We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best deal in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanic Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best deal in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at the Oceanic over Memorial Day weekend and will definitely be back. The location is perfect - just a block from the beach - and the rooms and clean and quiet. Who can beat the price?! $70/night! If you are planning on spending a lot of time in your room, this is not the place for you. But if you want to walk to the beach, walk to the boardwalk, and have a clean place to sleep, I recommend the Oceanic.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneyBaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    11
    4
    12
See reviews for
4
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed there 3 nights, great loction right across from the beach and board walk begining. Staff was very friendly and very helpful with directions and were to be and not be. It was only 75 a night wich was way cheeper than hotels around. And they have security there over night which made us (two woman) feel safe. By no means is this a hilton but was def clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slball34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Well, when I first went onto this site and saw the reviews, I was skeptical; however, $70 for a night, one block from the beach couldn't be that awful, right?

If you are looking for a 4-star hotel, this is not the place for you; however, if you are looking for clean sheets and towels and a place to lay your head, the Oceanic Inn is a great place. The rooms are old and drab; but who really cares!!! The manager is a sweet man and even called me when I had left my phone charger in the room. How many places do that?!!!!

I will definately stay there again when I visit Asbury Park.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finkster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed for This years Pride in As bury Park for 4 night. Who would wanna pay $360 a night at Berkeley hotel and waste $ 690 or more and they don't afford microwaves or fridge....The Staff was so friendly and nice, and also you get free internet. There were no Bed bugs and or other stuff that are bad reviews do not listen to the bad review's.... My only concern is they rooms have 2 beds and you have to pay more money per person. What is the point on having 2 beds if most hotels dont charge for the 2 people when there is 4 max in the room. I think they should wave that The television never worked, We wasn't in the room most of the time but my experience was good we will be back soon. be foreI for get you can't compare there price trust us when we say it.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dami732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence Harbor, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I was pleasantly surprised to find very nice and helpful people that work there. Your so close to the beach and its soo reasonable. Clean, freindly, and reasonably priced, how can you possibly go wrong?

Room Tip: room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karentalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Awsome hotel if your going to a concert in asbury park. everything is in walking distance. There were no bed bugs when we were there, thats a bunch of crap!! if you are going down to asbury park with your wife for a get away i would go else where. You cant beat the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjircal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Asbury Park hotels

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Honestly...who wants to spend $200 a night for a weekend getaway or perhaps a three day holiday weekend? My husband and I sure don't, especially when you're not going to be spending much time in your room anyway. We went to check out Asbury Park on the recommendation of a friend...the revitalization of the boardwalk and all. We took a drive down without a reservation anywhere (which we often do) and decided to stay the night and enjoy the beach and The Stone Pony. We had no intention of staying at The Berkley or The Tides...just too expensive. So we came across The Oceanic Inn. At first site, it's not the most eye-pleasing place, but it has free parking and it's only a block from the boardwalk. The location is great! The owner/manager was very nice and helpful. Since we had never been to Asbury Park before, he told us where everything was, The Stone Pony (Bruce Springteen's place), great restaurants, etc...Ok...so it's not The Ritz, the rooms are very basic, but...it was clean, the beds were comfortable, it had a microwave , a fridge and cable . You don't need much more when you're spending most of your time on the beach. AND...it was only $65 a night. I believe it was a little off season, but then we went again over a holiday and it was only $75. You just can't beat that! If you're really picky or not easily satisfied, this is not the place for you. But, if your just looking for a place to rest your weary head...this is it. I highly recommend it! We're going back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvactress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Asbury Park
Super 8 Asbury Park
#6 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Inn

Property: Oceanic Inn
Address: 201 6th Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5597
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Oceanic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing