We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring Boards, Boring Town”

Asbury Park Boardwalk
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boring Boards, Boring Town”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This boardwalk has minimal attractions and high priced commodities, there isn't much to do and everything closes up early. This boardwalk doesn't hold a candle to Southern NJ locations. It has some rich history to it with previously torn down attractions from when e town was in it's prime. Now AsburyParks park is ghetto and crime ridden and the service reflects it. For the most part the boardwalk looks like a ghost town. Some damage can be attributed to e recent hurricane, but most are remains of the casino and whAt was once the Jersey Shores premiere location. I'd say skip it. A few good places to grab food and some eerie history but that's it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    281
    99
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Boardwak That Has Seen Better Days”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a very wide boardwalk along a beautiful wide sand beach. One can not see any signs of destruction on the boardwalk itself from Hurricane Sandy.

However, if one looks at pictures of the Asbury Park Boardwalk from years ago, it pales greatly in comparison to what it once was with all the shops and amusements that once were there.

It seems that Asbury Park is having a revival and hopefully that will also be reflected in a revival on the boardwalk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The dealbreakers should be known before you go”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Asbury Park's Boardwalk features a beautiful beach and an extremely clean and well maintained boardwalk that features some interesting attractions, but its not without its faults.

To start with the pros, the boardwalk features some of the most unique and interesting food vendors I've seen. Crepes, Hoagitos, and interesting Ice Cream flavors to name a few, all of which were made fresh and were a delight to eat, so long as you don't mind the ridiculous but unavoidable prices. Unfortunately there are actually only a few vendors totaling the length of the beach, so while the selection may be unique, its ironically limited. Additionally, there are (what I perceive to be) rare public showers available as well.

Parking: We parked in spot whose number was almost completely rubbed out. Guessing the number, we bought a parking pass and placed it in the car despite the instructions telling you not to, as we were concerned that we would be accused of not paying for our spot. Returning after 3 hours we found out that we could not add more hours to our ticket, which came as a disappointment as clearly it was a sign that the township hopes that we threw enough money away that we won't be willing to park further away, and will instead leave so the next moneybag comes in. To conclude, while I'm not recommending this to anyone, you could literally pay nothing if you choose a spot with a rubbed out number, as they have no way to enforce it.

The biggest fault is a dealbreaker to some when it comes to beaches: the infamous beach and parking passes. Not that a $5 price tag to use a beach for an entire day is bad, but is bizarre contradiction between paying for a beach and not being able to use most of it that gets me. You'll find yourself constantly harassed by lifeguards who don't like you wading knee deep in waters that they have to turn their a few degrees heads to see.

In addition to this, people complain of beach badge checkers constantly harassing them on the beach, and while I did not encounter this, I watched COUNTLESS times as people of all ages went right under the fence to avoid paying, and never get checked once. Starting to notice a trend here?

Asbury Park unfortunately is an attraction that robs the do-gooders who follows the rules and doesn't attempt to punish those who don't, and unless they start improving the area using the money they make, they either should make the beach free or root out the weeds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk the Boardwalk, But Expensive Meter Parking.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Asbury Parks Boardwalk is back after the storm. There is miniature golf and a sprinkler park for the kiddies ( For a Fee of course). The Beach is great and there are a lot of food consessions and restaurants. I particularly like the Silverball Pinball Museum it has to be what I consider the best atraction on the boardwalk. For the BEST ice cream go to Day's on the boardwalk which is a branch of Day's in in Ocean Grove. My biggest dislike in Asbury Park is the meter parking which is everywhere and the meters are checked till midnight 7 days a week. And you will definitely get a ticket if your meter runs out. The meter patrol is paranoid and persistent, about giving the tourists tickets to fatten up the budget. So make sure you pay the meter or you will join the ranks of the TICKETED OF ASBURY PARK.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we had such a wonderful time strolling down the boardwalk, having snacks and cocktails, people watching, laying on the beach and playing in the ocean. i felt like i had been there before because it was just like Bruce Springsteen sang about it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank iheartfoodandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asbury Park Boardwalk also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Asbury Park Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing