We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Tavern Choice”
Review of Brickwall Tavern

Brickwall Tavern
Ranked #7 of 122 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Solid Tavern Choice”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Deviled eggs, pulled pork and pork roll minis all great choices. Port wine burger is a unique offering, but comes without any condiments. So ask for tomato and lettuce in advance if you don't want wait for it later when you are wondering why your burger is so dry.

Great tavern atmosphere. Front room louder than back room. Big comfey booths available. Three bars one is a raw bar.

Go and have fun.

Helpful?
Thank Rahdim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    130
    32
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nenagh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great American Bar/Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After eating in many places on our visit to New York Atlantic City and New Jersey...we were taken here by relatives who highly recommended this place and we could see why..
Ambience was warm and friendly with full tables but it did not feel cramped or was the service slow.
There is a great beer/lager menu which they pride themselves on..The food menu is excellent with a lot of variety...I had the lumpwood crab cakes with steamed spinach and brussel sprouts and cubed potato's with a nice dip....The portion size was excellent...not a massive feast which puts me off !
Service was excellent and the bill was very reasonable.
Would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Greetings and good eating from Asbury Park!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The last time I ate in Asbury Park was probably on the boardwalk in 1972. How good to see life has returned to Asbury, and the Brickwall tavern was a great place to have a casual and tasty tavern meal. The strip steak was just right,and the range of beers, which seems to be everywhere in the USA, was excellent. The main meals come with two sides and I enjoyed the Brussels sprouts and the Idaho potatoes. Good value, very good service and for a Monday night the place was pretty busy. Definitely go there, though AP is full of very enticing places, a far cry from pizzerias and frozen custard on the boardwalk!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zvi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“3 Cheers for Craft Beer!!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

While I appreciated the southern themed menu and was pretty happy with the meals we had, I was particularly happy about the craft beer selection and the knowledge and enthusiasm of the staff about their well- chosen draught list. I have high standards when it comes to beer as a home brewer and craft beer seller and found their selection to be the best I had seen in New Jersey since I moved here. Our waitress was studying to become cicerone certified and was able to suggest and communicate the list to us very well. The interior and bar area of the restaurant were pleasantly rustic, and the food menu, while not spectacular, hit the spot. We ate here twice during our visit to Asbury Park.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerardiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Eats on the Jersey Shore”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We happened upon this place about 3 in the afternoon one weekday afternoon after doing a couple of hikes. While nearby restaurants were open but vacant, the Brickwall had lots of patrons, which we took as a good sign. It proved to be just that. I had a blt sandwich with avocado and Granny Smith apple slices that might sound a little strange, but was very tasty. My wife enjoyed her sandwich with sweet potato fries. And we each had an IPA that complimented the food. They have a nice selection of beers and ales, and the ambiance is all sports bar. It's a good place to come in from the weather and refuel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brickwall Tavern also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Brickwall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing