We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was very friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I started here for a quick overnight without the kids, looking for some beach reading time. It is obvious the hotel has put a lot of work into renovating. The lobby and surrounding areas are very pretty. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room itself was a corner unit facing the ocean so it was very large and clean with a beautiful view. If you go, try to request a room like this. All in all though, it just felt a like it was missing the mark somehow. We stayed on a Monday night and after sleeping in a little, we realized that he hotel doesn't serve breakfast during the week and it is at the very end of the boardwalk so nowhere really near served breakfast. They served coffee in the lobby but were taking it away at 11:00 so after we realized we weren't going to get breakfast anywhere we were going to settle for just coffee by the pool but we couldn't even get that. Then we thought we would get a granola bar or something to tie us over until we walked somewhere for lunch but the gift shop that sold those was closed even though the sign said they should have been open at that hour. No drinks were being served at the pool and we were told that nowhere near there would deliver. Anyway, it was slightly inconvenient, and it felt strange being that this was the Jersey Shore in the middle of July!

Room Tip: As I said in the review, book a corner unit facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello "Kim K"! Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, friendliness of the staff, rooms and lobby. Our restaurant/bar is open only friday to sunday. I apologized that this inconvenienced you. We look forward to seeing you at The Berkeley soon! Yours sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,607)
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,929 - 1,935 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Generally speaking, while their are many charming elements, the hotel needs a minor facelift. The door to our room was very scratched and dented from the outside- not a great way to enter the room. Two lamps did not work (maintainence was on it right away) and neither did the blow dryer- I didn't know that until I picked it up to use it the morning of my departure. The towels by the pool were clean but fairly worn. From the pool, boarded up windows, major cracks in the pool surround and building facade are in clear view. Very familiar with Asbury Park and it's own issues of development/redevelopment (but a fan), The Berkley seemed, in minor but very visible ways, in sync with the towns cracks and blemishes which seemed a bit sad to me. Major Issue; I wanted to use a safety deposit box. I was brought into a room of disarray to some very "if-y" looking boxes that one of the staff inserted a key into only to find another guests belongings in it... not good. Then I was offered the free standing safe which the staff had keys and had many other things in it. Also, since I was staying overnight on a Monday, it would have been nice for the front desk to suggest free street parking as an alternative to $20 parking lot which in the rain was a mess. I am not a complainer- just being honest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello "Ric R" ! Thank you for your thoughful review following your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your over all experience was a good one and found our hotel charming as it is in sync with unique small city of Asbury Park. I will share your renovation comments and observation with ownership. As far as safety deposit boxes, we have safety deposit boxes at the front office with only one key and after placing your valuable, key is only given to the guest-no one else.. I apologize if you weren't informed about it upon arrival. I would appreciate if you could reach to me directly so that i can learn more about the concerns to address. Yours sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Competent valet and front desk staff, but filthy common areas and room (including broken glass on flatscreen TV and busted doorlock) made this guest and family members a bit nervous. Staff attempted to rebound (Maintenance in particular) but a salty housekeeper put an exclamation point on our visit...(won't be back!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello "Charles P" Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are sorry that the TV in your room was partially damaged. I am aware of the fact that our staff attended to the concerns. We strive to enhance guest experience everyday, in this case we couldn't give you the best guest experience as we are proud to do with each guest. Our door locks and it is system has newly been renovated. We hope that you would change your mind and visit us again. Respectfully, Cem Erenler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I have never reviewed a place on trip advisor, but find it necessary for this hotel.

There was a concert at Stone Pony, and we were on the front side of the hotel. Make sure you request the backside if you want any rest. This is not the hotels fault, but it is shaped like a U and literally captures the noise. We thought we were at the concert. The hotel let us move rooms to the backside.

My wife and baby stayed here 1 night. The biggest problem is that the walls and doors are paper thin. He doors literally have large space between the frame and sound pours in. We were up every hour. When I say paper thin, I mean paper thin. We at one point took the soon cushions and stacked them in front of the door to muffle the sound. We also happen to be near the loudest ice machine in the world.

Bed are worn out. They sink in the middle. I felt like I was run over by a truck in the morning.

Overall, if you plan to get a good nights rest, spend more money to go elsewhere.

It is not worth the price of 185

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arenadac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello "Arenadac"! Thank you for sharing your review first time on TripAdvisor following your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the sound of the music from world famous Stone Pony. Music is very important part of the Asbury Park culture. There are festivals, carnivals, famous bands, singers and fans come to Asbury Park every summer and performs at one of the venues as well as outside parks. I am sorry that these activities inconvenienced you. We tried to reduce the sound by moving you to another room. Respectfully, Cem Erenler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you want to be treated properly, DO NOT stay here! Despite the manager at the front desk and the bell boy, most staff were nasty and have no business working in customer service!! The restaurant waitress and manager were especially horrible at their jobs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello "Jessica S"! Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. Even though you were happy with some of our staff but you weren't with our restaurant team. We are confident that we have well trained, caring, professional friendly staff at The Berkeley, however it seems, in your experience we couldn't meet our standards at our restaurant. I hope that you can reach out to me directly so that we can learn from your experience to address and make it better. Yours sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good place for location to boardwalk and beach. Very clean and modern feel. Rooms very comfortable. B+ for what you get based on what you pay. I stayed for just a personal getaway. Ocean view room was pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ms_J_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello "Ms_J_NJ"! Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, beach, boardwalk, look of the hotel. We are also glad to hear that you found our rooms very clean. We look forward to seeing you soon at The Berkeley! Yours sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Berkeley for 1 night on our way back to New York after a month's stay on the East Coast. I don't have a favourable review for this hotel. Staff upon checkin weren't friendly (although valet staff were friendly and more than helpful - maybe they should be checkin staff). For the money we paid for a beach view, rooms were average, not really clean and the bed had sand in it (we didn't even go to the beach). I had to get clean sheets and make myself. Hotel foyer has had a makeover, however pool area and outside areas are in desperate need of a renovation. I paid for internet in the business area and it was so slow that I didn't even get done what I needed to (in my opinion a money grab). For the money you pay for the room the least they can do is throw in free wifi. Would I recommend or stay here again, definately not. I would try another hotel in the area or another beach area. Asbury Park itself is an inviting area (although it does cost $5 per adult to go to the beach??? - after 5pm its free) We don't pay for our beaches at home which is why we didn't go.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CassF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello "CassF1"! Thank you for sharing your review of The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel following your stay with us. Your suggestions are well taken and will be conveyed to upper management. We do some improvements and there might be plans for the larger projects. Our guests feedback, suggestions are important to us. Thank you, Cem Erenler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.1 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
314 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
228 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
221 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range: £95 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the Jersey Shore, just a few steps from the famous Asbury Park boardwalk, the Atlantic Ocean provides gorgeous panoramic views and the ultimate setting for your relaxing getaway. The Berkeley’s coveted beachfront location has convenient proximity to an array of local hotspots, the most notable is The Stone Pony. Our oceanfront hotel is only an hour away from Philadelphia and New York City, making it easily accessible. Head to the Tiki Bar and enjoy a cocktail poolside under the private cabanas for the ultimate relaxation experience. Or you can soak up the sun on the beach and then head across the street to the legendary Stone Pony. If you are one of lucky ones you may catch a surprise appearance by “The Boss”, Bruce Springsteen. The nightlife is diverse and when you stroll along the boardwalk, you will discover great beaches, great shopping, and delicious dining options. The boutique NJ hotel and the historic seaside community is the ideal venue for your wedding featuring magnificent ballrooms and an expansive rooftop perfect for your ceremony or a sunset cocktail party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing