We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Funky older hotel, rumored to have been insane asylum. Clean and friendly if slow service.
Didn't eat in restaurant or use fitness center so can't comment on these. Though I heard rumblings about breakfast from others in elevator.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timosabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Hello Timosabe!

Thank you for your sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to return to the Berkeley!!

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    502
    469
    384
    379
See reviews for
618
743
94
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendham
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Berkeley is one of those old seaside gems that usually wound up torn down and lost forever. It has been restored into a very chic, stylish, classic modern hotel. Beautiful spot half a block from the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Hello "Edward D"!

Thank you for your sharing your comments on TripAdvisor!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

6 week extended stay for my mother- Agnes- hotel manager was very attentive
to all her needs - as well provided a safe/clean enviorment. it was a pleasure and will booking again soon foe extended stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Hello "Sarah S",

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We appeciate your feedback and noticing our Front Office Manager Agnes.

Look forward to your return soon.

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Two rooms for two days $1,200 + and they chage me $10 for internet that barely works! The water in the hotel goes off intermitently during shower and at sink...they all pretend like they know nothing about it.

$20 for parking a night............really. everyone has a car add it to the room, dont charge whatever...........but dont piss me off by charging me $20 a night!

The restaurant couldnt get a person in there if they paid them, it sits empty and they wonder why, $16.00 for an egg sanwich to go. They deserve to go under, there are too many establishments that work hard to succeed, this one just opens it doors and turns the lights on, nothing more!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 124customer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hello "124customer N"! Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. I apologize for not able to meet your pricing expectations. There is a fee for wifi and parking as it is extremely difficult to have parking in highly desired city of Asbury Park, e'specially in summer months. Our hot breakfast buffet with eggs/omelet any style is $16.95 not just egg sandwich. I am sorry for misunderstanding. Yours sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Asbury Park hotels

Middletown
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It's a nice hotel with a great location. Needs some upgrades, but for the price and it's proximity to the beach- you can't beat it. Staff was great and friendly. Had a blast with friends. I would recommend it.



Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicolle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Hello "Nicole L"!

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is a great benefit to be so close to the local beaches.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great location, very clean, upscale but not stuffy. Be prepared to pay extra for parking and WiFi. I loved the bathroom, and the decor was pleasant. Not noisy. Soda machines only took coins, had to scrounge for change, annoying but not a big deal but the machines should be replace with updated one's.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2014
Hello "Brian W"!

Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor. We appeciate your feedback and sharing your comments with us. I will share your comment on the soda machines with our vendors to see what can be done.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a terrific one night stay with grandchildren. Fabulous location. Directly on boardwalk, steps to Asbury Park beach, fine dining. Rooms are modern, beautifully decorated. For best rates, book through TRAVEL ZOO. Lowest rates of anyone. They offer automatic upgrades to oceanfront rooms, free parking, worth $20 and free wifi, worth $10. We did not use any hotel services. The parking staff was exceptionally accommodating.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms offer a gorgeous view. They are an automatic upgrade with Travelzoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynLivingstonNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear MarilynLivingstonNJ,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that everything was great during your stay and that you and your grandchildren had a wonderful time. We strive to give the absolute best service and are glad to hear that you received exactly that. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
10.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1401 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing