We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,121)
Filter reviews
3,121 results
Traveller rating
720
710
647
510
534
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
710
647
510
534
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 3,121 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Have seldom, if ever, had food catered as splendidly as it was at the wedding celebration at the Berkeley. The staff were all gracious. An air of professionalism permeated the grounds. There is a curiously sentimental feeling of those who came before us more than a hundred years ago

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drisc0ll53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that your experience was so positive, and our staff has been taking care of you! We are so happy that you were pleased with the food and service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Worst hotel experience I’ve ever had! We were told check in was from 3pm. Well we finally got into our room at 7pm! We had been traveling for 24 hours and just wanted to rest in our room. Staff were ridiculously rude and no apology was offered; they just said that a wedding party had checked out late so we just had to wait. They didn’t even offer a complimentary drink while we waited after our incredibly long journey. When we finally got to our room it smelled of mound and the closets were broken plus some dodgy looking electrics hanging out of the wall. When I finally got into bed the sheets were damp. We were woken around midnight to someone entering our room with a key as they had double booked our room! Thankfully we had the foresight to double lock our room from the inside or it would have been a nasty shock for our children. There was a loud group in the room next to us with a connecting door with people smoking drugs into the early hours and there were a group of men shouting and physically fighting outside our room which was very scary for our children and we had to call security. The next morning, we went to reception to check out (we’d orinigally intended to stay 4 days but one night was enough) as we felt it was not a safe environment for our children. Again, no apology just a large amount of attitude and shoulder shrugging. We were told we wouldn’t be charged for the remaining nights we had booked but of course they did charge my card. It took months to get our money back and a lot of hassle. Do not waste your precious time and money on this dump who clearly do not care one iota about customers and definitely not about repeat business!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank nicolalowe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Our hotel is in the process of some renovations to this historic century old landmark hotel. We are sorry that you had this experience, our guests safety is our top priority. You mention it took months for your money to be refunded, how long ago was this occurrence? It is never our intention for our guests to leave dissatisfied. We hope your experience does not deter you from giving our hotel another chance in the future, as we work on improving through renovation and staff training. Asbury Park is a bustling town with amazing entertainment. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The only reason to stay here is to beat the prices of the surrounding upper scale hotels. When we arrived we stowed valuables in the safe only to find it did not work. We should have called to complain but we didn't and left my wife's pocketbook in there w/ credit cards 7 some sensitive info while we left for 3 hours for a concert across the street. We returned to find a leak from the room above in our bathroom. We did report this but nothing could be done. The next day we left our room for a walk and left a $10 tip since we were getting ready to leave anyway. We returned the tip was gone which caused to question whether or not someone was in our room the night before. We straightened it all out with the people at the front desk who were adequate - not overly competent or friendly but not rude nor incompetent. The Desk Supervisor said the manager would call me on my cell that day but no one ever called.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank bill0560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Our hotel is in the process of some renovations to this historic century old landmark hotel. We are sorry that your experience was not up to par, It is never our intention for our guests to leave dissatisfied. We hope your experience does not deter you from giving our hotel another chance in the future, Asbury Park is a bustling town with amazing entertainment. Thank you for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Best location in Asbury Park...close to many activities...staff couldn't be nicer...room was big and very clean, with comfortable beds...so close to the beach and boardwalk! Pool was big and heated and fitness room was equipped with several different machines that anyone could use. Bartender was personable and informative. Restaurant looked good, but did not have a chance to try. A great weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tdinti770473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that your experience was so positive, and our staff has been taking care of you! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay and Jose the Bellhop was always there to greet you with a big smile and offer to help. Monica is learning well as Jose is a good teacher. Molly is doing wonderful things with the Chophouse buffet! Thanks.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank katherinemvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal B, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Hello Katherine,
Thank you for your review and the staff recognition! Our staff works hard to ensure every guest is satisfied with their stay. We hope to see you again in the near future and ensure another 5 star experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews