We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the island”
Review of Deep Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deep Blue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a great stay here. The rooms are great, big and well appointed. Nice balconies overlooking the luscious blue sea. We made use of some of the amenities and enjoyed the infinity pool. The food was great for dinner and breakfast was also good. Service is a little sleepy as is the nature of the island.

Be aware that the hotel has a no tolerance attitude should you be late. Due to rescheduled flights, we arrived a day late, but were still charged for the missed night. A little disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBlueBlue, Owner at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Mr Young,

Thank you very much for the review, we are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay.

In the travel industry, it is normally either the airline or one's travel insurance company who would foot the bill that might result due to any missed connections, not the hotel. We do encourage our clients to obtain a travel insurance to cover them for such travel disruptions (both via our website and also via email to clients who reserve directly with us). When guests experience travel itinerary disruptions, we (indeed most hotels) are unable to offer refunds for the unused nights. Sorry if you were disappointed by this.

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The first thing to be highlighted is how beautiful Old Providence is. The caribbean sea shows off its amazing colors at this small island - the turn around the island takes no more than 2 hours to be done, including photo strategic stops. Old Providence is so amazing that makes of San Andres only a convenient stop to get there. Deep Blue is prepared to give you maximum comfortable in a place where resources are still limited and find great hotels is not an easy task. Rooms are very comfortable and provided with Loccitane amenities. The restaurant serves certainly some of the most delicious dishes you can find in the island (try the small restaurant Cafe Studio as well) and the staff is always prepared to make of your stay a real pleasure. Humberto, a friendly guy who does almost everything in the hotel can help you on tours, car rentals and whatever you want to enjoy this colombian jewel, still undiscovered by massive tourism (and i really pray for stay like that).

Room Tip: The ocean-front rooms really worth. The view of Crab Key is something unforgettable. If you are happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guilherme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The perfect paradise island-type getaway. Set in the footsteps of a hill ending in the sea, the hotel is very exclusive.

When we got to the hotel we were greeted with a delicious coconut lemonade and discovered we got an upgrade to one of the rooms with a small whirlpool on the balcony. By the way, I would definitely recommend paying the extra and booking one of these rooms. Be advised, however, that you will have to climb up 100 steps of stairs if you choose to stay in the rooms with the best views.

The room itself is very spacious, with a comfortable bed, double shower (great for couples), and balcony with a whirlpool overlooking the sea. L'Occitane amenities were available on arrival. The view is breathtaking to say the least. Crab cay is right in front of the hotel, with the famous 7-color sea surrounding it.

The restaurant is set by the sea, just across the small road. You can either sit inside or on the deck over the water. Food was amazing, not very cheap, but surely international class. We ate there almost every day, and everything was excellent.

Kayaks and snorkeling equipment are included in your stay. You can always get a boat to go to crab cay, but kayaking takes 15-20 minutes and is very fun. Plus, you can get there earlier than the other tourists and have the island all to yourself.

The hotel staff is very friendly and will help you organize eventual tours or rent scooters/golf cart. We were there during Providencia carnival, and there were no vehicles available. The owners were kind enough to lend us the hotel golf car for 3 hours, so we could go around the island.

Definetely would recommend and come back.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms with the pool in the balcony. The highest rooms have the best views, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went for our honeymoon and had a great time! Our room was amazing with gorgeous views. There was air conditioning, a balcony, we had essentially a private lounge area by our room, a jacuzzi looking out to the water. The service was excellent, everyone was responsive and welcoming. The hotel is in a good location, it is close to the main town. We would recommend renting a motorbike to get around, we found that very helpful to have more freedom. The food seemed like it did not completely embrace the environment and culture you were in. We had a great dinner for our tasting dinner, but found we preferred the local food for most of the rest of our meals, both in price and taste. BE AWARE OF BETITO, he hangs out at the hotel and uses their dock. He totally took advantage of us and charged us a lot more for the same trip the hotel offers and he gave us much less than the hotel trip. When we argued with him, he made up a lot of excuses and we could not do much as he had told us the total price once we were on the boat headed out. Everything other than Betito was absolutely amazing. They do have internet in the main office, for us that was great because we were able to completely detach, but if we needed to do something we could go to the office.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is very well located write on the water with fantastic views. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was great, we especially loved the ceviche and the canastas del frutos el mar! The rooms were very comfortable . I would say it is a little expensive for what you would normally get for this price, but this is the only more luxurious hotel on the island. I recommend to stay here if you are going to Providencia an you have a little more money to spend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is the best hotel on the island, also like the most expensive ;) Quality of the service is very good, beautiful rooms, tasty food. What was the best - its view from the room! All was amazing, but when I asked twice help me with birthday's cake for my boyfriend - it was ignored.
But if you looking for the best on the island - is Deep Blue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidelnikova_Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Epic view, the warmest staff, elegant room, amazing food... basically our dream come true. The amazing photos on their website are exactly what you get... pure paradise. We got the most elegantly decorated room in the best hotel on the island for 9 days of serenity in the Honeymoon Suite, which is paired with another Honeymoon Suite and these two rooms make up the highest house in this hotel... epic view but not totally isolated enough for a couple on a honeymoon... for that try the room with the whirlpool bathtub one level down, which we did... still prefer the Honeymoon Suite.

Hotel Deep Blue is on Isla de Providencia which is so laid back it's easily worth the hop from San Andras which is a big commercial spin and a lot rougher. As a rule all over the island, make sure you specify the price is in pesos or US dollars, easy to mix up and end up paying more.

Fortunately, Deep Blue faces the trade winds from the east which cooled us down day and night, so we didn't use the airconditioning to sleep due to the steady ocean breezes all night. The other side of the island is 15 minutes away by scooter and has little wind where the other hotels are... some on white sand beaches... so great for lunch and a swim... but too hot for us.

The long beach near Rolando's restaurant is wild and empty, white sand, palm trees, no hotel, and nobody around except two park rangers and the restaurant staff. But it's a rougher scene after sundown... local party place... not for us.

There's this amazing bonus we didn't expect... Bedido the Waterman is a a local islander who comes by in a 25 foot ski boat with a 200HP Yamaha and he knows the best places to snorkel inside and outside the huge reef that surrounds the island... he's a great underwater guide. This passionate man of the ocean made our days so rich with all the unique things he showed us and helped us do.

The staff are so warm and caring, they made our stay so pleasant. Unfortunately we watched a couple of rich Columbian tourists repeatedly treat these kind people with such disrespect... blind arrogance meets kind integrity. We tip the staff directly in cash, always, wherever we travel because so often the hotel takes their tips if they're put on a credit card slip. The staff here are worth so much more than the going rate on the island... $30 a Day... we hope they make more than that, but doubt it, so tip well, they're worth it and groceries on the island are more expensive than at home... shipped in 300 miles.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the rooms get, plus you get a workout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providencia Island hotels
3.2 mi away
Cabanas Agua Dulce
Cabanas Agua Dulce
#5 of 8 in Providencia Island
119 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
#3 of 8 in Providencia Island
113 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Caribe Providencia
Sol Caribe Providencia
#7 of 8 in Providencia Island
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Cabanas El Recreo
Cabanas El Recreo
#6 of 8 in Providencia Island
67 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Enilda
Hotel Posada Enilda
#1 of 2 in Aguamansa
130 reviews
3.7 mi away
South West Bay Cabanas
South West Bay Cabanas
#4 of 26 in Providencia Island
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Blue

Address: Bahia Maracaibo, Providencia Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > Providencia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Providencia Island
Price Range: £155 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deep Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique luxury hotel found on the edge of the McBean Lagoon National Park on Providencia Island in Colombia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Deep Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing