We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel. The best beds I have ever slept it. Spotty WIFI.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movich Las Lomas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rionegro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Words cannot describe how wonderful this place is. I booked my 8 day vacation to Medellin and after 3 days could no longer breathe the foul Medellin air which has become so contaminated that one needs to bring oxygen along in order to breathe. All of Medellin is sufferring from the growth of this once know city of eternal spring, which is now the city mind boggling pollution.
I did some investigating and was told that the hotel Movich located adjacent to the International Airport located about 45 minutes out of town in lovely Rionegro. This hotel has it all it is fabulous. Its a great resort with Swimming pool, spa, huge room and comfortable beds. Its hard to believe the airport is 2 minutes away. Dont let that scare you off. The plane noise is negligable.
The only problem I had was with the Wifi which coverage is sportty throughtout the hotel. Great coverage by the pool, not so great coverage in my room. This was a great concern for me as I depend on the Internet to communicate with family while overseas. This is a matter that the management needs to rectify. Speedtests came up with less than 1mbps most of the time. Unacceptable in this day and age. Aside from this issue this place is Ammmmazing.
PS This is important the air quality is crystal clean and pure, without any pollution. This is the way Medellin used to be 35 years ago before it exploded into what it is today.
Rionegro is up at 7000 feet. Consult your doctor before visiting this high altitude hotel.. The air is thin up at this altitude. I had a little problem with breathing, but in all fairness I am overweight and do have a mild case of Asthmam however high altitude sickness is a common ailment and should be researched and understood in order to prevent getting sick.
A taxi ride to Downtown Medellin is about $30.00. There are cooperative minvans and busses for a fraction of the price, however the bus does let you off in old downtown Medellin at the Nutibara hotel. Hold on to your wallet in that part of town. Poblado is the area of Medellin that is the most upscale and safe. There is a stark contrast between old Medellin and the Poblado area. Be forwarned. Don;t get me wrong I love Old Medellin but one needs to be brave and fearless to roam around there without a guide or a person who knows the area.

Room Tip: If WIFI is an issue check your connection before unpacking. You might want to switch your room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronandlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Las Lomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for leaving you comment about our Movich Hotel, we are working hard to improve everyday and you comments helps us achieve better services.

Regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed at the Los Lomas hotel the night of the 10th of April 2012.
I booked it because it was only one minute by shuttle bus to the airport and I had a very early morning flight that required I be at the airport 3 hours ahead of flight time.

I was very pleased with my clean room and elegant bathroom.
The windows even look over wonderful grounds that are graced with peacocks roaming freely....even an all white peacock.

I ordered a meal to my room as I had to retire quite early to get up at 4:00 a.m.
It was very good and too much for me to finish.
All in all it was a great place to stay and for $146.00 U.S. well worth saving the time and money taking an unreliable taxi from 30 minutes away.
It made my journey home a much easier start.

For anyone considering travel to Colombia but worried about your personal safety I would say do not worry as long as you are not near the border Countries to Colombia.
I was perfectly safe in the outskirts of Medellin and enjoyed a month of experiencing wonderfully kind people and gorgeous scenery.
I will go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Las Lomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all the comments of our guests and use them to improve our services. Hope to have you back soon and offer you a great experience.
Regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Family of 5 stayed for one night in standard room. Rooms are smaller but clean and modern. Soft. Beds with nice sheets and pillows. Staff was extremely helpful. Free shuttle to and from airport.
This hotel is only minutes from terminal, but an hour from Medellin. Pool area is nice.
The night we stayed they were hosting a wedding, so we were fortunate to be on opposite side of building as the band was in open air pool area and it was extremely loud on that side of the building. if you need a night close to airport, you cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raleigh198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Las Lomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for leaving you comment about our Movich Hotel, we are working hard to improve everyday and you comments helps us achieve better services.

Regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A 4-night stay here recently was my first time at this hotel which is literally a two minute drive from the airport. Once you arrive you will not notice that you are near the airport. The hotel is clean, and modern with adequately sized rooms - nothing fancy but very comfortable. The bathrooms are a bit small but have a terrific glass and sandstone shower enclosure. This is both a resort and a business hotel so there are all types of activities going on all day in the conference rooms and around the fabulous pool. The restaurant is mostly al fresco, overlooking the pool, and has an adequate menu although the service can be a bit slow at times.
The real topper to the experience are the flock of peacocks on the grounds, even an albino one and a recently hatched chick! Also there are ducks and Guinea fowl around with the peacocks. A nice hotel with and adequate restaurant, but not in the middle of Medellin.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Sljayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Las Lomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for leaving you comment about our Movich Hotel, we are working hard to improve everyday and you comments helps us achieve better services.

Regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is 2 minutes away from the international airport in rionegro , that services the medellin area , the hotel is in a natural enviroment and is very quite , rooms are a tiny bit small , the service is outstanding , the staff really cares about you , the spa is good , massages are great , prices for their restaurant are affordable and the food,breakfast buffet is also good although nothing compared to hotel chains like marriot , hilton etc , just a nice buffet which gives the hotel more characther and more of a country intimate feel .... they have gardens where you can walk and see all the birds walking around . Only downside if youre in business in medellin , it is a 45 minute drive ....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel247365_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Las Lomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have no words to describe this awesome experience, this Hotel is a natural "heaven"! Set in a lush Park/Woods environment is the most peaceful surroundings which is now handle by a great new Colombian Hotel Group - Hoteles Movich! The one in Rio Negro Airport is simply awesome for Business Meetings, Family Gatherings or the best peaceful airport Hotel in the world! Truly an awesome experience with a great Spa!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb, but I got one with a Terrace which was an added feature, so ask for a Terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrferreras100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Director General at Movich Las Lomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Thank you for leaving you comment about our Movich Hotel, we are working hard to improve everyday and you comments helps us achieve better services.

Regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and I needed to stay at an airport hotel because of a very early morning flight. I read the TripAdvisor review and was concerned about some of the comments about inappropriate credit card billing. But after I booked the reservation I discovered that the hotel is now owned by Movich, the same group that owns the Intercontinental Hotel in Medellin where we were staying. We checked in about 3:00 PM and loved every minute. The grounds are beautiful, the pool area is clean and quiet, the restaurant was very good, and our room was very clean and well-decorated. We paid in cash because of the TripAdvisor warnings but now that Movich is running the property I don't think there will be any problems. I really liked this hotel.... we'll stay there again next year and hopeful have more time to enjoy the facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Las Lomas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rionegro
17.9 mi away
Hotel Los Recuerdos
Hotel Los Recuerdos
#1 of 3 in Guatape
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santiago de Arma
Hotel Santiago de Arma
#2 of 4 in Rionegro
42 reviews
8.9 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 111 in Medellin
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.2 mi away
Hostal El Hangar
Hostal El Hangar
#1 of 15 in Rionegro
71 reviews
3.4 mi away
MG Hotels & Suites
MG Hotels & Suites
#8 of 19 in Rionegro
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movich Las Lomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movich Las Lomas Hotel

Address: Glorieta Aeropuerto Internacional Jose Maria Cordova, Rionegro 127, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Rionegro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rionegro
Price Range: £67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movich Las Lomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically it located amidst lush nature in the most beautiful region of eastern Antioquia. A completely renovated place where every detail is designed for comfort and tranquility. It is located just 3 minutes from Jose Maria Cordova International Airport in the city of Rionegro and 30 minutes from the city of Medellin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movich Las Lomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movich Las Lomas Hotel Colombia/Rionegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing