We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must to visit boutique hotel in San Andres” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Harb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Harb
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must to visit boutique hotel in San Andres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Everything oustanding, the place, the rooms, food, the kindennes and service of the employes

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    12
    13
    4
    13
See reviews for
12
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

It was a wonderful experience having celebrated the new year in this incredible place.
The food is of excellent quality like the service.
I live in New York and I think this is a great place to relax and forget everything.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I went to this hotel last August. We were looking for a very relaxing holidays and we found it here. We spent three nights there and basically the whole place was for ourselves. Sweeming pool was nice and clean and breakfast was good too. People were very kind and help us with everything we need.
Although is far from the centre, it is located in a calm area. If you want to go to the island centre, you have to get a taxi which is about $ 5 dollars, no much.
Is it over price but so far it is the best boutique hotel in the Island, so we certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

My husband and I traveled to Colombia for the first time this spring and didn’t know where to stay in SA. This place was recommended to us by our booking agent and at first we were a little nervous ( we are naturally skeptical being from NYC) because some of the reviews said that it wasn’t directly on the beach – we are SO happy that we stayed there, it was an amazing experience and the highlight of our trip! First of all, the space itself is gorgeous – white mansion, big spacious rooms, tranquil pool, flowers everywhere! Second, the people/service is impeccable! Alex, who is the owner, is at the hotel often and is the nicest guy you will meet. He was incredible hospitable and truly made us feel at home. Third, the location is actually perfect. The places on the beach are way too crowded and are def more like 3 star hotels. The ride to the beach is 5 min, you can do a gold cart or a cab and pick which beach to go to. All around, this is the by far the best option on the island!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms in Casa harb are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TZlotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

I have never been so well treated at a hotel like they did at Casa Harb, great food, excellent attention. will come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmorocco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

HOTEL REVIEW # 175 Casa Harb

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Good. Motor transportation is required to get from the hotel to the area with the restaurants and beach. It’s about a 5 minute drive. There is a bus for about US$1.25 per person one way or you may take a taxi for about 5,000 to 7,000 COP. It’s kind of nice to be out of the craziness of town but also a pain to have to go back to the hotel to shower prior to dinner if already in the area. The best beach is not in town. Definitely rent mopeds although going through the town area can be a little confusing. There is a street between the hotel and the water and so cars can be seen/heard from the pool area.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Hotel will arrange pickup. About a 5 minute ride to/from the airport. We were charged 12,000 COP for a ride to the airport but this was high (and may have been so since the cab was called therefore being a return trip for the driver).

TYPE OF ROOM: 

We stayed in two rooms and saw about 4 of them. They vary greatly. My favorite room is the largest of them all with the canopy bed and a decent view of the water from the balcony.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: This is where the hotel falls short. The mattresses were old and not very luxurious. This is the same for the linens and pillows. At this price, I would have expected much, much better here.

LIGHTING: Good lighting in common areas, bedroom, and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Good water pressure and water can be made very hot. Rain showers in both rooms. Shower in the largest room is very nice. Some rooms have enormous bathtubs (this room didn’t have one).

TOILETRIES: L’Occitane.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is very clean.

A/C: Quiet enough but would have preferred it a little more cooler in the room even with the a/c on the lowest temperature.

CLOSET SPACE: Large room has no closets. Other room had closets.

STYLE OF ROOM: I wasn’t really impressed with our first room (the modern looking room on the website). I felt the value wasn’t there but the larger room resembled more of what I would expect at this price point.

COMMON AREA: Very nice. The pool is beautiful, the water clean, and the house is impressive. They don’t run the a/c in the common areas so it was too hot in the rest of the house outside of the bedrooms. The one issue is that there is a lack of attention to details. There is paint chipping from some of the walls, and wires can be seen over the floors. This has potential to be one of the best hotels I have stayed at but they fall short with the lack of attention to details.

QUIET: The bedroom is quiet although one day we heard loud music coming from the common area (through our bedroom floor?). Also, you can hear the occasional car drive by the house.

FOOD: Breakfast is a choice of pancakes and eggs, fruit, OJ, cereal. Breakfast was good. I also had dinner here and had mediocre pasta and a fish carpaccio that was terrible. Fishy taste (I only ate a few pieces) and I got sick the next day. We also had chicken for lunch one day that was ok. Food on the island really isn’t that good so it’s not entirely the hotel’s fault (we did have a great meal at La Regatta).

TV/INTERNET: TV’s are a bit small for the room and have DirecTV with plenty of English channels. The wireless internet was not working while we were here (told it was a problem throughout that part of the island).

SERVICE: If you think of it as staying at someone’s house, it’s tolerable. Although the people are very nice, the service for a ‘hotel’ is really bad. I had this discussion with another guest staying there. The employees hang out in the kitchen and office area (which really are not places guests would hang out) and you have to go in there to get them for service. Never once while we were at the pool, hanging out on the couch, did someone come up to us to ask if we wanted to drink or eat. Often the music playing in the common areas would stop and would not resume. I wasn’t even sure if they had food outside of breakfast. Our hotel transportation from the airport was in a disaster of a car. They need to arrange someone with a nice car to pick people up as this was a bad first impression. At check-in, we were never told about activities, given a map, or provided any guidance. This was on a request only bases. At this price for a hotel, I would expect much more.

SUMMARY: Although this hotel is lacking some ‘comforts’, it is still the best place to stay on the island if you are ok with not being in town. Know what you are getting into and you will love it here. It’s really a great hotel that once they pay attention to the details, could be one of the most special places to stay in all of Colombia.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
6.0 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
5.8 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#2 of 41 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lord Pierre
Hotel Lord Pierre
#21 of 41 in San Andres Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Portobelo Plaza de las Americas
2.0 mi away
Decameron Los Delfines
Decameron Los Delfines
#10 of 41 in San Andres Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 41 in San Andres Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Harb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Harb

Property: Hotel Casa Harb
Address: Calle 11 No. 10-83- La Rocosa, San Andres Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Harb 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Harb is a concept of sober and private accommodation. Our intention is to make your experience into something unique and unforgettable. Its decor and services, make Casa Harb an excellent option for couples.It has 5 custom-designed suites inspired by Asian cultures, swimming pool, lounges, restaurant, minibar, telephone and satellite TV. Its terraces and balconies offer a breathtaking view, especially at sunset.These are just some of the reasons that make Casa Harb into the best choice of accommodation on the island of San Andrés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Harb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing