We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Mar y Sol
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Casablanca(San Andres Island)
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Hotel Arena Blanca(San Andres)
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Cocoplum Beach Hotel(San Andres Island)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Calypso(San Andres)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Lord Pierre(San Andres Island)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Portofino(San Andres)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$138
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
312
98
34
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
98
34
15
14
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Luis meet U at the airport with a big smile and tells abt the isl on the way. The hostel looks isolated, but isn´t !. Some good beaches U can walk to, Rutabuss pass by the mainroad freq, or Luis drives u 2 or from the city. If u r to many, he hands you the keys of his other car! We planned to eat 1st dinner at the hostel, others in town. After the 1st dinner we reviewed that! Delicious fresh seafood dinners everyday!Beside that;Marisol or the staff seems to know when you need coffee, When you sit at the pool , reading a good book, they call your name and ask if you like a cup of coffee.(Lilian, u could be my 2nd mom !) Thats what i call paying attention to your guests. we felt like family. The pool freshes up after a daytrip before you again sit down for a good dinner. The showerwater could be warmer( why no solarcells on the roof?) Others the rooms have all u need for a stay like this and cleaning was very well done. We enjoyed every moment and if we have opportunity to go to San A again, we sure stay here .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

It was bound to happen - after 8 years of trusting TripAdvisor, I finally encountered an anomaly. How this hotel has such high ratings here is beyond me.

I am not your typical American looking for a 5-star stay. I am a world traveler that has taken me to very rustic and exotic destinations. However, this was absolutely the worst hotel stay I've had in my 20 years of traveling.

To my fellow travelers who, like me, found this hotel through Groupon, let me inform you of the following.

1. Insects. Yeah - the destination is a tropical island - I get that. But think back to the movie "Creepshow". We checked into our room and it was loaded with bugs. They were climbing up the curtains, underneath the pillows, scurrying around the floor, in the shower, and worst of all, in our bed. I felt like I was in a horror movie. Both my girlfriend and I were bitten several times and barely got any sleep.

The owners, who seem nice enough, moved us to another room. More bugs, just not as many. So, I would highly recommend this hotel to people who like bugs and enjoy sharing rooms with them.

2. The location is NOT near the beach. If you thought it was close, please allow me to readjust your expectations. The house is a minimum 10-minute walk to a rocky beach.

3. There is a fine line between "rustic" and "ugly". There was some junk scattered in the backyard. There are overgrown weeds. The place is beaten and weathered.

4. It's isolated. Fine, you're here to relax. But there is only one driver, the owner, and he only makes a few trips per day at most.

Now, the owners seem to be very nice people. We left the hotel after our night of horror and they did not give us any trouble - even drove us back to the center of the city so we could find another hotel.

To the owners: there is something called "fumigation" - you might want to look into it. We ended up staying in another "rustic" hotel in San Andres, then another in Providencia, and there were no insects in my bed.

Anyone who wants more information can message me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Comunicador. at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews