We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of Hosteria Mar y Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed with my couple for a week and never felt as confortable as I did in Mar y Sol. The staff/owners are very kind and friendly, it was more like staying with your friends than in a hotel. The rooms are basic but have everything you need to run away from the rutine. Food was excellent and had that taste you can't find in restaurants, it tasted like homemade food. It's a bit far form the city centre, so you might need to rent a car and they offer that service. They also take you to the centre for free (8 am and 7 pm return). Hoye Soplador is just a few minutes walking from the hotel... 100% recommended for couples.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurapatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    89
    32
    13
    14
See reviews for
171
167
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I had a great time at the Island. The hotel was nice and the customer service was incredible. the hotel is perfect for relaxing. Is located at the far south end of the island and for me that was perfect. I recommend this hotel to all travelers. The customer service makes all the difference.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Luis meet U at the airport with a big smile and tells abt the isl on the way. The hostel looks isolated, but isn´t !. Some good beaches U can walk to, Rutabuss pass by the mainroad freq, or Luis drives u 2 or from the city. If u r to many, he hands you the keys of his other car! We planned to eat 1st dinner at the hostel, others in town. After the 1st dinner we reviewed that! Delicious fresh seafood dinners everyday!Beside that;Marisol or the staff seems to know when you need coffee, When you sit at the pool , reading a good book, they call your name and ask if you like a cup of coffee.(Lilian, u could be my 2nd mom !) Thats what i call paying attention to your guests. we felt like family. The pool freshes up after a daytrip before you again sit down for a good dinner. The showerwater could be warmer( why no solarcells on the roof?) Others the rooms have all u need for a stay like this and cleaning was very well done. We enjoyed every moment and if we have opportunity to go to San A again, we sure stay here .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

It was bound to happen - after 8 years of trusting TripAdvisor, I finally encountered an anomaly. How this hotel has such high ratings here is beyond me.

I am not your typical American looking for a 5-star stay. I am a world traveler that has taken me to very rustic and exotic destinations. However, this was absolutely the worst hotel stay I've had in my 20 years of traveling.

To my fellow travelers who, like me, found this hotel through Groupon, let me inform you of the following.

1. Insects. Yeah - the destination is a tropical island - I get that. But think back to the movie "Creepshow". We checked into our room and it was loaded with bugs. They were climbing up the curtains, underneath the pillows, scurrying around the floor, in the shower, and worst of all, in our bed. I felt like I was in a horror movie. Both my girlfriend and I were bitten several times and barely got any sleep.

The owners, who seem nice enough, moved us to another room. More bugs, just not as many. So, I would highly recommend this hotel to people who like bugs and enjoy sharing rooms with them.

2. The location is NOT near the beach. If you thought it was close, please allow me to readjust your expectations. The house is a minimum 10-minute walk to a rocky beach.

3. There is a fine line between "rustic" and "ugly". There was some junk scattered in the backyard. There are overgrown weeds. The place is beaten and weathered.

4. It's isolated. Fine, you're here to relax. But there is only one driver, the owner, and he only makes a few trips per day at most.

Now, the owners seem to be very nice people. We left the hotel after our night of horror and they did not give us any trouble - even drove us back to the center of the city so we could find another hotel.

To the owners: there is something called "fumigation" - you might want to look into it. We ended up staying in another "rustic" hotel in San Andres, then another in Providencia, and there were no insects in my bed.

Anyone who wants more information can message me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank theskaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
7.1 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#4 of 43 in San Andres Island
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,518 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
230 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#8 of 43 in San Andres Island
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mar y Sol

Property: Hosteria Mar y Sol
Address: San Andres Island 00000, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Mar y Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria Mar y Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing