We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in peaceful retreat”
Review of Hosteria Mar y Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came to the Hosteria for one night stop over on the way to Providencia. We had wanted to stay near to the airport, for our early flight the next day, and were surprised it is a little further than we expected - Google Maps was wrong! However, the journey was well worth it. Superb home cooked food in a lovely, peaceful setting. The accommodation was basic, but clean. Really welcoming owners, who happily drive you up, and back to the main town. Which, in comparison is really not a very peaceful, nor picturesque place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for choosing us, we wait for you again. Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hosteria Mar y Sol is a beautiful and cozy place to stay at San Andres Island. Great service, everyone makes you feel special and happy. Delicious breakfast with Colombian bread and coffe, fresh fish, shrimp, lobster, etc for seafood lovers like us. Gorgeus decoration inside and outside with large green areas and pretty pool. Perfect location for relax and enjoy the ambiance of the island. The place is really clean! Every day there is a transportation Hosteria - Down Town - Hosteria. But if you want to be on your own like us there are bikes, motorcicles and cars available for rent. We loved and enjoyed our vacation at Hosteria Mar Y Sol and we hope to come back next year. Thanks a lot for this unforgettable experience. Gracias Sr. Luis you are the best!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 9AlimarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Good morning.
We look forward to you again. Thanks for your comment.
Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

heaven on earth, this is how I can describe this place, excellent food, service and attention
I love nature and in this place i feel like in heaven ,San Andres is the best place in the world and in this place i feel so comfortable and relaxed , the hospitality and good atencion making this place unforgetttable

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Operez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello! We want you back soon to enjoy this place again. Thanks for your opinion.
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hosteleria Mar y Sol is really the place to stay when visiting San Andres. I stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave. The place is beautiful, with large green areas, and flowers. The rooms are spacious, cozy and extremely well cleaned. Everyone who works at the hostel treated me as if I were family going above and beyond to ensure that I was enjoying my stay and answered all of my questions about the area and activities. Thank you Mar y Sol Hostel for an amazing experience! Hope to return very very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello, Claudia. Thanks for writing. See you again in Hosteria Mar y Sol
Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband while on a romantic trip away. The Hosteria is beautiful and I loved the setup of the rooms, gardens, pool and restaurant on the terrace!

It is far removed from everything, which is a blessing in San Andres-but the hotel offers transport to get you in and out of the center which is very convenient! It is worth it to be away from it all as when you return at the end of the night to the beauty and tranquility of the Hosteria you feel relaxed and on vacation!

Rooms are large and offer great amenities and good bathrooms!

Best thing? The food! Authentic island food! Amazing fish, lobster, breakfasts, juice and even their coffee! Going back just to eat!
Would definitely stay again, we were very happy with our time there!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sparks2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014
Google Translation

¡Saludos! Te esperamos nuevamente para que disfrutes del ambiente familiar de la hostería. Nuestras puertas están abiertas para recibirte a ti y a los tuyos. Gracias por escribir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I travelled with a group of veterinary professionals to San Andres Island to perform a large scale small animal sterilization campaign. This was a pilot project therefore the first time World Vets had travelled to this location. The accomodations were clean, quiet, and basic. We worked long days and the hotel staff were extremely accomodating with our meal scheduling and travel.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the pool was a great treat at the end of a long day. World Vets will definitely return to this location for future trips.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are equal in quality and atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idahomichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsayala01, Gerente at Hosteria Mar y Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013
Google Translation

Idahomichelle Gracias por escógenos, fue un placer haberlos atendido en nuestra Hostería Mar y Sol, siempre vamos a estar a la disposición de todos nuestros amigos. Un abrazo y que Dios los bendiga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We thought it maybe too far from everything but it is actually a blessing to be away from the package tours and packed hotels in centro. We found a lovely beach at one end of the driveway that the islanders use away from the tourists which is also where the local bus stop is to take you into town, the food was awesome we really enjoy the local produce and flavours, nice pool to relax and gardens to soak up the caribbean vibe

Room Tip: dont stay in the main house as there is a lot of noise from the kitchen at mornings and people using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndresFelipeEstrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
7.1 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#5 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,271 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#4 of 43 in San Andres Island
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
7.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Mar y Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mar y Sol

Address: San Andres Island 00000, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Mar y Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hosteria Mar y Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing