We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“away from the noise”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we had our providencia trip cut short and had to scramble for a hotel. looked online and found this place last minute. we wanted something away from town and this was perfect. right on the water, no beach, just dead coral but you can get in to swim via stairs. they even have chairs to take onto the rock to watch the sunset. everything was very clean and well maintained and the owners where always helpful with questions and anything we needed. super great breakfast that varied day to day and ran until 11am. if you want to get around the island that was super easy from there, just stand in the street and flag down the collectivo, it cost around $1 for a ride anywhere, we took a ride all the way around for fun, took about an hour. they also have a dive shop attached and it was fun to watch the beginners practice in the pool. overall we were very happy with our choice and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kasumiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our services and are glad to know that you enjoyed our location. Hope you can come back and visit us.

Sunset Family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The first thing I love about this Hotel is that is far from the maddening crowds. It's located in the south of the island with only ocean and sunsets around. So if you want to relax, don't hesitate to go there.
The second thing I love, is that it's just few steps from one of the BEST diving places in San Andres. With a reef for all level of divers. You have access to dives from 10 meters to deep diver over 40 meters and more.
The third thing I love is that it's a family hotel, so you can expect only the best.
I love freediving and UW photography, so this is paradise to me. I add some pics taken at my stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Frank,

Thanks for sharing your love of the ocean and the undewater world. We really enjoy providing lodging and diving services to our customers. Wish you can come back and visit us very soon.

Sunset Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at the sunset hotel. The family run hotel had a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. (Even the fact that we did not arrive until 3am due to our flight being redirected.) We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the coast, a great spot to watch the sunset with a glass of wine.

The pool was open 24 hours, and as there is very little to do in San Andres town at night, we spent an evening swiming in the pool, watching the stars and listening to the surf.

Lindsay and his family were all very kind and recommended some excellent restaurants and activities so that we could make the most of our few days on the island.

The hotel was also very clean, the breakfasts were varied - a rarity for Colombia where normally you can only have scrambled egg with tomato, hot water showers and the pool ws kept in immaculate condition.

We can't wait to return and spend more time at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like crabs, be sure to pick a second floor room. Room 9 overlooks the coast as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Nicola,

Thanks for writing a review of your lodging experience with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and its natural surroundings. We are looking forward to your next visit so we can continue providing a personalized service.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I loved staying at Sunset Hotel in San Andres! We wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. It is isolated from the main city on the island, which made it relaxing and quiet. You can rent bikes and snorkel gear from the office for a fair price. Their hotel isn't on a sandy beach, but you can jump off of the rock into crystal clear water. We swam each day, sometimes feeling like we had the sea to ourselves. Lindsay was an incredibly kind host. We enjoyed spending time with him.

Room Tip: We chose the top corner room based on other reviews, but it was a little warm for us, even with AC a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you Kelsey for your valuable and kind words. Glad to know you enjoyed the sea in front of the hotel and that you would choose us for your future visits to our island. We have just installed a more powerful a/c in the room with sea view so the temperature will be just perfect for your next visit.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was simply wonderful. Let me elaborate a bit. San Andres is a beautiful place to be, with gorgeous beaches, wonderful sea life, and nice people. You hardly need anything else to have a great stay. But in this case this hotel made our vacations even better. Mr. Lindsay Madero, the general manager and owner of the hotel, is a fantastic guy! He and the rest of his family really helped us to get the most of the island. We stayed for 5 nights and every single day we had a different breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Every time it was delicious and promptly served. We also took diving lessons from Sharky Dive Shop, located in the hotel and operated by Mr. Lindsay's brother. It was simply beautiful. We also took, as recommended by Mr. Lindsay, a boat to Johnny Cay, which had the most wonderful beach of our whole trip. And finally, Mr. Linday's suggestion that we use a bicycle to get to some places of the west side of the island was incredible! We couldn't have got as many nice pics by using the bus. Just to finish, this hotel was simply wonderful. It is your best choice if you want a quiet place to rest and have vacations at your pace.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you Sergio for taking time to write a review. It gives us great pleasure to know you had your best vacation ever and really enjoyed our service and food. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Sunset Hotel was an amazing place to stay while on San Andres Isle. The location is quiet and the view is increadible. I spent two weeks at this hotel with my mother and girlfriend and was very relaxed the entire time. The owners are very kind, personable and both speak english very well. they would help with every request and tips to make our trip more enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and maintained everyday, the food is delicious and affordable. They offer all the amenities from snorkle gear to motorized scooters for cheap. I plan on returning to San Andres again and will definetly be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1976Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m, Gerente at Sunset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank your very much for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad to know you had a great time and enjoyed your stay with us. It was a great pleasure knowing and serving you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was lovely to stay there. Quiet, big rooms, nice snorkeling in front and lovely staff. But if you love party and crowded beaches you need a golf cart or Motorbike or take the bus in front of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ar0undthew0rld2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsay m, Manager at Sunset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. Great to know you had a lovely time at Sunset Hotel and hope you can return soon to visit us.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
467 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#3 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Portobelo Convention Center
Portobelo Convention Center
#20 of 29 in San Andres
222 reviews
6.1 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,606 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#23 of 29 in San Andres
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Carretera Circunvalar Km. 13, San Andres Island 880001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range: £86 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southwest coast of the beautiful island of San Andres, Sunset Hotel has 16 comfortable rooms fully equipped and specially designed to offer its guests a personalized service in a natural and romantic environment. Due to its location, SunSet is the ideal place to relax away from the city and enjoy the underwater world just a step from the hotel. Here are some of our services: -"Bon Astre" Restaurant-Adults and children swimming pool-Air conditioning-TV-Diving equipment rental-Own water and power plant. San Andres Islands for Divers: The magical island of San Andres is located in the Southwest of the Caribbean Sea, forming a beautiful archipelago with the islands of Old Providence and Santa Catalina. Due to its privileged location, San Andres has a pleasant tropical climate throughout the year and a water temperature of approximately 26 Celsius. The island is surrounded by coral reefs on the east coast and the west coast; where the SunSet hotel is located, and the sea is rich in corals and sponges. SunSet Hotel offers all you need for a successful diving experience; excellent location in front of the best dive sites and a full list of diving services including diving courses, equipment rentals and guided tours in our boats. Divers can see many of the characteristic species in the Caribbean Sea as the island is recognized for its high underwater biodiversity and includes marine protected areas as part of the Seaflower Biosphere Reserve. The dive sites of the island offer steep walls, shipwrecks, caves and tunnels filled with marine life and the sea is calm with an underwater visibility between 50 and 60 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing