We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel is not well located, it is too far from the commercial part of the city, the beach is very dirty and the staff doesn't make an effort to clean it. The lady that serves the breakfest is always in a bad mood, and you have to tell her what you want, instead of serving yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SROliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Cocoplum Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Cocoplums main feature is the location. It is on a very beautiful beach and it is a nice and quite place. Morover, if you are travelling with children its perfect since they can easily move around between the beach and the (small) pool. The frist time we stayed here was 10 years ago, and there has been some improvements made since then (better doors, safe in your room and wifi in the reception and restaurant). We stayed in a family room which was very spacious and with 2 bathrooms. However, some of the interior was quite dated and in need to be changed and one of the bathrooms (which was without any ventilation) had a moldy smell. But since the other bathroom was ok we did not see the need to ask for an other room. The restaurant at the hotel does an ok breakfast, and Etty will make sure that you get anything you need/want all you need to do is ask. Due to its location there are not many dinner options close by, but the food is alright but the service can be very slow. The hotel has a guy that comes around every morning to offer various activities. We tried a few but it was not very impressive (or inexpensive) so your best option is probably to catch the bus/taxi and find/book for yourself in El Cento. However, the hotel does help you rent a golf car which is a very good and fun way to go around the island. Overall, Cocoplum has its charms but do not expect it to be a high end resort.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank samuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The view and the location of the hotel were the best of our stay at San Andres. Unfortunately everything els like food, personell etc. has much room for improvement. The service (towels, pickup to the airport...) was as bad as the dinner-food was. The breakfast was the same every day, but it was ok. But the dinner was not eatable. As we asked for something else than coconut-rice we just got strange looks. For us Europeans the hotel looked more like a "day-have-fun" bar for the rich folks of the island. They came ever afternoon with their childreen and nannys just to sit and drink right next to us. They also did some repearing at the hotel while we where there and so it was loud and disturbing. Still - the beach, the location of the hotel was nice! But we would not come again. Sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_sunshine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is a great, colourful hotel right on the beach looking out on san luis town and rocky cay - which you can walk out to across the sea from the cocoplum beach. The beach is lovely and peaceful and the hotel provides towels and beach beds (free of charge). The staff are friendly and the larger family rooms are ideal for couples with children. (Ours was split with a door and each room had its own bathroom). The restaurant food is also great and there's a good range to choose from - which is ideal because there arent many options nearby. The pool is basic and the bathroom in our room could have been doing with an upgrade/being renovated but overall, i love this wee hotel and have already recommended it to friends visiting at christmas time.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room and /or family room if travelling with kids - ideal and good value!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel. The location and the beach is great. The food is awesome, the breakfast offers a big variety. ... Most of the staff is nice and attentive. You may ask why did we rate this hotel bad. .... Because in the first night they let us sleep in a room on the ground floor which was so mouldly that we started coughing after being i
nside for 5 minutes. We asked for a different room but they said they were full, which was not true. ..... As another couple arrived 2 hrs later and got a room on the 2nd floor. Anyway we decided to sleep in the hammock, which was less health endangering than our room. It was kind of disturbing that the straining dogs always wanted to jump in our hammock. To sum up we refused to pay this horrible night, which they accepted. Lateron we got a room which was clean and nice. We recommend the hotel for its good food and location, the rooms are nice, but do not accept a room on the ground floor, some appeared to us to be wet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Heinz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

please do not go if you decided to go do not go to cocoplum or to any resort that food is not included in the price they will overcharge you the hotel located outside so you can not leave the hotel only with a taxi $12 round trip breakfast is included but lunch and dinner NO which will run you aprox. $25 a person 2 people lunch and dinner $100 a day take a beutifull hotel 5 star all inclusive it would run you the same and you will enjoy hotel quality is bad the shower in the pool is a sewer water rooms are bad old they do not change linen terrible towel smell i complained so much with no help i would rate this hotel zero people go there because they think price is good but after food price is bad you are being smart not listening to me do not believe expedia becaus ethey make money selling rooms hope i helped you

Room Tip: you are crazy if you go there read review in this site not expedia they lie
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ilsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The location is nice.
Unfortunately, the service is horrible, specially at the restaurant where Food, fruit Juice and everything you can get is not worth. When you know that you can get some fantastic fish in town for such a good price.
They even charge you Ice cube if you need some.
The rooms are not very cleaned

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmanuel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,250 reviews
2.7 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,536 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
442 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
3.6 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoplum Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoplum Beach Hotel

Address: Road to San Luis 43-39, San Andres Island 102, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: £77 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoplum Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cocoplum Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Beach Hotel San Andres Island
Hotel Cocoplum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing