We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you come to San Andres for the beach and great food this is your place! I've stayed here four times and wouldn't go anywhere else. This is the most relaxing beach hotel I've ever stayed in. They offer the best massages at only 25$! Food was always delicious and the staff was fun and friendly. This is a tropical Caribbean getaway and you will get to live it to the max! Beach was literally 30 steps from my bedroom. You must also know that this is probably one of three hotels in San Andres actually built on the beach. The area is the best for the beach (stay clear of any hotel located near the city they are not nice and overpopulated) The natives haven't allowed any other hotel build near the beach and Coco Plum owns this land and the land next to it(which is just palm trees) so its nice and quiet. If you are looking for a luxurious 5 star hotel then this is not it. This is a relaxed bohemian hotel built for people who like the beach. Rooms are spacious and staff accommodates children perfectly. The hotel has awesome events such as the reggae night where music players come and play music and everyone dances. I would definitely recommend this one of a kind place! The owner of the hotel was always present and super nice.

Room Tip: Any room is great. I've stayed in 4 different ones and never had a problem. Familues with kids s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

It was our first time it san andraes, my boyfriend and i closed the deal in santa marta for a good price, it included flight, hotel and shuttles. We got really disappointed, the service was bad, the bathroom was stinky all the time (even after the cleaner was there) and the room was full of mosquitos. It wasnt worth the price at all... Go to another hotel and stay away from cocoplum!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdiAzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We closed this hotel via avianca. Supposedly 4 stars hotel. Our room was awful. Bathroom was smelly the whole stay. Felt like we had a nest of mosquitoes in the room though the AC worked 24/7 and it was freezing in the room!
On our second day the cleaning lady just took our charger without even asking (!!!) because she thought it belongs to the person who was in that room before us.
On our first day we ate dinner, as we chose from the menu. Seems after that there's a specific menu for each day, and if you don't want it, you need to sa. Only problem is no one told us. So we found out we're getting fried fish for dinner which both of us didn't want or even like.
The other day we went to the Johnny Cay island, for the whole day (from 9:30AM to 5PM), only the cleaning lady won't clean the room in normal hours which usually people are out, she came at 6pm when we were resting in our underwear after a long day in the sun, and she got angry when we asked why not sooner telling me she also cannot clean the room at all!! Common!
On the last day the cleaning lady got inside our room when we were in underwear though we had checkout later that day.
Except for one lady in reception, no one knows english, which again you would expect from a 4 stars hotel that the staff will know english.
Only thing good in this hotel is the honey-mustard chicken breast in thier restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlonGeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Ironically the island of San Andrés does not offer a great variety of beach resorts. Most hotels seem to be in the city itself and some offer a beach service (shuttle) of some kind. This hotel is located on a nice stretch of beach, however it is not always clean (this may vary with seasonality and weather).
The rooms are ok but bathrooms are simple, old and small. Hot water in the shower comes from a solar system and isn't always available. The best rooms are in the front part (facing the ocean) on the 2nd floor. The ones directly by the pool could be noisy. So are the ones facing the street.
The staff is incredibly slow and the food rather dull. Breakfast is a kind of "serviced buffet" with cold toast and cold eggs. They will prepare fresh eggs if you ask. They will also prepare fresh toast but it is just as cold. There is orange juice and a small plate of fruit (no choice on either).
Full board is not recommended - lunch is simple 3-course set menu (which can be escaped if altered before 10am) including a very nice fruit juice. Dinner is a 1-course arrangement of your choice. Wine is available with dinner but many bottles are often out of stock. If full board is booked you can obtain a 39.000 COP voucher for any one skipped meal per day (for 2, lunch or dinner) and encash it at any of several restaurants in town. This will not get you very far but it's a nice idea.
Live music on Sunday nights is about the only entertainment available so bring some good books and a few bottles from the shops in town.
Free wifi is available in the lobby area and restaurant.
Cleanliness is quite okay but the beach is not being looked after properly, at least not on a daily basis. There are enough sunbeds but the beach towels are ancient!
All things considered we were rather happy with the choice mostly because of the location and the lack of really beautiful beach resorts on the island. However, don't expect too much!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1001-traumreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were very worried about finding a hotel for San Andres because the prices were astronomical for most of the all-inclusive hotels and then reading the reviews - there were tons of complaints. We were relieved to find this "reasonably for San Andres" priced hotel. We chose it primarily because it had a beach right at the hotel and we were not disappointed. There is a great beach and we were always able to find chairs and enjoy our time there. We had breakfast included and were impressed with the breakfast. There was hot chocolate, tea, and coffee, juice, eggs and various breads and a small plate of fruit. The food was reasonably priced as well as the drinks. We were disappointed with the lack of fresh fish, but this was a problem on the island in general. The water right in front of the hotel had a lot of algae in it, so we didnt go in very often there. However Rocky Cay is a short walk from the hotel and its a great place to hang out. The rooms are a little run down, but we were happy overall. I had a massage in the spa which was very pretty and paid 70.000 for a special. Our flight left San Andres at 1:30 AM so we were really happy that we only had to pay 40.000 pesos and we were able to continue to use our room and hotel all day until about 11 at night. Overall we were very happy with out find of this hotel and would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: We asked for a 2nd floor room because we read here that they were nicer. I don´t think its necessari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

After reading the reviews, we was concerned about the hotel. The location was great due to the beautiful beach, short drive to the center/City, local stores around and access to the excursions. After going to other5 star hotels for excursions, we noticed that they don't have a good beaches on site. It looked more like a bay than a beach. In addition, the Cocoplum has dinner entertainment with cultural dancers. The hotel had a police office on site 24 hours which made it much safer. The staff was great and spoke good english except for the reception. The hotel did provide us with great taxi service that provided us with a cell phone for us to call them while we toured the island. And the hotel provided us with cash and charged it to our room till we made it to the ATM. That was awesome....

The only concern was that the bathroom was dirty. The shower had mole all around the corner so I showered with my flip flops. In addtion, there was a lot of red ants. So, we slept with the lights on. :( but some of the other guest complained about bites. :( However, when I mentioned it to the staff, they quickly corrected the ant issue.

Another thing that was not so great was that internet was only accessible in common areas. Not in the room just in the sitting areas and on the beach.

N just like area carribean spot... there were two dogs that also lived on the hotel... ;)

Room Tip: The have suites, multi room, but the basic rooms consist of a living room with a sofabed and a loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This placed has a great location. The hotel (which is more like bungalows) is literally in the beach. This is probably the best feature. You have you breakfast, lunch and dinner in the sand and the sea is just in front of you. Another win point for this property is the food. The menu is typical Caribbean. It was very simple but very tasty and nice. Portions were great.
Rooms could be better, but they are not bad. Staff are very laid back; some of them were very friendly. Service (like the provision of towels for the beach or bottles of water) needs to be improved. If the run out, there's nothing to do until next day or the next couple of days.
The beach is nice, only that the water at the time was full of algae.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the second floor. These are newer than the ones on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinez85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
2.7 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,547 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#5 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
456 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
3.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoplum Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoplum Beach Hotel

Address: Road to San Luis 43-39, San Andres Island 102, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: £78 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoplum Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocoplum Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Beach Hotel San Andres Island
Hotel Cocoplum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing