We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andyscobar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
Bogota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Andyscobar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Food is too expensive, and service is not great they want to over charge you for everything, I complained to the manager for not putting an extra bed in a room that I paid for, so I had to sleep in a couch, manager screamed at me and threaten me to call the police if I didn't pay, (and it was already paid) awful experience, never felt so humiliated by a place that supposed to give good service. Will not recommended to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    343
    133
    73
    51
See reviews for
259
389
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it was right on the beach and a small complex.
We had room 116 on the ground floor right in front of the pool and the beach and watched the sunrise from our balcony in the mornings.
The beach was beautiful white sand turquoise water with a great view of the ship wreck.
The staff were always very friendly and really looked after us.
Our meal plan was B&B with a nice choice of breakfast every morning, the restaurant was good for lunch & dinner although we went out most nights for dinner.
The room was a good size and clean with air con and a huge bed only negative was the water wasn't very hot in the evenings for a shower but in that heat a cool shower was nice.
Along the beach to the left there is a sandbank which if you walk along will take you to a little desert island and brilliant snorkelling.
We hired a golf buggy and explored the whole island.
The west is rugged no beaches but the sea looks beautiful with all the different variations of blue & turquoise, the town is very built up with high rise hotels that don't seem to have their own beaches although there is a beach right in the town but always looked pretty busy, the east and South have the most beautiful beaches.
By far the coco plum was the best place for us to stay on San Andres as we wanted to be right beach relaxing with a cocktail.
I highly recommend it if you're travelling to the island.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TrolleyDolleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

What's not to love about Cocoplum? Clean rooms with AC, friendly service, delicious breakfast that's included in your stay and all that right on the beach! We booked two nights and stayed for five. It's the perfect place to unwind and relax. Among all the Decamaron's on the island, Cocoplum is a more affordable option with friendly staff to help organize whatever may be on the agenda for the day and you also don't have to wear a bright blue bracelet stamped with the hotels name that you can't take off. We love it here and would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you come to San Andres for the beach and great food this is your place! I've stayed here four times and wouldn't go anywhere else. This is the most relaxing beach hotel I've ever stayed in. They offer the best massages at only 25$! Food was always delicious and the staff was fun and friendly. This is a tropical Caribbean getaway and you will get to live it to the max! Beach was literally 30 steps from my bedroom. You must also know that this is probably one of three hotels in San Andres actually built on the beach. The area is the best for the beach (stay clear of any hotel located near the city they are not nice and overpopulated) The natives haven't allowed any other hotel build near the beach and Coco Plum owns this land and the land next to it(which is just palm trees) so its nice and quiet. If you are looking for a luxurious 5 star hotel then this is not it. This is a relaxed bohemian hotel built for people who like the beach. Rooms are spacious and staff accommodates children perfectly. The hotel has awesome events such as the reggae night where music players come and play music and everyone dances. I would definitely recommend this one of a kind place! The owner of the hotel was always present and super nice.

Room Tip: Any room is great. I've stayed in 4 different ones and never had a problem. Familues with kids s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

It was our first time it san andraes, my boyfriend and i closed the deal in santa marta for a good price, it included flight, hotel and shuttles. We got really disappointed, the service was bad, the bathroom was stinky all the time (even after the cleaner was there) and the room was full of mosquitos. It wasnt worth the price at all... Go to another hotel and stay away from cocoplum!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdiAzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We closed this hotel via avianca. Supposedly 4 stars hotel. Our room was awful. Bathroom was smelly the whole stay. Felt like we had a nest of mosquitoes in the room though the AC worked 24/7 and it was freezing in the room!
On our second day the cleaning lady just took our charger without even asking (!!!) because she thought it belongs to the person who was in that room before us.
On our first day we ate dinner, as we chose from the menu. Seems after that there's a specific menu for each day, and if you don't want it, you need to sa. Only problem is no one told us. So we found out we're getting fried fish for dinner which both of us didn't want or even like.
The other day we went to the Johnny Cay island, for the whole day (from 9:30AM to 5PM), only the cleaning lady won't clean the room in normal hours which usually people are out, she came at 6pm when we were resting in our underwear after a long day in the sun, and she got angry when we asked why not sooner telling me she also cannot clean the room at all!! Common!
On the last day the cleaning lady got inside our room when we were in underwear though we had checkout later that day.
Except for one lady in reception, no one knows english, which again you would expect from a 4 stars hotel that the staff will know english.
Only thing good in this hotel is the honey-mustard chicken breast in thier restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlonGeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Ironically the island of San Andrés does not offer a great variety of beach resorts. Most hotels seem to be in the city itself and some offer a beach service (shuttle) of some kind. This hotel is located on a nice stretch of beach, however it is not always clean (this may vary with seasonality and weather).
The rooms are ok but bathrooms are simple, old and small. Hot water in the shower comes from a solar system and isn't always available. The best rooms are in the front part (facing the ocean) on the 2nd floor. The ones directly by the pool could be noisy. So are the ones facing the street.
The staff is incredibly slow and the food rather dull. Breakfast is a kind of "serviced buffet" with cold toast and cold eggs. They will prepare fresh eggs if you ask. They will also prepare fresh toast but it is just as cold. There is orange juice and a small plate of fruit (no choice on either).
Full board is not recommended - lunch is simple 3-course set menu (which can be escaped if altered before 10am) including a very nice fruit juice. Dinner is a 1-course arrangement of your choice. Wine is available with dinner but many bottles are often out of stock. If full board is booked you can obtain a 39.000 COP voucher for any one skipped meal per day (for 2, lunch or dinner) and encash it at any of several restaurants in town. This will not get you very far but it's a nice idea.
Live music on Sunday nights is about the only entertainment available so bring some good books and a few bottles from the shops in town.
Free wifi is available in the lobby area and restaurant.
Cleanliness is quite okay but the beach is not being looked after properly, at least not on a daily basis. There are enough sunbeds but the beach towels are ancient!
All things considered we were rather happy with the choice mostly because of the location and the lack of really beautiful beach resorts on the island. However, don't expect too much!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1001-traumreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
2.7 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
3.0 mi away
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
#2 of 28 in San Andres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#2 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 28 in San Andres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoplum Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoplum Beach Hotel

Property: Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Address: Road to San Luis 43-39, San Andres Island 102, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoplum Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cocoplum Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Beach Hotel San Andres Island
Hotel Cocoplum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing