We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low end all inclusive, meets 2 to 3 star level”
Review of Decameron Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Decameron Aquarium
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This place price gouges....the rooms are all double connected with other rooms via a paper thin door, can hear people talking...not very private. The charge you for a safe key to your room...send you to the room with a remote control for your TV...I guess people were stealing them..yes you will need a safe key for sure...evryone "highly" advised you do...rooms are not secure at all...old keys and no electronic locks...a very run down tired out resort..cheap linens bedding fittings...everything bottom end. Food is mediocre, entertainment so so and loud, can hear it throughout the resort till 11pm every night. The owners of this resort are making a killing and need to reinvest it back into the place.
This is a typical working class type all inclusive with cheap booze out of plastic cups...they pour the wine out of a box and the main beer is old milwaukee. This may be part of Colombia but in no way resembles Colombia, it's more of a run down Carribean island with a blend of spanish and english Caribbean people, the whole island is beautiful to drive around in a cart but is in extemely poor shape with poor residents for the most part living in shacks, the only people with money are the tourists. For some reason the island is swarming with army patrols on every street corner, mst be serious crime without them for obvious reasons...the locals are flat broke and dirt poor.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gedly888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2010

Wonderful days enjoying the life close to the see. Good service and activities in the Hotel and around the island. Winderful Place.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank ulialves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Our group of six arrived via Air Transat NoliTours from Montreal on Feb 22 2010. The Flight was good and they sent us to the hotel by Taxi which was a five minute ride.
We had requested to specifically stay in one building and have rooms close together and this was accommodated for us by the hotel. One of the rooms was not suitable so they did move the couple the next day. I have never seen such good cooperation by the hotel in 20 years of travelling. The ocean view from our room was spectacular to say the least.
We found the cleanliness of the rooms and generally of the whole resort and sister resorts to be excellent. They had hand sanitizing stations set up everywhere food was served.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly including the servers,room maids, bartenders and other support staff. They seemed to be well treated by the management in that they would stop and take time to talk with you and not be scared of being caught goofing off.
Our group believe in tipping which we did but I found that the bartenders generally tended to treat everyone the same whether tipped or not. That is a good thing .
The food variety and quality of same were excellent for a 3.5 star resort. We did not get bored with it after a two week stay.
We ate at the specialty restaurants on 4 occasions at our resort and found the food excellent there as well.We ate at the Seafood restaurant twice and once at the Thai and the Italian We did not try the steak house because it was difficult to get booked there and we heard that some of the steak was tough but I really don't know because we didn't eat there.
We had lunch a few times at the Marizule Resort , The San Luis resort and Rocky Cay. The food was good at those places as well.
We did not take in many of the tours but opted to explore the island by ourselves by 6 person golf cart on two separate occasions. This was a hoot and we really enjoyed ourselves. By doing this one can stop and sight see at your leisure, have a drink or a swim at the various beaches or explore the interior of the island at your own pace.
We did use one cab for a day trip to one of the other resorts a few times. It was with Captain Raymond who has a Chevy van which can accommodate lots of passengers.
Cab prices are reasonable but they should be confirmed with the driver before leaving.
We ate once off the resort at the Blow Hole at the bottom end of the island but we found the quality of the food there much less than at the resort.That is not to say that all the other restaurants on the island are the same.
It was a real treat to visit the other Decameron resorts and to use their bars, pools and all the facilities free of charge. All meals at the other resorts had to be booked the day of use though at our resort at 8 to 9 am.
We did not get away on any of the excursions other than 1 day fishing trip for the guys but other people who went snorkeling to Johnny Cay and some of the other islands said they had an excellent time and that the cost was worth it.
The location of the Decameron Aquarium is excellent in that one can walk for 5 minutes and be in the downtown shopping area and even stop at the sister hotel for a drink on the way. We noticed that the vendors and sales people will offer to sell you something but are not persistent like other places in the caribbean. That is a real plus and they can be bartered with if you do want to buy.
The people there seem genuinely appreciative of our presence there and I found some real honest ones. On one occasion we had left the golf cart unattended and i left my expensive camera on the dash board. about five minutes later a young local man came into the restaurant with the camera looking for the owner and gave it to me. He left after giving it back and I had to go looking for him to give him a token of my appreciation. On another occasion I had taken something out of my pocket and my roll of paper money was hanging out ready to fall on the ground and one of the local people came and pointed this out to me . Try that in some our city's eh.
San Andres is a small island but there is so much to see and do that we will have to go back next year to explore the rest. We are hoping that Decameron will rebuild the Isleno hotel which was closed recently. It is situated right on the best beach on the island with beautiful view. There was no beach at the Aquarium but we had a good swimming area off the pier with cement steps into the water. The snorkeling was fantastic there due to the clear water and it is safe for non swimmers because it is only 3 ft deep at high tide.I made lots of friends with the local fish while snorkeling by feeding them bananas and taking lots of pics with the underwater camera.
We did not make use of many of the night shows but the ones we did see were OK . he animation team put a lot of effort into keeping everyone happy. We were usually too tired after the long day in the hot sun and went to bed early. The night shows run from 9 pm to 10 for the kids and then to 11 pm for the adults
Overall this location is a real gem and we plan to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJT1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Hi,

First let me say that we looked at a lot of reviews before deciding to go so thank you. So to give back a little here is our review of our trip.

Hotel: rooms

Cleaned, comfortable (bed especially) but noisy!!! This is our biggest complaint. Thin walls, you hear noises from the room next door, hallway etc. Impossible to take an afternoon nap without being awaken. If your room is in building 16 ask right away to change your room!!! The structure is built in a fashion that any noise at floor level is amplified by 10 once it gets to your room... Seriously

To be fair from 11 pm to 8 am you have dead silence unless your neighbor decides to call his mom at 5 am!

The balconies are awesome and the view is spectacular!!!

Hotel Staff:

Pleasant and efficient want to please you.

Food:

Fair to very good all a la carte restaurants were very good... The Thai was the least impressive (funny most people preferred it)
BIG TIP!!!!!! Bring your own wine... Go buy a bottle downtown (5 minute walk) and bring your wine to either a la carte or buffet restaurant... THIS WAS A HUGE PLUS for us
They have house wine which is ok but really nothing special

Oh and get up a 7 am go sit in line read a book and book you reservation… The go have breakfast and enjoy the day. You will have no choice otherwise you will have to eat at the buffet everyday

ANOTHER TIP; Book the restaurant for the night and the hotel you want to visit the next day at the same time

Hotel Pools and bars and sea pool:

Bars are bars booze is has all inclusive don't expect a 30 year old scotch there or a fine Belgium beer... but is was what we had expected

The pool is fairly small in comparison to other all inclusive - To be honest did not spend 5 minutes there since the Sea pool is so spectacular!!!

Sea Pool: Imagine being on the dock in a chair with a drink in your hand and feeling hum I need to refresh in the sea... and then taking 3 steps going down 5 stairs in the water and watching were you put your feet because there are so many fishes… Once in the water you grab a tuba and mask and you are with a wide variety of fish etc… AMAZING…

Island activities:

Rent a golf cart (~45$ US) take the day to go around the island it’s a lot of fun and beautiful, VERY SECURE…

Johnny Cay Island and Hayes Cay and Aquario(~35$)

Johnny Cay is beautiful and while they are waiting for you and renting you chairs etc… People are very nice never unpleasant. The water and the island are amazingly beautiful.

Hayes Cay and Aquario

This was heaven for me you can snorkel in 5 feet deep with 300 fishes around you on one side of the aquario and go swim with rays on the other side at 3 pm when they arrive…. SPECTACULAR!!!

Cayo Bolivar (~100$)

Again beautiful remote snorkeling is amazing you feel like you’re in the movie Nemo… A bit too restricted thought you need to follow the group. If you have to choose do Hayes cays if not do both!!!

So in short we had an amazing trip that I would recommend keeping in mind a few things:

1. This is a trip for people who like to go out of the hotel and see what is out there
2. Eat what is local (fish, chicken) beef is not there thing so don’t expect a nice filet mignon!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cam024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

SAN ANDRES ISLAND = PARADISE.

Wow, we enjoyed our vacation. The food was excellent, drinks also! ;) The only 'negative point' is that u loose a lot of time by traveling outside the resort to go to the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIssymily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I stayed at Royal Decameron Aquarium last March '09 with my fiancee, my mother and my father.
We loved the hotel and all of the people. The service was excellent and we never had any issues.
The rooms were average but VERY clean. Beds were comfortable and the views from the rooms are simply impeccable!!
The service was was great and the staff were wonderful, very friendly people and always eager to make your stay the best one possible !!
Basically we all loved the hotel and would recommend it to anybody wanting to visit San Andres. I loved it so much that we are all going back this year and I am getting married there on a little Cay off the main island!!
There is so much to be said for this little island it truly is a hidden gem !!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jezika_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

The hotel is fantastic. It's clean and painted in yellow and white so it's gorgeous. The location is the best of all the Decameron. Because the hotel is on the north of the island, it is at 5 minutes of walk from the ''Centro Commercial''. Everything is near and can be reached by foot. The view is incredible, even more if you have (like we did) a room facing the Caribbean sea. The water is 7 colors, trust me. You can see it from your balcony which is about 12-13 feets long. Rooms are not soooo well tasted decorated, but they're ok. They're clean, really clean. The service is UNBELIEVABLE. I've been on cruises and I think that this service, which is from a 3 and a half stars hotel, was way more excellent. People are nice as you've never seen. You'll fall in love with everybody working at the Aquarium (and also the barman at the Los Delfines!). The food is really really good. We've eated at the buffet every morning and every lunch and it's always different. For the suppers, they have themes for each night. It's delicious. We also went to 2 of the 4 restaurants of the hotel : the Italian and the Thai. FANTASTIC. It's always the same menu, but it's delicious. If you think you want to go to San Andres, I say : GO! It's such a pretty place to visit, people are nice, it's much more safe than a lot of South America and Caribbean destinations. If you want to go with a Decameron hotel (which I STRONGLY suggest, they're the most reliable hotels on the island, the most clean, and you have so much advantages with them), go for the Aquarium. It's the one who offers the most. The Decameron Los Delfines is the nearer of the town (3 minutes from the Aquarium) and it's pretty. You don't have the best view, though. The Mary Land is faaar from a lot of things, as well as the Marazul. But they are beautiful buildings. The San Luis is the more far from everything. It's going to cost a looooot in taxis if you choose this one.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginieLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#4 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decameron Los Delfines
Decameron Los Delfines
#12 of 43 in San Andres Island
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Pierre
Hotel Lord Pierre
#25 of 43 in San Andres Island
392 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#15 of 43 in San Andres Island
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Aquarium

Address: Avenida Colombia 1-19, San Andres Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Andres Island
#2 Spa Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: £178 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Aquarium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of an Antillean environment, this resort has an exceptional architecture with circular towers overlooking the sea at ‘Punta Hansa’ – at the northern end of the Island of San Andres – which allow for wonderful panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea. These buildings are alongside a long wooden dock that leads to a natural pool in the sea and with an aquatic platform ideal for snorkeling and other water sports. The Decameron Aquarium is located approximately 10 minutes from the airport and is a well sought out location for tourists since the longest and most beautiful beach of the island is located only a few blocks away, surrounded by a boardwalk, parallel to a commercial area with restaurants, discos and the most exclusive bars. You will enjoy an enchanting paradise that can be explored completely on foot and where a cultural mixture of English, Spanish, Pirates and Corsairs can be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Decameron Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Aquarium Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing