We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED San Andres and The Aquarium!”
Review of Decameron Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Decameron Aquarium
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The Aquarium was the best choice for us out of all of the Decameron hotels on the island. I couldn't believe how cheap it was for an all inclusive and to have all of the great amenities! It is right in town so you can easily eat elsewhere if you choose. The food at the Aquarium (and at the other Decamerons) was great and the staff were super fun and friendly. Make sure to get an ocean view room!!

It was so fun renting a golf cart and driving around the island and stopping at all of the hotels. Be sure to stop at the Orange Hill school for kids with special needs to donate school supplies.
*We stayed here in March 2008 and I have been meaning to add this review! What reminded me to do it now is that we just got back from a different hotel and it didn't compare to the Aquarium at all!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sabbysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,134)
There are newer reviews for Decameron Aquarium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 3,135 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

San Andres is the most beautiful Island I have visited. Coffe, food and people are great :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fafrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The hotel itself is great. Make sure you request a room with ocean views or you will only be disappointed. Pay the extra its worth it.
The property is large and spacious with good options for activities and restaurants. As it is all inclusive it makes it very tempting to have everything in the hotel. Make sure you venture out and try the local restaurants. They are great too.
I wouldn't recommend this resort for solo travellers however. Reason being this is the resort you come to to hang out here. Lots of family and friends. Not alot of single travellers so it's a little hard to mingle.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

As another review said, I regret some folks seemed to have had a bad experience at this hotel and on this island. You have to consider where you are going and accept that if you travel in a typically rainy season : you're getting wet. Whether it's the rain, or the sea. Just accept it. In any case, you're in a bathing suit all week anyways. And, if you are asking a venue to provide services that is not their specialty - you may be disappointed despite the hotel's best efforts. Just like home : don't order a fancy fish at a burger joint. ;)

I personally found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. While I preferred to transact in Spanish, they did have staff capable of assisting customers in English, and even in French. The cleaning staff was efficient, my room was always well-kept, and the food at the buffet was good - ok, it is a buffet and you won't have your favourite meal every night - but .. but... the hotel is so close to some really awesome restaurants in the village that you can always go eat off-site at the last menu if you decide to do so. You can also make a reservation in one of the resort's specialty restaurants. I particularly enjoyed La Bruja (seafood and fish).

Over tours, associated with the hotel, were also very efficient and helpful in organizing day trips and visits. I highly recommend the semi-submarine, Evening cruise on Morgan's "Volero", a trip to Johnny Cay & Acuario is also a must. Next time, I'll go to Providencia and Cayo Bolivar which I could not do this time because of the weather - just one of those things, again, that you have to keep in mind when you travel in iffy seasons: maybe you can do everything you want, or maybe you can't. I can't complain : every day we had some cloud, some rain, and some sun and totally enjoyed the hotel, the public beach, the tours I hoped on, and walking through the streets of the village - it really is a few minutes walk away from the Aquarium.

As a solo traveler, I felt very comfortable here. both at the hotel and on the island. Of course, you do have to be logical and follow some basic safety precautions : but wouldn't you do that at home anyways? (well, I do.)

Apart from the hotel : I also enjoyed the restaurant at Casablanca hotel on the Via peatonal, and Niko's seafood restaurant. Niko's has a coconut breaded fish that is to die for and tartar sauce that is actually edible.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtl_luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

..i feel sorry for the guests who had bad experiences at this hotel. but my own stay was very pleasant, starting with the location of my room to the last drop of alcohol before my departure back to nyc.
the hotel is not a 5 stars hotel, but for the value of the stay i think it is more than worth it.
at my arrival earlier before check in time 3pm..front desk lady says to me wait till 3 pm and we will have your room ready. at 3 pm showed up in front of a crowd of al least 60 people. i said there is goes the best rooms. so prepare to fight for a prime room there i was in from of that lady. she hands me the keys and as i say the first words. sorry, but i would like a room with...... she says NO WORRIES here is your key. shocked she didnt let me finish my introduction to my well prepared argument , i headed out to check my room. i have to say this room WAS JUST MAGICAL !!! ocean view 3rd floor nothing in front of it but just clean clear ocean water. from there on everything was just more than i asked for. my fiance was as surprised as i was we both had an amazing time.
taxi drivers always will rip you off even here in new york. so yes i was ripped off twice. nothing to do with the hotel though. avoid taking taxis if you can.
japanese food avoid it. it is chinese with bad sushi. the chinese side of it was good though !!!
locals told me just afew days before our arrival. the island was suffering with bad days of rain. 2 weeks straight. during my stay 5 days) only 15 minutes of rain. humidity ZERO due to some lovely breeze (wind) that kept the island warm but enjoyable. 85 degrees sunnydays 0 humidity. beautiful !!!
would i go back?? i dont know since there are so many place i would love to visit. but of course i would recomend it to anybody.
a bad experience is not the hotels fault, it is the employee's fault. but i dont let that ruin my vacations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SANDSOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

the place is nice the only problem was the tail end of the hurricane in mexico. there was no internet or tv signal so we looked at the ocean alot. no outdoor activities because of weather.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octavio_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I had booked a all -inclusive stay at this hotel for 4 nights but as a result of the airplane crash, my trip was cancelled. When I tried to call to see when I could actually go, the service was horrible. A lady, named Diana, that answered the phone was mean and rude. They never once cared about our trip even though we had already paid for our vacation plans.
I had good experiences before but with this one, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Service
1  Thank RichardOso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,534 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decameron Los Delfines
Decameron Los Delfines
#13 of 43 in San Andres Island
592 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#12 of 43 in San Andres Island
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Pierre
Hotel Lord Pierre
#27 of 43 in San Andres Island
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Aquarium

Address: Avenida Colombia 1-19, San Andres Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Andres Island
#2 Spa Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: £165 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Aquarium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of an Antillean environment, this resort has an exceptional architecture with circular towers overlooking the sea at ‘Punta Hansa’ – at the northern end of the Island of San Andres – which allow for wonderful panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea. These buildings are alongside a long wooden dock that leads to a natural pool in the sea and with an aquatic platform ideal for snorkeling and other water sports. The Decameron Aquarium is located approximately 10 minutes from the airport and is a well sought out location for tourists since the longest and most beautiful beach of the island is located only a few blocks away, surrounded by a boardwalk, parallel to a commercial area with restaurants, discos and the most exclusive bars. You will enjoy an enchanting paradise that can be explored completely on foot and where a cultural mixture of English, Spanish, Pirates and Corsairs can be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Decameron Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Aquarium Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing