We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Quality With A Great Price"”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Great Quality With A Great Price"”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hotel Casablanca has an amazing veiw towards the sea and to the beautiful island of Jhonny Cay. Once we entered the hotel the staff treated us very well, all the staff were kind and made us feel very welcome. We were taken to our room and the bellboy gave us a through out tour of the hotel room and told us how to control the things in the room. Our first night in the hotel room our air conditioning broke down and maintenance was in our room in a coupleof minutes and our A/C was fixed in less that ten minutes which we found fantastic. The only thing we disliked about the room was the bathroom. The bathroom had the toilet on one side with transparant doors and the shower was on the other side directly across from the toilet and the doors to the shower were also transperant and that was a bit uncomfortable but we werre able to manage. The food in the hotel was spectacular as it was a buffett. All the food was fresdh and typical of South America. Hotel Casablanca really made oiur stay more enjoyable and was really worth the money that we payed. We most certainly will stay in Hotel Casablanca again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    460
    159
    57
    50
See reviews for
332
571
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The hotel has a great location, just 5 meters from the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean. You have to pay a double price to have a sea view though!
The receptionist are lazy, slow and very unpleasant. Their main answer is NO.
We stayed 2 people there and could NOT get a second room card till it has been 'approved' by a manager- 'only one card per room' - well it is probably the most stupid rule of not only San Andres, but maybe the whole Colombia- someone must have invented that stupidity and it needed more that 24 hours for get the second one. Of course the receptionist could NOT think of calling the manager the same day, it was just beyond her broad imagination.
Breakfast food is very limited and poor. Presentation miserable. Probably my dogs get better meals.
However, other meals at the restaurant, when you pay separately, are nice, delicious and presented in proper way, but the service is again the best- reserve 30 minutes before you get bread and butter (if you ever get it, maybe you have to ask for it).
AC and internet works fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaroslaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at the Casablanca with my family for 4 nights. The hotel was ok - a bit expensive. It has one small pool, no gym or spa and the rooms are big and clean. They were doing some renovation work so there was a lot of banging coming from above all day long. The hotels is in a good location right next to a beautiful beach however I was a little disappointed with the downtown area surrounding the hotel. It is dirty and very commercial are with rows of stores selling cheap tat. It is best to go all inclusive as there are no decent restaurants in San Andres and the hotel restaurant has no breakfast menu. I guess it was low season as a lot of places appeared to be closed however there are a couple of local places where you can get fresh fish and rice for around $10.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I showed up at very short notice, the clerk at the desk was very helpfull and even upgraded my room because my WIFI wouldnt wouldnt work. Friendly staff and very clean rooms:) Best part of the trip was the scooter ride around the island, bring your camera some water and enjoy the views!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanehanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I was on San Andres for 2 weeks started off at the Hotel Decameron Aquarium, which was horrible. Ended up finding this hotel. This is by far the best spot on the Island. Located right in the heart of everything and steps from the beach. Rooms are average but for the price compared to the other options on San Andres this is the spot. Ask about the apartment you can rent if you can book the apartment associated with Casablanca DO IT and you won't regret it. But overall you wont go wrong with location of this hotel.

Room Tip: before booking ask about the apartment they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bryant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I have stayed in three different hotels in San Andres, Colombia, and Casa Blanca was the best. Great relaxing caribbean atmosphere with the personal touch that big resorts cannot provide.Great caribbean experience. Handy hotel. Pristine rooms. The best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravelSavvy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We had a great experience at the Casablanca hotel, we stayed at the Casablanca hotel from june 30, 2009 until july 4th in one of the "cabañas" (a two story suite with two entirely independent rooms, two full bathrooms, a little living room and a table with four chairs) right by the pool. Since I am a MAJOR germaphobe, cleanliness was my number one priority. Fortunately, the hotel and the rooms are very clean. The pool gets cleaned up twice a day, all day long there are people going around with mops and brooms cleaning up. In terms of location, the hotel is right on the beach, but it's not the best area to swim. However, the best beach to swim is just a five minute walk away and everything else is very close by, very centrally located.
We had a plan that included breakfast, which if buffet style and very standard. It varies from day to day, but there are some permanent fixtures. Everyday they had a table with an array of bread (white, wheat, croissants...), different kinds of juice (with and without sugar), milk, coffee, tea, fruit (papaya, cantaloupe, watermelon), eggs (with the option of ordering your own omelette), bacon, ham, cheese and four or five kinds of cereal. As I said, a very standard buffet but nonetheless pretty good.
In term of service, everytime we called the lobby to ask for something they had it at our door within five minutes. Perhaps my only qualm would be with the girls in the omelette station, who seemed to be forced to be there and a waiter at the sea watch cafe (part of the hotel) who yelled at us because he brought to our table something we absolutely did not order but he insisted we had.
Another thing was with the t.v.'s remote control, which we had to replace twice and still did not work, but it was not really an issue.
I forgot to mention the hotel also provides for some nightly entertainment a few times a week. It adds a nice chance to dance the night away.
Lastly, if you decide to stay here I'll recommend you go up the stairs that are next to the bar in the afternoon and sit in one of the couches to watch the sunset. Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Massiosare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.3 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
1,503 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 28 in San Andres
229 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#7 of 42 in San Andres Island
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 42 in San Andres Island
432 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#5 of 42 in San Andres Island
311 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Avenida Colombia, No. 3-59, San Andres Island 880060, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Tourism Registration No. 3436. The Casablanca Hotel of the Island of San Andres, Colombia, is pleased to announce the opening of its new swimming pool. Hotel Casablanca, your right choice in the Island of San Andres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing