We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location.”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My first time being in San Andres, Colombia, and staying at Hotel Casa Blanca. Immediately, on the approach to the hotel, with that white sand, and turquoise water of the beach greeting me, I was already hooked. Upon walking into the hotel, everything is very clean, beautiful art on the wall, just enough plants to give it that hint of greenery, and a waiter with a tray of pina coladas.

I stayed on the 5th floor, when the elevator doors opened, I just said, "ahhhh." Every detail was meant to reveal a more relaxing atmosphere. The color scheme, the simple decor, and the beautifully appointed rooms, all lent to a great hotel experience.

Very large room, I had a view of both the beach and poolside of the hotel. 2 Queen size beds, flatscreen tv, a/c, large bathroom and shower. A "Green" hotel, whereby you need to leave your key in the keypad to activate the lights, etc. A very great thing.

I did not really have many meals at the hotel, however, every morning, breakfast was on point and delicious. Wait staff are more than available to care for your needs as you dine. The food was plentiful, and well prepared. Everything from fresh fruit, to traditional American and Colombian options.

If you're a shopper, you are in the best place for shopping. Because a short walk on the pathway, will take you to ample shopping, restaurants, other hotels and discotheques, tours of the island, as well as the beach.

When next I am in San Andres, this hotel will definitely be on my list!

The only downside I had was the internet connection was not that great, but other than that, the hotel get's 5 Stars from me!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheTravelscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

There are not that many hotels on this small island so for limited choice this hotel will do! The location is great as its right on the beach. The pool is okay but has limited swimming times. The food is average but a lot of variety. The staff with a very few exceptions are just rude, especially the receptionists. Mattel the bell boy is a sweet heart. So if you need anything at all just ask him.
The room itself is average. A lot of coach rachel running around but the whole island has them.
Try and get a room with a view where possible cause it makes it all worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca46, Gerente at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Respect Sir:

We have received your rating and comments through communication true trip Advisor about our service. Believe us is a pleasure for us that you inform us about the experiences presented at our hotel, are positive or negative, help us to inprove our services standards; as you well aware. That the reason for our business. We have already sent these suggestion to the corresponding departments so that they are taken into account in the future and do the respective instructions we condone sincerely for the inconvenience this migth have caused, at the time that we will take measures to try to minimize the disturbances in our guests.

Please accept these apologies and thanks for your patience and tolerance

Best regards,

German Arenas Tobian
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Hotel Casablanca has an amazing veiw towards the sea and to the beautiful island of Jhonny Cay. Once we entered the hotel the staff treated us very well, all the staff were kind and made us feel very welcome. We were taken to our room and the bellboy gave us a through out tour of the hotel room and told us how to control the things in the room. Our first night in the hotel room our air conditioning broke down and maintenance was in our room in a coupleof minutes and our A/C was fixed in less that ten minutes which we found fantastic. The only thing we disliked about the room was the bathroom. The bathroom had the toilet on one side with transparant doors and the shower was on the other side directly across from the toilet and the doors to the shower were also transperant and that was a bit uncomfortable but we werre able to manage. The food in the hotel was spectacular as it was a buffett. All the food was fresdh and typical of South America. Hotel Casablanca really made oiur stay more enjoyable and was really worth the money that we payed. We most certainly will stay in Hotel Casablanca again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peppita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The hotel has a great location, just 5 meters from the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean. You have to pay a double price to have a sea view though!
The receptionist are lazy, slow and very unpleasant. Their main answer is NO.
We stayed 2 people there and could NOT get a second room card till it has been 'approved' by a manager- 'only one card per room' - well it is probably the most stupid rule of not only San Andres, but maybe the whole Colombia- someone must have invented that stupidity and it needed more that 24 hours for get the second one. Of course the receptionist could NOT think of calling the manager the same day, it was just beyond her broad imagination.
Breakfast food is very limited and poor. Presentation miserable. Probably my dogs get better meals.
However, other meals at the restaurant, when you pay separately, are nice, delicious and presented in proper way, but the service is again the best- reserve 30 minutes before you get bread and butter (if you ever get it, maybe you have to ask for it).
AC and internet works fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaroslaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed at the Casablanca with my family for 4 nights. The hotel was ok - a bit expensive. It has one small pool, no gym or spa and the rooms are big and clean. They were doing some renovation work so there was a lot of banging coming from above all day long. The hotels is in a good location right next to a beautiful beach however I was a little disappointed with the downtown area surrounding the hotel. It is dirty and very commercial are with rows of stores selling cheap tat. It is best to go all inclusive as there are no decent restaurants in San Andres and the hotel restaurant has no breakfast menu. I guess it was low season as a lot of places appeared to be closed however there are a couple of local places where you can get fresh fish and rice for around $10.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I showed up at very short notice, the clerk at the desk was very helpfull and even upgraded my room because my WIFI wouldnt wouldnt work. Friendly staff and very clean rooms:) Best part of the trip was the scooter ride around the island, bring your camera some water and enjoy the views!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanehanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I was on San Andres for 2 weeks started off at the Hotel Decameron Aquarium, which was horrible. Ended up finding this hotel. This is by far the best spot on the Island. Located right in the heart of everything and steps from the beach. Rooms are average but for the price compared to the other options on San Andres this is the spot. Ask about the apartment you can rent if you can book the apartment associated with Casablanca DO IT and you won't regret it. But overall you wont go wrong with location of this hotel.

Room Tip: before booking ask about the apartment they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bryant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#23 of 29 in San Andres
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#4 of 29 in San Andres
1,586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Pierre
Hotel Lord Pierre
#25 of 43 in San Andres Island
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
462 reviews
3 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#16 of 43 in San Andres Island
949 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: Avenida Colombia, No. 3-59, San Andres Island 880060, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: £136 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Tourism Registration No. 3436. The Casablanca Hotel of the Island of San Andres, Colombia, is pleased to announce the opening of its new swimming pool. Hotel Casablanca, your right choice in the Island of San Andres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing