We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eddy and the staff at Casablanca couldn't have been more helpful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eddy and the staff at Casablanca couldn't have been more helpful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a great place to stay in Sapa, made even better by staff who are proud to show you their village and ensure you enjoy your stay. My wife and three teenage children had a wonderful stay. Mr Eddy was a brilliant host. It's not the Hilton by any means but I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    433
    148
    53
    48
See reviews for
312
529
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gmuff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Went on Tripadvisor and the place looked like the best place on the Island. We were coming in via a private boat so I was not sure of my arrival date. Upon arrival we took a taxi over and was immediately greeted by a reception person that was very rude she had us sit down in front of her as she checked us in she kept answering other peoples questions that were rudely speaking from behind us where we were sitting. It took nearly an hour to check in. There was a total of 3 of us so we asked for 2 rooms. When we got to our rooms we saw that it was a duplex with a room upstairs with a king size bed and downstairs room had two doubles. So I went right back to the front desk and asked her why did she not explain the rooms to us. She replied we never asked I told her we can just stay in one rooms but was told it would be more expensive so instead of arguing with her I just said whatever and went back to my room.

The breakfast buffet is very mediocre if you show up before they open it and ask for a cup of coffee they are very rude and say they are not open yet.

Checking out was an ordeal as well took nearly 35 minutes. I was so happy to get out of there. The rooms were clean and had nice amenities but the entire staff just seemed very un friendly they do not even say good morning to you. I guess the fish smells from the head down. If you do not speak Spanish you have difficulties communicating with anyone at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Mr/Ms.

We have received your review of the Casablanca Hotel.

First of all we would like to thank you for your review as it is very important for us to know how our guests qualify our services. If I may, I would very kindly like to explain the issues you have experienced during your stay at our Hotel.

It is important that you know why we assigned you a Bungalow and not a Room: As requested by you, after revising the types of accommodation we offer, we allocated you a Bungalow as it has: A terrace facing the pool and garden, Lounge, Dining room, and two independent rooms including all the services the Hotel has to offer. This assignment was made as requested and taking into account your special request of a room in the first floor. This being stated in the voucher provided to us by your Agency.

When an explanation was required, we clarified that we assigned as required.

Regarding the coffee issue, the Hotel has coffee self-service from 6:00am to 11:00pm.

We will take note of your opinion on our food. It's always good to know our guests' perception on the quality of our food so we can improve.

We try to be as much friendly and polite as we can to all our guests. So please excuse us if you felt we were rude to you at some point.

Having exposed our perspective on the issue and in a very respectful way, we do not consider your rating as fair and appropriate, but we respect it as it is your very own personal opinion and perspective on us.

Once again we would like to thank you for reviewing us; as reviews, be good or bad, help us notice and improve the services we provide our guests with.

Best regards,

Hotel Casablanca Management and Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Wouldn't stay any place else, service was great, location is perfect right in front of the beach. You can walk from the beach to the pool, food was good although I find it fun to go out in search for places to eat, therefore only did the breakfast plan but the buffet looked good for all meals, they also have sit down restaurants to choose from. Wifi available. The lobby was under construction but the rooms were perfect. Do ask for ocean view, it's way better than staying in the rooms by the pool. Wouldn't stay any place else in the island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It is important for us to know how our guests qualify our services. We are pleased to know that you liked the Casablanca Hotel and its services and that you had a lively time here on the island. We would like to see you again soon at the Casablanca Hotel the next time you visit this part of the Colombian Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Literally this was a cool hotel on a very humid but beautiful island! The air-conditioning was efficient in all areas of the hotel including the reception where, on arrival, we were handed a delicious fruit cocktail. The hotel was efficiently run (except for the lack of English-speaking staff) and spotlessly clean. Our room was very spacious and had a balcony with beautiful views. Although there were several restaurant areas attached to the hotel, the main eating area for guests was situated around the open-air pool which was great when the weather was good but a bit of a problem when there was a downpour of rain!! There was a good selection of food at mealtimes and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a lot bigger than others so it's worth asking about your individual room. Also s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your review. It's important for us to know how our guests qualify our service, and we are pleased to know that you liked the Casablanca Hotel. We'd love to see you again the next time you visit this part of the Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is in the best spot in my opinion as far as the town center goes. The rooms are very clean, the service is really orderly and friendly. There arent really any hotels directly on the beach but this would be the closest thing to it. There is only a nice seawall in between and it has a direct view out to Johnny's. This hotel in my opinion is one of the best hotels for value.

Room Tip: Our room was around the pool which we thought was the most convenient. We were not really looking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49north1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Americans and world travelers! Many reviews you read are difficult to believe because you don't know the experience level of the person writing. I am an American who has traveled to many South American countries. So the advice I will give is based on wonderful as well as horrible experiences. San Andres Island has both! Be very careful where you stay. Most hotels are really poorly run motels with poor food and services. This past week we were supposed to stay at the Sunrise. For many reasons, Don't stay there, including moldy rooms, horrible food and poor service. We immediately got into a cab and traveled the entire island. We went into a dozen hotels. The DeCameron hotels had people at the front counters who didn't know what they were doing...and weren't even allowed to rent rooms! So he message to me was...they don't trust thier people or they aren't smart enough to rent a room. They all had availability. Luckily I found the CasaBlanca. Incredible service. The best I have seen in the Americas. The food was excellent and the staff was simply incredible. The highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

My first time being in San Andres, Colombia, and staying at Hotel Casa Blanca. Immediately, on the approach to the hotel, with that white sand, and turquoise water of the beach greeting me, I was already hooked. Upon walking into the hotel, everything is very clean, beautiful art on the wall, just enough plants to give it that hint of greenery, and a waiter with a tray of pina coladas.

I stayed on the 5th floor, when the elevator doors opened, I just said, "ahhhh." Every detail was meant to reveal a more relaxing atmosphere. The color scheme, the simple decor, and the beautifully appointed rooms, all lent to a great hotel experience.

Very large room, I had a view of both the beach and poolside of the hotel. 2 Queen size beds, flatscreen tv, a/c, large bathroom and shower. A "Green" hotel, whereby you need to leave your key in the keypad to activate the lights, etc. A very great thing.

I did not really have many meals at the hotel, however, every morning, breakfast was on point and delicious. Wait staff are more than available to care for your needs as you dine. The food was plentiful, and well prepared. Everything from fresh fruit, to traditional American and Colombian options.

If you're a shopper, you are in the best place for shopping. Because a short walk on the pathway, will take you to ample shopping, restaurants, other hotels and discotheques, tours of the island, as well as the beach.

When next I am in San Andres, this hotel will definitely be on my list!

The only downside I had was the internet connection was not that great, but other than that, the hotel get's 5 Stars from me!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheTravels_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.3 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#2 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 28 in San Andres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
#2 of 28 in San Andres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Sardina
Hotel Bahia Sardina
#1 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Avenida Colombia, No. 3-59, San Andres Island 880060, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Tourism Registration No. 3436. The Casablanca Hotel of the Island of San Andres, Colombia, is pleased to announce the opening of its new swimming pool. Hotel Casablanca, your right choice in the Island of San Andres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing