We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, overpriced, rooms great/terrible,”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Well shall I begin...
The checkin like many other people have stated took about a week, they could have cared less about us as people, and they proceeded to stop helping us and help some airline people during the middle of our process. They are previously and presently under renovation and that gives you lots of amazing surprises such as: Bathroom door does not have a handle so if after your hands our wet or have lotion good luck getting out without assistance, there is no hot water and thanks to possibly the worst service on earth no assistance with this, and the best surprise was little cable sneaking out of the bedside lamp switch that shocked the (insert explicative here and see photo) out of me. When I ran downstairs to inform them about being shocked, that my daughter of two was playing with the lamp earlier,(and I would have killed them had something happened to her) their response was.."ok I will send someone up". The employee came up in about 10 minutes and then grabbed the lamp from my hand, stated in the morning, and promptly left. I am only 1.5 days into our 4 day trip.. can not wait to see what greatness awaits at checkout.

In closing, San Andrés is amazing, most of the people are so caring and wonderful we have met so far, the hotel location is great, but the service, price, and quality just take what could be a spectacular hotel and make it una porquería/motel 6.

(We have stayed in more than 50 hotels (low to high scale) throughout Colombia and the service here is by far the worst)

There are many other options on the island.. do not COME HERE.. look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eibborj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Mr./Mrs.

Thank you for your review on the Casablanca Hotel.

It is very important for us to get feedback from our guests so we can assess the services we offer at the Hotel. This is why we take each and every single review as equally important. When we get any negative feedback we take immediate action and open an investigation on the subject so we can give an appropriate answer to our guests, and this case is not the exception.

Having studied your situation, we must ask you to reconsider the way you have qualified the Hotel as it does not correspond to the real events, making your statement inappropriate and unfair.

To illustrate our point, even though we know that sometimes the check-in process may take more than expected, this time the delay was due to the circumstances of your reservation as it was supposed to be for 2 rooms and 2 additional people but you let us know you were only taking 1 room and wanted a refund for the other one. Unfortunately this was impossible as stated on the terms and conditions of your purchase. Since you still wanted a refund after the explanation, it took more time to complete your registration.

The reason why the aircrew's process was faster is because the Hotel, in partnership with the airline, has every single detail needed to complete their registration prior their arrival.

We have also found out that the problem with the lamp was caused when someone pulled the cable during your stay and gave you a shock when you tried to pull it out. It is important to note that this was not caused by the Hotel.

Having said this, and bearing in mind the survey you left at the Hotel when you checked-out (in which you evaluate positively our services), we must insist you reconsider the way you have assessed us on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

The Casablanca Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel was the worst I have stayed in Colombia regarding staff attitude.. They will not even greet you if they run into you. When I was sitting by the pool, one of the staff would tell to move from my sunbed because they need to wash the covers..
There was not hot water in the room and another member of the staff would put me a bad face when coming to fix it.
At 11pm at night, someone from housekeeping come to my room and knocked the door thinking the A/C was not working, when I told him we hadnt reported any problems with the A/C he literally turned around and left without saying a word ( we were already sleeping) not even sorry ! not even bye..
I work in a five star hotel in China and I have travelled a lot around the world. I have never found such a bad service and attitude from employees anywhere.

The hote facilities are nice and the location is very convenient. The food is delicious and every day you have different dishes.
The rooms are big and clean but difficult to find a plug to charge the phone or use the computer! I had to move the bed and the furniture .. so not convenient!

Room Tip: Rooms on the building, not the "villas" are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Ms.

We have checked your comments and we do have do disagree with everything you've pointed out in this review. Nothing you've reported did actually happen so we do have to ask you to reconsider what you have written as this damages the image of the Hotel drastically.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed all over Colombia and this hotel was by far the worst experience we had. Check in was delayed until 4:30 leaving us to sit and wait until we could go to the beach. When our second guest arrived he had to wait ten minutes for paperwork to be printed even after the check in process was complete. If they anticipated the second guest which we apprised them of they should have had the paperwork ready. The room itself was spare and poorly furnished - and the water smelled funny coming out of the shower. There are two sides to this hotel - a relatively modern side and a not so modern side. We got the poorer side - some call these the villas. The light was a depressing fluorescence reserved for fourth world countries. The staff was unhelpful and downright rude. After confirming we could delay our check in, the staff reneged on the offer, constantly harassing us by phone and coming to our door while we packed as fast as we could. Staying here absolutely ruined the trip to San Andres for me altogether - I won't be coming back and would discourage my friends from doing the same.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank razorweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Mr/Ms

Thank you for reviewing the Casablanca Hotel in San Andres Island. It is important for us to know how our guests qualify our services as reviews help us improve and get better each day.

We have studied this review and we'd kindly like to say we do not consider your rating as fair and appropriate, but we respect it as it is your very own personal opinion. However, it is important that we have our say in the matter.

First of all, we try to make the check-in process as fast as possible. Delays could happen and when it does, we suggest our guests to leave the baggage in our baggage room while our guests start using our facilities.

Regarding to the second guest, it is imperative that we get a photocopy of the passport and ID number to register anyone in the Hotel. This could be the reason why it took longer when this second guest arrived at the Hotel.

Please note that any maintenance problem must be reported at the front desk so we can start working on the problem.

Also it is important that we clarify that the Hotel has been completely refurbished. The Hotel does not have villas but Bungalows or Cabanas which have been refurbished not long ago and cost reasonably more than a standard room. It is important to clarify this as we do not understand how a more expensive kind of room, refurbished a few time ago, was in poorer conditions than a standard room.

The Casablanca Hotel offers you an apology if the staff was rude to you. We will study this situation and soon enough we will take proper actions on the matter.

Once again, the Casablanca Hotel would like to thank you for having taken the time to review us and would like you to reconsider the way you have reviewed on us.

Best Regards,

The Casablanca Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is clean, small and is located in front of the most beautiful beach in San Andrés. The rooms are comfortable, we had a very good room,spacious, with balcony ( although most of the rooms are much smaller than this). The things that could be better: the breakfast, which could be better, but it's not bad; the internet works well only in the reception, in the rooms it does not works very well and the air conditioning that which minimum temperature was 23ºC and for me it's not cold enough to have a good sleeping.
The staff was very attentive to all our requests and go to great lengths to satisfy its inglenook. The hotel has 3 restaurants and the food is simply note 10, at any of them! Even if you do not stay there worth going in Sea Watch coffee and to enjoy the food, mandarin juice and lemonade coconut. I highly recommend the hotel and restaurants, for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank BrancadeNeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Casablanca Hotel. It is very important for us to know how our guests qualify our services, helping us improve and get better each day. We will be waiting for you at the Casablanca Hotel the next time you visit San Andres Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had booked for a week. I wanted to change my plans about 4 weeks out but the booking was non-refundable. I find this astonishing, given the notice they had. The hotel itself is conveniently situated right on the beach walkway, and away from the giant, package holiday hotels. My room was extremely clean and tastefully finished in white and scrubbed wood. Plenty of wardrobe space but bathroom was a little tight. Breakfast buffet was large. I ate in one of the restaurants, Mahi Mahi, ostensibly Thai cuisine - or at least one dish was. It was overpriced. The hotel employs many staff but none was particularly friendly. It was usually I who initiated a greeting. Serving staff have honed the ability to avoid looking at customers and service is slow. I asked for a toothpick after every breakfast (7) but only received one twice! On one occasion I was told to get one at the bar! The service here is not aporopriate to the style or the orice of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor, poolside only, have private balconies. The public walkway on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhineasFogg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Casablanca Hotel. It is important for us to know how our guests qualify our services and that is the reason why your comments will be taken into account. We are pleased to know that you liked the Hotel overall. The Hotel management will study the inconveniences you had with our staff to take proper actions. Once again, the Hotel would like to thank you for reviewing on us. The Casablanca Hotel will be waiting for you again, the next time you visit this part of the Colombian Caribbean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at this place and was unsure of what to expect, value for money is right up there with all others. If you want the Ritz or the Hilton, don't expect it, they never claim to be, so those below complaining about little problems,if you don't like that go somewhere else and pay for more, the breakfast menu was fine, the rooms are good and comfortable, staff are very friendly and were never rude and discourteous, there is a particular culture in San Andres, but they are not rude, get over yourselves, this is a very busy hotel and you get good value for money, the only complaint I had was that one person decided to let me know to wear a shirt in the eating area, but yelled it out so people right across the pool area could hear, remember lady, my money for staying keeps you in a job so show some respect and use your commonsense, a quiet word to the side was all that was needed, courtesy goes a long way, overall I will be back again when coming to San Andres, your hotel rocks and so do your staff,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwipaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing us. It is important for us to know our guests' experiences at the Casablanca Hotel. We are pleased to know that our services lived up to your expectations. We apologise for any inconveniences you may have experienced at the Hotel: We will take action on the case. The Casablanca Hotel and its staff will be waiting for you the next time you visit this part of the Colombian Caribbean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Clean, large room. Comfortable bed. We had a sea view room on the second floor. I would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor to avoid noise from the walkway in front of the hotel. Good swimming beach across walkway. Buffet breakfast had a good assortment of hot and cold foods. Would stay here again if visiting San Andres.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank char s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review. It is very important for us to know how our guests qualify our services. We are pleased to know that the service we provided you with lived up to your expectations. We would like to see you again at the Casablanca Hotel soon. The Hotel and its staff will be waiting for you the next time you visit this part of Colombia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.3 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 29 in San Andres
1,545 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
232 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#10 of 43 in San Andres Island
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
7.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arena Blanca
Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 29 in San Andres
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: Avenida Colombia, No. 3-59, San Andres Island 880060, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: £135 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Tourism Registration No. 3436. The Casablanca Hotel of the Island of San Andres, Colombia, is pleased to announce the opening of its new swimming pool. Hotel Casablanca, your right choice in the Island of San Andres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing