We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Zuana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zuana Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The pool are very nice and well maintained, the menu had a lot of options although pricey. The room and building need maintenance and the looby needs a facelift. The service was bad. Only after we started offering tips, the waiters offered a better service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jairo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    483
    205
    101
    60
See reviews for
941
311
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel the first week of July 2013. The rooms and facilites are well maintained and beautiful. We did not have any problem with the service. However, the staff needs to be trained to be courteous and gentle. It seems that the customer service culture needs to be deep implemented into the staff. The hotel needs to impplement more activities within the facilities and have handy more information (Maps, routes, etc) about the places that surrounds the area. We used the gym, It has a good view and a lot of equipment to have a good routine, the trainer is good. The bar is bore, the music and shows have to be increased and improved. In general the hotel is good for family vacation.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is good. Try to reserve in the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xoemy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week on time share exchange. The facility is spotless and very well maintained. The pools are beautiful and the beach also. The local hawkers are not overly annoying. We were in the older section, but our suite was refurbished and very nice. Do not have the buffet - it was our worst meal in Colombia and very expensive. The hamburgers are fantastic. In all, the food and drinks are pricey and we went to Santa Marta for a main meal per day and prepared breakfast in our suite. You can take a taxi to Santa Marta for about 20,000 each way, but we used the local. Us which we picked up on the main road for 1,500 CP.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediazuana, Director Comercial at Zuana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is very much appreciated. We´ll take your suggestions about the buffet. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Marta soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Santa Marta area is an unique place in the world with perpetual snow at the top of the sierra nevada, close by the warmest water of the caribbean sea. Zuana offers local tours to discover that beautiful zone.
Colombian People and specialty the caribbean citizens are open, friendly and fun people that will make you feel in a very spacial place.
The Hotel haver a very nice facilities, brand new spa with water circuit, 4 bowling lines, 3 tennis courts, about 7 different pools, royal palms, and every night they offer different activities with professional dancers in the beach or at the pool area. Very clean and you can cook in your suite that is clean every day by the hotel personnel. We practice Zumba at the beach daily!!
The red snapper fried at the beach open kitchen is the best of the world. (the food at the indoor restaurant are very expensive and no so good for the price (it couldn't be perfect!!! :) )

Room Tip: All rooms have a full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capgaviriab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and were terribly disappointed. While the facilities are excellent with nice features, good beach an pool areas and comfortable well decorated rooms, the service and the food were shockingly terrible.
The staff tries to be hospitable but they lack formal training in very basic customer service principles. Although the number of servers and attendants appeared to be sufficient, the wait times were outrageous in all areas of the hotel (front desk, restaurants, pool service, towels, etc). The quality of the menu items offered was equally disappointing, particularly given how heavily overpriced everything is in comparison to other local venues of similar or higher quality. The menu was dull, poorly executed, lacking creativity and freshness, and with minimal variety. This hotel has tremendous potential and its a shame that the terrible service and bad food ruin the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gpradilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

At such an expensive rate I was expecting a lot more. It has some very nice pools, but several parts of the hotel were under construction so we had to ask to change rooms. Our first room came with banging noises at 7 am and the fumes of paint thinner. Our second room was better but there was still construction near the restaurant! When we arrived there was no toilet paper in our room and I had to ask 3 people (and it took 3 hours) to get any. ???

Many amenities were advertised on their website and in their brochures, but those were closed when we were there. The pool tables and bowling alley were among those. The 'hot tubs' were only hot on certain days of the week. That was odd. There are bars all around the hotel and pools, which was convenient. In general the food was very Americanized and generic. I enjoyed the cheaper local food over anything we got at the resort.

The only staff who spoke English were a few of the receptionists and some servers. I tried hard to communicate in the limited Spanish I speak but the rest of the staff were VERY rude about not bothering to try to communicate back. In the other parts of Colombia and Venezuela we visited the majority of people were polite and helpful despite our limited language skills because we were trying so hard. Not the staff at Zuana.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if they are doing construction near the room they intend to give you. They won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EEdanceGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed for a week in the beginning of June and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very good and we have no complaints about reception. We were in the old part but the room was clean and tidy and well serviced. We did find the beds too hard for us but still slept well.
Would not rave about the food but we only ate on site a few times because we had a rental car and like to explore. Very happy with the variety of pools and the security of the premises over all.
It was a good base for us to go to Tayrona Park and other interesting spots in and around Santa Marta.
On a final note which I will cover on another post under rental cars, we had a small dispute and our hotel staff were fantastic. We do not speak Spanish but with our phrase book and the staff who did not speak English we had no problems at all. There were English speaking staff as well,just not many. The one point that did annoy was a nightly insurance charge, this was our first visit to Colombia so maybe it is the norm. Considering we take out fully comprehensive insurance when we travel to cover all eventualities this felt like a ripoff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialmediazuana, Manager´s representative at Zuana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. It has been a real pleasure to have you and your family here at Zuana Beach Resort and in our country as well. We and our entire personnel are committed to high service standards to guarantee our visitors to have a great experience. We´ll be looking forward to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#38 of 67 in Santa Marta
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
7.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
519 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuana Beach Resort

Property: Zuana Beach Resort
Address: Carrera 2 No. 6-80 | Bello Horizonte, Santa Marta 470006, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zuana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the mountains and the Colombian Caribbean sea you find Santa Marta, the oldest city in South America. In the middle of this tropical paradise and its charm is Zuana Beach Resort. This five star resort offers privileged landscapes and amazing tourist activities that allow relaxation and recreation of its visitantes. In Zuana you can have it all, the best beaches, great service and exclusive accommodation, which makes this the ideal destination to visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Zuana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuana Beach Hotel Santa Marta
Zuana Beach Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing