We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Brisa Loca Hostel
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Staff is amazing, all really kind and willing to help us with anything (they called several times to our taxi driver and also ordered medicine from the drugstore when we needed).
The atmosphere is pretty good as well as the hostel has a lot of places to hang in with a very very nice terrace.
Everything is organized and they have a very simple system for things (eg: you don't need to pay for towels or make a deposit). Also, common areas and bathroom are constantly cleaned.
The price of food and drinks is fair and they always have some sort of promotion like 2x1, extra rum shots, etc.
Lockers in the bedrooms are electronic pascode and are not exactly of friendly usage, so they are all locked likely because people used it wrong (me included =) ).
If you really care about internet connection, it is not very good everywhere in the hostel and it is not very stable. But, you won't really need it with such nice people around!
I'd definitely go back there!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emilena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for La Brisa Loca Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice hostel in good location. Great bar and rooftop area. But it is very hot so make sure you get an airconditioned room as it was the the two worst nights sleep I have had.
Everything is clean and the mexican restaurant attached is good.

Room Tip: choose aircon
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadegrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here hoping for a down to earth place. This was really bad version of animal house. Really drunk guys trying to feel me up - I did not feel safe at all. Outsiders were coming and going all night. The parties end at 5 am, good luck sleeping at all before then. My advice is go somewhere else. This place is one of the worst hostels I have ever been to.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelglorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edore, Owner at La Brisa Loca Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. On Saturday we celebrated our 5 year anniversary, for which we did throw a large party celebrating with friends, family and our guests at the hostel. Nights such as these are uncommon and I apologize if our reception failed to tell you about the party upon check-in. We had 3 security guards on staff who ensured that every non-guest who entered the hostel left an ID with reception and was directed to the roof, where the party took place. Our security guards are always available if you care to report inappropriate behavior.

We hope you make it back to visit us on a day in the future when business runs as usual.

Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Definitely one of the best hostel I have been

Very good atmosphere, people were nice and interacting a lot with others,

The hostel organize games for the guests what makes even easier to get to know people,

Facilities were very clean and they had the perfect bathroom system for a hostel,

Rooms were big and confortable,

Drinks were not expansive,


JUST take care if you are drunk and decide to go to the beach at 3 am, I got robbed!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrebrazil15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everything a great hostel should be - great location, nice communal areas including a pool and roof top terrace with hammocks, great bar with nice food options and clean room with aircon.

It was a little disorganised though - there seems to be loads of people working/volunteering there but all doing a halfhearted job of it - reception always felt chaotic, the bar staff were a bit slow and forgot to put an order through to the kitchen and when we went to check out they had no record of the food and drink we'd had!

A couple of cons - wifi didn't work in our room and one night when we just wanted to get some sleep as we'd been camping in Tayrona for the previous two days, they played very loud music til midnight.

Overall though would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddlestoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We checked in and checked right back out since the wifi didn't reach our room. We were disappointed since it looked like a great place to stay. Wifi worked great in the common areas while we waited for our room to be cleaned. I can't comment about anything else.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Krista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at the Brisa Loca as my first stop on my north Colombia tour and I couldn't have picked a better place to start. The hostal is wonderfully located right in the heart of the city center, close to the parque de los novios and close to the sea side. It's the small things though, that really make you feel welcome as a traveller at the Brisa Loca. Every new guests gets a free welcome beer at the bar (which is open all day and half the night). Especially for solo travellers the bar is a great plalce to meet new people and share experiences. Also you can order extremely delicious breakfast and lunch during the day and dinner for the night due to the cooperation with the Mexican restaurant next door. Did I mention you get free coffee?
Also the showers and bathrooms were always really clean and a pleasure to use (especially after hiking back out of Tayrona Park). The pool finally is the cherry on the cake although I only used it once or twice.
Last but not least, what really set this hostel apart for me were the lovely and extremely helpful people who run it. Lola is from Santa Marta and has always nice recommendations for going out or getting a bite to eat. The people are really interested in you having a good time in Colombia and gladly help you figute out where to go next and how to get there. That was defenitly not always the case in hostels in Colombia. I would come back any time!!

Room Tip: I stayed at the dorm on the ground floor. Even though it was a bit noisy at night I slept really wel...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 176 in Santa Marta
741 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#4 of 176 in Santa Marta
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#8 of 176 in Santa Marta
224 reviews
5.2 mi away
Playa del Ritmo, Beach Hostel & Bar
3.1 mi away
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
#1 of 176 in Santa Marta
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Brisa Loca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Brisa Loca Hostel

Address: Calle 14 #3-58 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: £7 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by two brothers, Ryan & Evan Doré, La Brisa Loca encompasses everything great they found in the best backpackers hostels around the world after years of traveling and research. This beautiful, centrally located hostel is in a two-story, 80 year-old neo-Republican mansion that has been meticulously restored and remodeled to both recreate the colonial charm of the historic building while providing a variety of amenities for the value conscious backpacker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Brisa Loca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Brisa Loca Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing