We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Brisa Loca Hostel
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Really nice hostel in Santa Marta. Great atmosphere in the bar and great location. The staff were really friendly and because we were a big group one of the staff Ricky gave us a discount on our room, thanks Ricky! Pool is nice and clean and the rooftop terrace is lovely. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

If u wanna have the best time of ur life, come to this hostel. The food is great, and so r the drinks friendly staff, and the owners Ryan and Evan will do everything within their power to make u feel comfortable and enjoy ur time in sta marta

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcubillos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had an excellent stay! They owner and staff was as hospitable as you can possibly get. They also offer to keep travelers bags locked up for free. Hands down the best Hostel in Santa Marta! If you are traveling in Colombia this is a must to stay at. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Staff is amazing, all really kind and willing to help us with anything (they called several times to our taxi driver and also ordered medicine from the drugstore when we needed).
The atmosphere is pretty good as well as the hostel has a lot of places to hang in with a very very nice terrace.
Everything is organized and they have a very simple system for things (eg: you don't need to pay for towels or make a deposit). Also, common areas and bathroom are constantly cleaned.
The price of food and drinks is fair and they always have some sort of promotion like 2x1, extra rum shots, etc.
Lockers in the bedrooms are electronic pascode and are not exactly of friendly usage, so they are all locked likely because people used it wrong (me included =) ).
If you really care about internet connection, it is not very good everywhere in the hostel and it is not very stable. But, you won't really need it with such nice people around!
I'd definitely go back there!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emilena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice hostel in good location. Great bar and rooftop area. But it is very hot so make sure you get an airconditioned room as it was the the two worst nights sleep I have had.
Everything is clean and the mexican restaurant attached is good.

Room Tip: choose aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadegrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here hoping for a down to earth place. This was really bad version of animal house. Really drunk guys trying to feel me up - I did not feel safe at all. Outsiders were coming and going all night. The parties end at 5 am, good luck sleeping at all before then. My advice is go somewhere else. This place is one of the worst hostels I have ever been to.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelglorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edore, Owner at La Brisa Loca Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. On Saturday we celebrated our 5 year anniversary, for which we did throw a large party celebrating with friends, family and our guests at the hostel. Nights such as these are uncommon and I apologize if our reception failed to tell you about the party upon check-in. We had 3 security guards on staff who ensured that every non-guest who entered the hostel left an ID with reception and was directed to the roof, where the party took place. Our security guards are always available if you care to report inappropriate behavior.

We hope you make it back to visit us on a day in the future when business runs as usual.

Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Definitely one of the best hostel I have been

Very good atmosphere, people were nice and interacting a lot with others,

The hostel organize games for the guests what makes even easier to get to know people,

Facilities were very clean and they had the perfect bathroom system for a hostel,

Rooms were big and confortable,

Drinks were not expansive,


JUST take care if you are drunk and decide to go to the beach at 3 am, I got robbed!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrebrazil15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 186 in Santa Marta
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#8 of 186 in Santa Marta
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#4 of 186 in Santa Marta
632 reviews
5.2 mi away
Playa del Ritmo, Beach Hostel & Bar
0.9 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#5 of 186 in Santa Marta
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Brisa Loca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Brisa Loca Hostel

Address: Calle 14 #3-58 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 186 Speciality Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: £9 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by two brothers, Ryan & Evan Doré, La Brisa Loca encompasses everything great they found in the best backpackers hostels around the world after years of traveling and research. This beautiful, centrally located hostel is in a two-story, 80 year-old neo-Republican mansion that has been meticulously restored and remodeled to both recreate the colonial charm of the historic building while providing a variety of amenities for the value conscious backpacker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Brisa Loca Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing