We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud music ALL night long, very crowded in high season, poop.”
Review of Camping Tayrona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Marta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Tayrona
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The scenery and the beaches are indeed beautiful, the hike is challenging and presents beautiful views, and maybe if we had one of the four spots in the hut on the top of the hill, our experience would have been a bit different, but overall we were very disappointed in this site.

-It was extremely crowded (we were there in high season, first week of January). Beach was a sea of bodies, tents packed together like at a concert, etc...
-Loud, obnoxious music at night until 4:30 am. Why? We have no idea. There was nobody at the restaurant/bar save for perhaps 5 -10 staff members. The music was incredibly loud and ranged in the genres of Columbian traditional dance music to children's music to Columbian pop. On repeat. We got to know the songs well. This was the worst part. It made sleeping impossible. Maybe up on the hill or back near the horses you couldn't hear it as well but for most of the camp it was blasted through, loud and clear.
-Poop on the trails. Yes, as the other reviewers state, this is indeed the case. Bearable but definitely what you're hiking through for about half of the trail.
-Lots of families and kids that seem to be there for quite a while at a time. Colombian family holiday hot spot.

There are positives, yes, and I'm sure that in low season and in one of the cabins or hammocks it would be a great experience, but this is what we went through. Still unforgettable in it's own way. I'm sure we'll look back at the experience and laugh one day.

Room Tip: In the little cabin at the top of the hill or not at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeliTeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

After a somewhat stressful experience with Reception - we were behind people who had a voucher with confirmed booking for a cabin, but none were available - the welcome was warm. We used both tents and hammocks. Neither was new or spotless, but clean enough to use. The site is simple, but showers are excellent and toilets function (bring your own paper). The on-site restaurant is not bad value, despite having what is effectively a captive audience. The walk to Pueblito is a must, but not for the unfit. There are lockers for valuables, bring your own padlock.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DUN01170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is by far the busiest and most touristy of the campsites in the national park. It's also one of the few campsites with has a swimmable beach which is why we ended up here and also probably explains why it gets so busy. It's a bit of a hike from the entrance to the park but the beach is indeed incredible, very sheltered from the dangerous rifts that are found along a lot of this coastline. The restaurant is ok, If a little overpriced, however the camping itself is pretty terrible.

We decided tent over hammock, which initially we were smug about as there was a lot of rain the day we arrived. When it was time to get into the tent our smugness quickly disappeared. The mattress they provided in the tent was badly stained and smelt like someone had died on it. They provided no sheets, luckily we had our own, but it felt like they needing fumigating after spending the night here! We lay awake most of the night trying not to expose any part of our skin to the mattress. The hammocks would have possibly been a better choice after all!

We spoke to people who stayed in other campsites in the park, and they described their tents as being clean and good condition. If you are not bothered about where you sleep and just want a beautiful beach with good swimming nearby then stay here, otherwise I would recommend staying at one of the nearby campsites and walking up to this beach to swim!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank angbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely campsite. Lots of space. Decent food. Good value. Clean toilets & outdoor showers. Would recommend - if you don't want to stay at Cabo San Juan (which has a better beach but is a much further walk & the campsite looked really busy!). Don Pedro is in Arricefes (you can't swim there) but its about a 20 min walk to 2 lovely bays where you can swim & a further 20 min (ish) walk to Cabo San Juan. We got a tent for 2 people (25 pesos between us - about €7) which seemed better value than a hammock. The food was good value (you can get a decent meal for 12-25 pesos & a beer for 4 pesos). Its set back a bit, in the jungle- but is an easy walk to the beach. We stayed 3 nights & only left because we ran out of money! Take enough cash... you might find you want to stay longer than you think!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

un lugar divino.. tranquilo y como todo "naturaleza"
al llegar pagar entrada para ingresar a esta reserva natural, tomamos un pequeño colectivo (autobus) por 2.000 pesos colombianos, nos deja en el parqueadero del tayrona, luego hacemos una caminata, puede durar depende de ti, podrian ser 2 horas.. si observa cuando caminas, los animales, las playas..todo!! Vale la pena hacerlo con calma y disfrutar el camino.
al llegar hicimos camping en una finca llamada "Don Pedro" la tarifa es de 10.000 pesos colombianos sin carpa.. UN CONSEJO.. no lleves carpa ellos la alquilan por 2.000 pesos mas. "EN TOTAL 12.000 POR NOCHE CON CARPA" para caminar a ver las playas vale la pena.. La arenilla,la piscina y el cabo..un poco mas retirada esta la playa nudista "no la conoci"
las duchas limpias y el agua fria, es normal vienen de las montañas
En el tayrona puedes encontrar comida:
arepa de huevo: 3.000 en la panaderia
jugo de naranja:4.000 en la panaderia
gaseosa: 4.000 en la panaderia
no recomiendo mucho los panes, son caros y pequeños
desayuno en la finca don pedro: huevos, cafe, arepa ....8.000


el primer camino para llegar a todas esta playa y buscar donde campar vale la pena es mas bonito.,... pero si al regreso prefieres algo mas corto y caminar menos... PUEDES ESCOGER EL CAMINO DE LOS CABALLOS... MENOS TIEMPO PERO TIENE MAS BARRO Y NO ES TAN BONITO....PUEDES AHORRAR 30 MINUTOS O 45...PIENSO YO..

CONOZCO TODOS LOS PAISES DE SUR AMERICA, ME FALTO VENEZUELA.. ALGUN DIA
PERO SIN DUDA ALGUNA COMO EL TAYRONA COLOMBIA TIENE LUGARES HERMOSOS, LIMPIOS, TRANQUILOS Y CON GENTE AMABLE
ESPERO LES SIRVA ESTA PEQUEÑA GUIA

a divine place .. quiet and like all "nature"
to get admission charge to enter the nature reserve, take a small collective (bus) for 2,000 Colombian pesos left us in the parking lot of Tayrona, then we hike, can last up to you, could be 2 hours .. if you notice when you walk, animals, beaches .. everything! Worth doing it slow and enjoy the journey.
to reach camping on a farm we call "Don Pedro" rate is 10,000 Colombian pesos without a tent .. ADVICE .. not bring them rented tent 2,000 pesos more. "IN TOTAL 12,000 PER NIGHT WITH CARP" to walk to see the beaches worth it .. The grit, the pool and out .. a little more this nudist beach retreat "not known"
clean showers and cold water is normal from the mountains
In the Tayrona can find food:
arepa de huevo: 3,000 in the bakery
Orange juice: 4,000 in the bakery
gas: 4,000 in the bakery
not highly recommend the bread, are expensive and small
Breakfast on the farm don pedro: eggs, coffee, corn bread .... 8,000


the first way to get all this beach and look where camping is worth more beautiful., ... but if the return prefer something shorter and walk less ... CAN CHOOSE THE WAY OF HORSES ... BUT LESS IS MORE MUD TIME AND IS NOT SO PRETTY .... YOU CAN SAVE 30 MINUTES OR 45 ... I THINK ..

KNOW ALL COUNTRIES OF SOUTH AMERICA, ME I MISS VENEZUELA .. SOMEDAY
WITHOUT DOUBT AS THE BEAUTIFUL PLACES HAVE COLOMBIA TAYRONA, CLEAN, QUIET AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE
HOPE YOU SERVE THIS LITTLE GUIDE

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank belkys e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had wanted to spend some time in Tayrona Park for the end of our trip in Colombia in May 2013.
Don Pedro had been recommended ( LP ? ), and because my better half's back is a bit fragile the idea of sleeping in a hammock , or even in a tent, was not attractive, so we had somebody calling from Santa Marta about reserving one of their cabana for the night.
So we took the 6000 peso local bus from Santa Marta to the park's entrance, paid the 38000 pesos fee, took the 2000 peso shuttle to the trail's head, walked all the way to Arrecifes, and arrived at Don Pedro after crossing a little stream.
We were a bit surprised when we arrived, sweaty and tired by the hike, as the cabana in question ( they have only one ) had seen better days.
Price was 100,000 pesos .
One not so big bed, slightly sagging at the middle, two sheets, one cold shower with a questionable shower curtain, and a toilet.
No mosquito net, no pillows, no towels, no soap, no toilet paper, no chair, no table, no key for the door ( no problem there as the door does not close anyway ).
There are ,however, an old fan and two weak lightbulbs, one for the 'room" one for the shower\toilet.
It is at the end of the campsite, right next to the jungle, and everything was a bit damp.
Power was down the first night, and at the restaurant ( full that night ) everybody was eating by the candle light, which was kind of nice.
Actually we had a good first night, we slept well, we saw lots of fireflies around the cabana, and no mosquito problems, so we decided to stay there two more nights and negotiated down to 80,000 a night breakfast included.
They have fruit trees around the campsite, and we picked up a few mangos, and some limes for our water.
The food at the restaurant is basic and fulfilling.
Travelers staying in May were French, German, English, Colombians, and they all seem to enjoy the place.
It took me a little time to appreciate Tayrona, I did not really like it at first as I was ,wrongly , expecting a more "Caribbean" feel.
But I appreciated its rugged beauty later on , and we both enjoyed our stay.
Arrecifes is a long windy beach with strong waves, not the most cheerful place.
But keep walking and better beaches are there, Cabo San Juan being the best one.
The trail up to Pueblito can be tough at times, but worth it, although there is not much left of the original town.
I have put 3 stars for Finca Don Pedro, the park itself should be 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stechaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

It's a bit of a hike to get here but it is one of the nicer beaches and good for swimming so probably worth it and you really couldn't ask for a nicer view. The facilities are not fantastic. Showers are outdoors and there is no paper so make sure you bring your own. We stayed in the hammock hut (16 hammocks perched on the hill) for 25000 each per night. The ones in the campsite are cheaper. You cross a river (about waist deep at high tide, ankle deep at low) to get there and there are no lights or bathrooms so don't forget your torch when you go to dinner. It is not a great place to be if the weather is not good. It had rained the night before we were there and rained heavily the night we were there. If you have a hammock facing the water you are likely to be soaked by morning. It can also be cold so take warm clothes and a sleeping bag liner or similar. The ground also flooded so if the weather is not looking good, make sure you get your stuff off the ground. Our shoes had floated away by morning. The hammocks on at the campsite are not as exposed to the wind etc but have mozzies. There are free lockers (byo padlock), an expensive restaurant and a little shop. Expect to pay about 4000 pesos for a beer and a minimum of 15000 for a basic dinner. From taganga a collectivo will take you to the m rakers in santa marta for 1200pesos, then you can get another collectivo to tayrona for 6000 so this was a MUCH cheaper way than a tourist shuttle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
9.2 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
126 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#40 of 70 in Santa Marta
72 reviews
6.8 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Playa Brava Teyumakke
Playa Brava Teyumakke
#6 of 11 in Tayrona National Park
41 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
#2 of 5 in Tayrona National Park
92 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hacienda Valencia
Hacienda Valencia
#73 of 205 in Santa Marta
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Tayrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Tayrona

Address: Tayrona National Park, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Santa Marta
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Camping Tayrona Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing