We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best camping in Tayrona”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping Tayrona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Marta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Tayrona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best camping in Tayrona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We we advised by Colombian friends to stay here, and they were so right!

When you get to Arrecifes turn inwards (away from the camping site by the beach) and 10 minutes later you will find an ample and gorgeous camping site surrounded by palm trees and for HALF THE PRICE!
You have a lot of space between tents, unlike the camping site by the beach. The tents are big, clean and new, with a comfortable mattress and a clean sheets.

Facilities are great, including spacious and clean showers and impeccable toilets.
From just a 15 minute walk from the beach this is definitely value for money!
Food is great and beers are cheap.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    47
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
7
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had been recommended this campsite over others by friends and we are glad we took their advise. The price of the camping was far cheaper than any of the others and and they had clean showers and toilets.

The man who showed us to our hammock was really friendly and made us feel welcome.

At night, its wonderful listening to all the different wildlife and we had a couple of fireflies stuck inside the roof of our shelter, which was really pretty. The only thing I will say is to bring warm clothing or a blanket for at night as we stupidly didnt and it was freezing!

It was a really nice way to spend our night in PNN Tayron and would definately tell others to give it a shot :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The scenery and the beaches are indeed beautiful, the hike is challenging and presents beautiful views, and maybe if we had one of the four spots in the hut on the top of the hill, our experience would have been a bit different, but overall we were very disappointed in this site.

-It was extremely crowded (we were there in high season, first week of January). Beach was a sea of bodies, tents packed together like at a concert, etc...
-Loud, obnoxious music at night until 4:30 am. Why? We have no idea. There was nobody at the restaurant/bar save for perhaps 5 -10 staff members. The music was incredibly loud and ranged in the genres of Columbian traditional dance music to children's music to Columbian pop. On repeat. We got to know the songs well. This was the worst part. It made sleeping impossible. Maybe up on the hill or back near the horses you couldn't hear it as well but for most of the camp it was blasted through, loud and clear.
-Poop on the trails. Yes, as the other reviewers state, this is indeed the case. Bearable but definitely what you're hiking through for about half of the trail.
-Lots of families and kids that seem to be there for quite a while at a time. Colombian family holiday hot spot.

There are positives, yes, and I'm sure that in low season and in one of the cabins or hammocks it would be a great experience, but this is what we went through. Still unforgettable in it's own way. I'm sure we'll look back at the experience and laugh one day.

Room Tip: In the little cabin at the top of the hill or not at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeliTeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

After a somewhat stressful experience with Reception - we were behind people who had a voucher with confirmed booking for a cabin, but none were available - the welcome was warm. We used both tents and hammocks. Neither was new or spotless, but clean enough to use. The site is simple, but showers are excellent and toilets function (bring your own paper). The on-site restaurant is not bad value, despite having what is effectively a captive audience. The walk to Pueblito is a must, but not for the unfit. There are lockers for valuables, bring your own padlock.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUN01170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is by far the busiest and most touristy of the campsites in the national park. It's also one of the few campsites with has a swimmable beach which is why we ended up here and also probably explains why it gets so busy. It's a bit of a hike from the entrance to the park but the beach is indeed incredible, very sheltered from the dangerous rifts that are found along a lot of this coastline. The restaurant is ok, If a little overpriced, however the camping itself is pretty terrible.

We decided tent over hammock, which initially we were smug about as there was a lot of rain the day we arrived. When it was time to get into the tent our smugness quickly disappeared. The mattress they provided in the tent was badly stained and smelt like someone had died on it. They provided no sheets, luckily we had our own, but it felt like they needing fumigating after spending the night here! We lay awake most of the night trying not to expose any part of our skin to the mattress. The hammocks would have possibly been a better choice after all!

We spoke to people who stayed in other campsites in the park, and they described their tents as being clean and good condition. If you are not bothered about where you sleep and just want a beautiful beach with good swimming nearby then stay here, otherwise I would recommend staying at one of the nearby campsites and walking up to this beach to swim!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank angbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely campsite. Lots of space. Decent food. Good value. Clean toilets & outdoor showers. Would recommend - if you don't want to stay at Cabo San Juan (which has a better beach but is a much further walk & the campsite looked really busy!). Don Pedro is in Arricefes (you can't swim there) but its about a 20 min walk to 2 lovely bays where you can swim & a further 20 min (ish) walk to Cabo San Juan. We got a tent for 2 people (25 pesos between us - about €7) which seemed better value than a hammock. The food was good value (you can get a decent meal for 12-25 pesos & a beer for 4 pesos). Its set back a bit, in the jungle- but is an easy walk to the beach. We stayed 3 nights & only left because we ran out of money! Take enough cash... you might find you want to stay longer than you think!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

un lugar divino.. tranquilo y como todo "naturaleza"
al llegar pagar entrada para ingresar a esta reserva natural, tomamos un pequeño colectivo (autobus) por 2.000 pesos colombianos, nos deja en el parqueadero del tayrona, luego hacemos una caminata, puede durar depende de ti, podrian ser 2 horas.. si observa cuando caminas, los animales, las playas..todo!! Vale la pena hacerlo con calma y disfrutar el camino.
al llegar hicimos camping en una finca llamada "Don Pedro" la tarifa es de 10.000 pesos colombianos sin carpa.. UN CONSEJO.. no lleves carpa ellos la alquilan por 2.000 pesos mas. "EN TOTAL 12.000 POR NOCHE CON CARPA" para caminar a ver las playas vale la pena.. La arenilla,la piscina y el cabo..un poco mas retirada esta la playa nudista "no la conoci"
las duchas limpias y el agua fria, es normal vienen de las montañas
En el tayrona puedes encontrar comida:
arepa de huevo: 3.000 en la panaderia
jugo de naranja:4.000 en la panaderia
gaseosa: 4.000 en la panaderia
no recomiendo mucho los panes, son caros y pequeños
desayuno en la finca don pedro: huevos, cafe, arepa ....8.000


el primer camino para llegar a todas esta playa y buscar donde campar vale la pena es mas bonito.,... pero si al regreso prefieres algo mas corto y caminar menos... PUEDES ESCOGER EL CAMINO DE LOS CABALLOS... MENOS TIEMPO PERO TIENE MAS BARRO Y NO ES TAN BONITO....PUEDES AHORRAR 30 MINUTOS O 45...PIENSO YO..

CONOZCO TODOS LOS PAISES DE SUR AMERICA, ME FALTO VENEZUELA.. ALGUN DIA
PERO SIN DUDA ALGUNA COMO EL TAYRONA COLOMBIA TIENE LUGARES HERMOSOS, LIMPIOS, TRANQUILOS Y CON GENTE AMABLE
ESPERO LES SIRVA ESTA PEQUEÑA GUIA

a divine place .. quiet and like all "nature"
to get admission charge to enter the nature reserve, take a small collective (bus) for 2,000 Colombian pesos left us in the parking lot of Tayrona, then we hike, can last up to you, could be 2 hours .. if you notice when you walk, animals, beaches .. everything! Worth doing it slow and enjoy the journey.
to reach camping on a farm we call "Don Pedro" rate is 10,000 Colombian pesos without a tent .. ADVICE .. not bring them rented tent 2,000 pesos more. "IN TOTAL 12,000 PER NIGHT WITH CARP" to walk to see the beaches worth it .. The grit, the pool and out .. a little more this nudist beach retreat "not known"
clean showers and cold water is normal from the mountains
In the Tayrona can find food:
arepa de huevo: 3,000 in the bakery
Orange juice: 4,000 in the bakery
gas: 4,000 in the bakery
not highly recommend the bread, are expensive and small
Breakfast on the farm don pedro: eggs, coffee, corn bread .... 8,000


the first way to get all this beach and look where camping is worth more beautiful., ... but if the return prefer something shorter and walk less ... CAN CHOOSE THE WAY OF HORSES ... BUT LESS IS MORE MUD TIME AND IS NOT SO PRETTY .... YOU CAN SAVE 30 MINUTES OR 45 ... I THINK ..

KNOW ALL COUNTRIES OF SOUTH AMERICA, ME I MISS VENEZUELA .. SOMEDAY
WITHOUT DOUBT AS THE BEAUTIFUL PLACES HAVE COLOMBIA TAYRONA, CLEAN, QUIET AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE
HOPE YOU SERVE THIS LITTLE GUIDE

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank belkys e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
22.0 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
19.6 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
17.4 mi away
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
Jasayma Tayrona Hostal
#2 of 5 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
CasaGrande Surf
CasaGrande Surf
#31 of 150 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
18.7 mi away
Finca Barlovento Cabana & Maloka
3.5 mi away
Mr. Wilson Camping Place & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Tayrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Tayrona

Property: Camping Tayrona
Address: Tayrona National Park, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Santa Marta
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Camping Tayrona Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing