We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great sight, great food, Lovely place!”
Review of Hotel be La Sierra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel be La Sierra
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This was a good adventure for us: my fiancee, my mother,brother and myself. We decided to travel around Colombia and we stopped in Santa Marta to enjoy the Colombian Caribbean,(stayed for 3 nights) I found this hotel at tripadvisor and made the reservation straight from the hotel website, I live in Houston TX, and I handled everything over the phone with the front desk and then by e-mails. We arrived past midnight, we were welcomed in a warm manner and we had a blast at this hotel!!!:
The positives: Great location right in front of the beach, (El Rodadero) near by shops, Restaurants, live music. Very Safe! Rooms very clean, spacious, with a refrigerator full of drinks and beverages for you to buy. Rooms included a safe box, We had a suite with a big master room and an additional room with two beds. The Bathroom was clean but a bit small. Parking included. The entire hotel resembles a bit of Greek architecture, our suite had a balcony to the beach. The Hotel has a lady who can wash and fold all your clothes for about $5-10 dollars. We gave her our dirty clothes in the morning, they were washed and folded by the end of the day... Breakfast was phenomenal, Colombian food is just amazing. The staff was very friendly.
Negatives: After midnight there were few girls looking for hook ups (clients) around the beach area... People in Santa Marta party late all night long and you can see or hear few drunks. However the police is around to control any disturbances.
Let me advise you that people in Colombia are very helpful and very nice. You can always bargain price on everything, but never expect refunds... That's the culture there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotel_aficionado2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

My expectation weren't very high but when I arrived I noticed it just had been remodeled and the lobby was very nice. The room has a good A/C, TV, a functioning Wi-Fi, it was not very big but it was nice and clean and the bathroom has hot water. Even though it is not a fancy hotel it is a nice option.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcotov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed in this hotel beginning of November 2010.
I booked for 3 nights. Due to an early departure I could stay only for 2 nights. the staff and manager on duty that day (4.11.2010) refused me to pay back at least a part of the day I didnt use. I booked till the 5th and was ready to leave at noon of the 4th November. His excuse was that the booking is in the system and cannot be changed.
I am very diappointed of this attitude. . I will certainly advise NOT to use Hotel Sierra and recommend to avoid this establissment.
Daniel Steiner

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel-Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jennifergT311ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUZ MERY M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel be La Sierra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejorar presentacion
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elisarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUZ MERY M, Front Office Manager at Hotel be La Sierra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CasperDian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jcvargasmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUZ MERY M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel be La Sierra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Torre Norte
Hotel Tamaca Torre Norte
#19 of 67 in Santa Marta
144 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanha Plus Hotel
Sanha Plus Hotel
#25 of 67 in Santa Marta
102 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Riviera
La Riviera
#28 of 67 in Santa Marta
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Del Mar Hotel
Del Mar Hotel
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel be La Sierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel be La Sierra

Address: CRA 1 No. 9 -47 EL RODADERO, Santa Marta 694, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: £50 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel be La Sierra 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel be La Sierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing