We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Nancy”
Review of Casa Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Verde Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We Love Nancy”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This small hotel in the historical district of Santa Marta is a great find. It has a charming feel and the staff is great, especially Nancy. Her friendly disposition and readiness for good conversation made my heart sing. We had stayed at the much newer and more opulent Casa Leda next door but left Casa Verde with the same good feeling of having gotten our money's worth. We had a late flight so they let us keep our bags there and even offered us a shower and we were allowed to hang by the pool for as long as we wanted until our flight left. Great hotel and even greater staff.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony overlooking the pool with outdoor hammock was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
40
122
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Even with the positive reviews, Casa Verde still exceeded our expectations. The room was a good size, had a small balcony with a hammock, was clean and the bed was comfortable. With those basics covered, the location is really good, the roof top table is a great place for a beer and if you don't like rooftops, the hammock down stairs by the small pool is nice as well. We felt the cost of the room was very reasonable. We were only in Santa Marta for one night on the way to Tayrona, so didn't get to see too much of the city, but did enjoy the city and Casa Verde both.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Casa Verde was our Colombian home and gateway to numerous day trips to Tayrona, the Sierra Nevadas and Palomino. The hotel offers a large and delicious breakfast to start every day which was definitely needed for our numerous activities. The hotel rooms were beautiful, clean and comfy with hot water (only time we had a hot shower) satellite tv and high speed internet. The lobby and roof top gardens provided a sense of tranquility making you forget at times how centrally located in the heart of the city the hotel is.

To say the hotel exceeded my expectations is an understatement. And that was not my favourite part of the hotel. The staff was incredible and some spoke fluent English really facilitating every aspect of our stay. Whether it was discussing where do go and what to see, where to drink and where to party, the staff always guided us in the right direction. And when we decided to go to Cartagena for the weekend the hotel allowed us to leave our packs with them, making the bus ride much easier.

This hotel is a must stay for all. I will remember this hotel, the staff and my trip to Santa Marta for years to come.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The rooms were stylishly decorated, comfortable and clean. The hotel has a nice courtyard - and even though we didn't swim in the small pool it was a good space for relaxing with a hammock. The staff were friendly offering some great tips about the local area and spoke fluent English. We had our first Colombian breakfast here and it was delicious!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I recommend this place highly. It is very clean and comfortable, conveniently located close to the town centre, and has great breakfast too. It also has a very relaxing interior courtyard. The owner, Juan, is a true gentleman and is incredibly helpful, making several phone calls on my behalf to secure trips etc. He also speaks perfect English.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bogota
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had the best experience ever at santa marta staying at casa verde. its a beutifull small hotel in which you will feel at home... 100% recomended.
location is great and prices are very good for the quatity of the hotel.

Bring lots of sun screen to santa marta

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dct d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Quiet, relaxing and healthy spot in the downtown of Santa Marta. In Casa Verde, a beautiful aquitecture allows the air to flow all over the house and rooms. A night bath in the jauzzy can be the best plan for resting after a long walk during the day. Don't miss breakfast, are just delicious. I use to have natural juice, ripe fruits from the region (like mango, watermelon, or the seasonal) with the local yogurt, a piece of bollo de yuca with sour cream 'suero costeño' and coffee. The service is wonderful, the warm spirits from the Caribe! you feel like home...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Calzada del Santo
La Calzada del Santo
#14 of 67 in Santa Marta
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hotel

Property: Casa Verde Hotel
Address: Calle 18 # 4-70, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde is a home away from home in historic Santa Marta, Colombia. Originally a Republican house built in the 1920′s, it has been restored and refurbished to host a six room hotel, right in the heart of Santa Marta. It is truly the home of the guests as you will always be welcomed with a smile and the team at Casa Verde provides exceptional service to meet all of your needs. The hotel is situated around a tranquil, shaded courtyard that invites guests to lounge on the hammocks or take a dip in the pool that provides an essential escape from the Santa Marta heat. The hotel houses two standard rooms, two lofted duplex rooms, a king sized suite, and a studio suite. All of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathrooms with hot water showers, and flat screen televisions. Breakfast is complimentary and served daily. Wi-Fi is also complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Casa Verde is located in the center of the historic district in Santa Marta, amongst wonderful restaurants and nightlife and just minutes away from Santa Marta’s beautiful parks, cathedrals, and the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing